We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING”
Review of Grand Sunset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Sunset Hotel
Ranked #90 of 134 Hotels in Karon
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Room was superb to say the least. We had the "grand deluxe king bed" room. Pretty good view out over the field, despite some of the dumped rubbish. Service also was outstanding, any queries we had they answered and/or made bookings on our behalf. But what we were really impressed over was the breakfast. Of the 5 places we stayed in, in Thailand, this was the number 1 place for breakfast. Next time we go to this area, this will be our stopping place.

Room Tip: take the top rooms in summer. One minor let down for the area (not the hotel itself) was the lack of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    127
    44
    17
    14
See reviews for
56
149
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pomona, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I have just returned to Australia after spending a week at Grand Sunset Hotel.Wow what an a amazing experience.I was travelling on my own and couldnt have been made to feel more welcome.The staff were wonderful, friendly very efficient and helpful.In particular, Pradaw, who made me feel so welcome and cared for.Even to the extent of lending me her laptop.Friendlier and more helpful staff than I have experienced anywhere in the world.A special mention also to Oi on reception, I will definetely be going back either later this year or next year.!!! Cannot reccommend it highly enough.!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

For those looking for comfort, convenience and quiet in Karon, this is the place to stay. The hotel is perfectly placed about midway down Karon Beach Rd. The ends of the road are much busier and more bustling; the middle is picturesque, and peaceful. On one side of the hotel is a lush field and hills, and the other has a road with a bunch of great small restaurants, mini-marts, and massage places. The hotel is located just across the street from the beach. If it's your wish, you could stay within a 400m radius of the hotel your whole trip and have everything you need/want. Rooms were clean, comfortable and well-appointed. The staff was friendly and helpful. The roof top pool is nice (though they still need to get some shade up there!) I'd not hesitate a minute to stay here again - it was exactly what we wanted. And for less than $70 a night, I think it was a steal.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel have great views of the fields and hills, plus the beach, and ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JerichoNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed 3 weeks in this hotel in February 2012. We found it to be perfect! The position is excellent. The rooms were fabulous, the pool was beautiful with very comfy sun beds, the breakfast was good , the evening barbeque very good and reasonably priced and the hotel was very clean. The best thing about it was the staff who were ALL very friendly, helpful and polite. They made us feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. We are planning to return next year and hope that by then they may have an Italian TV channel as this was the only thing missing for us as my partner doesn't speak english. Thank you to all the staff at Snset. .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steffyLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

It is a new hotel, with very clean and comfortable rooms. It's right across the Karon beach in a rather chilled out surroundings. Staff is also very helpful and courteous. We had absolutely no problem in communicating with the staff.

The pool at the terrace was also good. There were enough lounge chairs and water temperature was comfortable. We enjoyed lying on the lounge chairs there after a swim in the night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manugarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

There is no doubting the Grand Sunset's location should you be looking for accomodation directly on Karon Beach,which is yards away.The rooms are also very well appointed for the price.These 2 factors alone ensured my trip's overall success.

However,if you are looking to be greeted in a friendly matter on leaving or arriving,or say feeling valued or welcome as a guest or customer then you may want to consider somewhere else.I've rarely felt more of a resident and less of a guest.In my view,the staff lack direction and management seemed non-existent during my visit..There is a pervasive - "it is what it is" and neglected feeling around the place.

Evidence of this is in poor check-in procedures where little or nothing of the hotel amenities were explained,,careless and desultory housekeeping, and front of house staff who seemingly spend much of their time "surfing the net" at the reception area. Another glaring example of neglect is the virtual absence of shade or parasols around the swimming pool.The poolside bar area lay barren and empty.This is a prime example of a hotel asset which is being squandered and again,I'm left with the feeling that no one really cares too much.

The Grand Sunset has the property,it now needs someone to turn it into a hotel where service and customer focus are paramount.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crooked Nose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This hotel is a little gem. Spotlessly clean and sleek with all mod cons and an excellent rooftop pool.

On our initial visit we were upgraded to to the deluxe room due to the standard room being overbooked. This was on the open side of the building looking towards the beach and the room could not have been better. Couldn't fault it at all except that there should be another mirror in the bedroom or lounge as only in the bathroom.

Breakfast is pretty good for a hotel of this class and the staff throughout the hotel are helpful and attentive.

Tucked back from the main road along the beach this hotel benefits from the Shielding of the BaumanCasa hotel in front of it as you get virtually no road noise at all. Rooftop pool is funky with nice plush sunbeds and furniture and nice view.

We were only here for 3 days en route to Phi Phi and liked it so much we returned and stayed another three nights on our way back.

Definelty recommend this hotel and the ground floor Spa in the complex , Normalla.

Five stars!

Room Tip: Go for an even number room for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlecCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.2 km away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#65 of 134 in Karon
328 reviews
0.1 km away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#99 of 134 in Karon
265 reviews
0.8 km away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
In on the Beach
In on the Beach
#100 of 134 in Karon
129 reviews
0.7 km away
On Hotel Phuket
On Hotel Phuket
#94 of 134 in Karon
94 reviews
0.6 km away
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
#113 of 134 in Karon
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sunset Hotel

Property: Grand Sunset Hotel
Address: 188/4 Karon Rd | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Sunset Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sunset Hotel Phuket, Thailand - Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing