We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveller rating
82
121
39
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
121
39
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvillage resortpool barkaron beachjacuzzi areathe security guardchanged every dayhappy hourair confourth floorfriendly hotelsliding doormin walkper nightsea viewsister hotelsmall hotelnice balcony
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 258 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2017

Location: 10mins walk to Karon beach and shops - super convenient

The staffs were very friendly. We had problems in the toilet and called the front desk to fix it. The staff came to our room to check on us within 15mins in the middle of the night. Most importantly, they all speak English.

The hotel environment is very quiet as it is a relatively small hotel. The room was clean and cooling as it can get very hot in Thailand.

The pool size was decent. There's a pool-side bar at the hotel where you can chill after a swim.

p.s. Wouldn't recommend to stay at this hotel if you have children as there is no lifeguard at the swimming pool so it could be dangerous for young children.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Front Village Hotel for almost a week. I found it to be very average. They could do with some fluffier towels. The breakfast options are also quite limited. The staff are friendly though. I found it centrally located to be able to walk to Patak Road. It's opposite Karon Beach. There is a dam in front of the hotel with a running/walking circuit. For excursions the hotel is out of the way. With the tours picking you up first and dropping you off last.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ImtithaalD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2017

We stayed at this resort back in 2002 and it was pretty new at the time. The resort grounds was clean and very beautiful back then. The staff was beyond friendly and helpful. We are planning a trip back to Thailand and I was surprised to see that the hotel was still there. For old times sake we will have to make a stop here again and hopefully the stay will be as good as our one back in 2002. Please Note:The when did you travel link is required to leave a review. My stay was January 2002 not 2017. My review is based on our experience back in 2002. The resort looks very much the same as it did back then.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jam3dl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2017

Karon Beach is one of the largest and beautiful beaches in Thailand stretching for miles in both directions. Most hotels/resorts in Karon are separated by the main road running Patak Road) through the town. The Front Village is a two hotel complex a few minutes walk from the main beach and all rooms are orientated towards the ocean so on the upper floors you do have a view of the ocean across the lagoon which separates the hotel from the ocean. The rooms are clean and typical hotel rooms. They do provide a stocked mini bar at mini bar prices so we emptied their products and kept ours in there to cool, replacing theirs upon leaving. They included a small breakfast buffet in our room charges and although there wasn't unlimited choices they did offer appealing food along with the cooked to order egg station. The pool is small, does have a pool bar but prices were quite expensive unless you hit the happy hour where they offer drinks 2 for 1. For our 13 day stay we walked the 5 minutes to Karon Beach each day and used the pool to cool off and have a couple of drinks at. They try to discourage you from consuming your own beverages pool side but we had friends that had a main floor pool access unit which is really a 3' deep narrow waterway that runs in front of those units and were never bothered if having a cocktail their. They left about 3 days before us and we had no confrontations about consuming our own drinks in that section. Ice was a tough get here and we often purchased ice for cocktails on the way home form the beach. Main floor units will smell musty, we stayed on the 4th floor with the views and it was barely noticeable. The Front Village is about a block from the beginning of the strip that local stores, vendors and restaurants start and there is no shortage of places to check out while walking the streets. The night life in Karon Beach was good, lots of choices for food and if you wanted to have a drink on the street, it is a bit like Las Vegas, you seem to be allowed to drink where you like if responsible. As I compared the Front Village to other nearby choices I think we did well following our Swedish friends recommendation to join them here. You will be charged for in room WiFi (1000 Bhat for a week) if the free WiFi isn't enough for you which you can access in the lobby or common areas including the pool area. I did find the beds and pillows to be very firm, a bit beyond my comfort but the rooms were clean. It would be nice to have a mini coffee pot but they do offer a kettle and leave two instant coffee servings each day. We divided our 3 week trip between Bangtao Beach (beach front resort) and Karon Beach staying here for about 12 days paying the same for 12 days here as 8 days at the Sunwing Resort in Bangtao. The two are much different but I really liked being in the midst of the Thai people and their culture, and that is a more prevalent in Karon than Bangtao simply because of the difference in size between the two. If you get to go to the Temple market you will find some of the best prices for goods you will find anywhere and don't be afraid to negotiate especially with the beach vendors who are up and down the beaches all day long. If going to the beach, take advantage of the umbrella areas, $100 Bhat for a matt and some shade will be money well invested when the sun is out! Mosquitos only a factor after sun sets especially on you balconies at the resort. Excellent AC overcomes the heat and you don't really hear any traffic noise once in your unit despite it being a busy road especially as locals make their way to and from work each day.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teerajate, Manager at The Front Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2017

Dear Wayne P,

Thank you for your comment and I'm glad you enjoy your stay at Karon beach. Your useful information will be good reference to whom interested in our resort. A little more update - now we have free wifi in the room to make guest more comfortable. Hope you will return to our hotel soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2016

We stayed at Front Village in Jan 2015 and were pleasantly surprised by very friendly staff, clean rooms, perfect location!!! They even have a guard that literally stops traffic to get their guests across the street! Will most defiantly recommended it! Only thing that we didn't enjoy was the bad tasting coffee at breakfast and very strange and hard bacon and the fact that we couldn't book in when we arrived as the room wasn't ready, we were EXHAUSTED!! But we THOROUGHLY enjoyed room service with a big smile for the days we didn't want to go and explore the streets. But absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel. LOVED it!!!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannemarie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teerajate, Manager at The Front Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Dear Jeannemarie1983,

First of all, we have to thank you for your nice comment and I'm grad you come back to our hotel again as returning guest. Your comment make us have a great day and keep doing our best in term of service. However, We have to apologize for your inconvenience cause due to hard bacon and coffee. We will find a way to solve this problems and make it all better as your next stay. Hope we will see you as another returning soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews