We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have done this years ago !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Green Island Guest House
Ranked #113 of 133 Hotels in Karon
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Should have done this years ago !”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

If you have ever heard stories or seen anything about Thailand on the television do not believe it! Go there and see it for yourself.
Some of the most beautiful people we have ever met.
This extends to the Green Island guest house, every one is there to help and cannot do enough for you. You are made to feel welcome as soon as you step out of the taxi.
Tony and his family were waiting for for us to arrive rather than go out to dinner.
He gave us directions to the nearest restaurant and made sure we settled into our room (after 20 hours of travelling we needed looking after and for Tony it was no trouble)
We will be going back as soon as we can and look forward to it.
If you love the beach it's only 5 min walk away.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    14
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
11
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tonsberg, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Found this hotel after staying in a more expensive hotel for a couple of days. Green Islands is really value for money. Nice, clean airconditioned rooms, friendly athmosphere and very service-minded staff. Definetly a great choise if you're visiting Karon, looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EirikAske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soignies, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Stayed for a few days before Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
The rooms (Green decor) are clean and spacious with TV, fridge (not mini-bar, BYO) and a small seating area. Bathroom basic but perfectly adequate - the only negative (at least in my room) was the fact that the shower drain was across the other side of the bathroom (I believe this is what the professionals call a 'wet' room - the floor was certainly covered after the shower; mind you don't slip).
As a guesthouse, you don't get 24hr reception and, as I got to Karon early on my first day, I had to wait for a couple of hours before the place opened up. Though it was hardly their fault, the management were so appologetic about my having to sit in a nearby cafe drinking coffee for a little over an hour that they lopped a massive discount on the room - my kind of staff!
There is no food service available in the guest house, but it's difficult to throw a brick in this area of Karon without hitting at least 3 or 4 eateries within walking/staggering/crawling distance - Tony even has a couple of menus behind the bar of local delivery guys if you can't drag yourself away from the Guesthouse bar!
Special mention has to go to the delightful Tuk who runs the tourist centre attached to the Green Island - nothing was too much trouble for her and the trips were all organised perfectly!
So, it's definitely Green; It's a little peaceful island close to the main Karon Nightlife, and its a great value for money guesthouse that will certainly get my bhat again when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soloposhbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2010

As a holiday princess I was not happy when my husband informed me that we were going on holiday to phuket, staying in a Guest house. Especially as we have a young child. But, I went with an open mind and found to my surprise that me and my son had the time of our lives staying at the Green Island Guest House.

The staff were very kind and helpful to the whole family especially when my little boy caught a cold.They went out of their way to help us, there was nothing that was to much trouble.

The rooms are to a very good standard, cleaned every day, extremely good location for restaruants and only a couple of minutes to the beach.

The Owners of the Green Island Guest House are very welcoming and we enjoyed many a night relaxing in the bar having a friendly chat as family with the owners and other guests.

I would recomend this guest house to every one visiting Phuket whether you have a family, couple or indeed single, don't bother with the hotels they are just over priced. Stay here in this guest house and use the money saved and go on trips and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julliette_mcgookin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melrose ,scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

you always get a friendly welcome in this guesthouse ,rooms are a good size,very clean. with large queen size double beds ,cable tv,air-con. bathrooms have great walk in showers.rooms are cleaned every day with fresh towels.there's a bar with pool table.its a 5 min walk to the beach .restaurants etc are very close by.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotsblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Nice location minutes from beach. On the edge of the nightlife zone so you can either sleep or join in - choose! Friendly,clean, good-value guesthouse. Tourism office one side, pub on the other. Scooters for hire. No food but plenty of bars,restaurants and hawker stalls nearby. Enjoyed my stay very much!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielDravitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2010

We stayed at this questhouse 4 days - room was very spacious and clean. Goog location, very near to Karon beach, just 3 minutes walk. Tony, his family and staff are very friendly and helpful!
Would recommend definitely!
Siim & Riina, Estonia

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siim10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.3 km away
On Hotel Phuket
On Hotel Phuket
#92 of 133 in Karon
93 reviews
1.2 km away
Baan Suay Resort Karon Beach
0.4 km away
Simplitel Hotel
Simplitel Hotel
#34 of 133 in Karon
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Holiday Village & Natural Garden Resort
0.2 km away
Golden Sand Inn
Golden Sand Inn
#100 of 133 in Karon
122 reviews
0.4 km away
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
#112 of 133 in Karon
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Island Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Island Guest House

Property: Green Island Guest House
Address: 516/15 Patak Road, Soi Islandia | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 133 Hotels in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Island Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Green Island Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Island Hotel
Green Island Guest House Phuket, Thailand - Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing