We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karona Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Karona Resort & Spa
Ranked #78 of 130 Hotels in Karon
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

2 minutes walking from the beach and Kata restaurants and boutiques...a very nice place! Stayed in a superior room with a balcony overlooking the 2 tier pool. Very spacious and clean room, hotel is very well kept, the ambiance is a bit zen...were welcome with hot towels and a juice...nice attention! Really enjoyed the 4 nights we spent at the Karona! The staff is nice but could not provide a whole lot informations on touristic matters....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SRacine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    72
    36
    11
    5
See reviews for
36
84
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

Pros
Nice pool, full sun all day and plenty loungers.
Beautiful well maintained gardens'
Great location, minutes from the beach and shops/restaurants up the hill towards Kata
Large comfortable rooms, good air con and plenty hot water.
Friendly and efficient staff

Cons
Lots of steps up to rooms; don't stay here if you need an elevator
Balconies just larger than 2 plastic pool chairs.
Small charge for in-room safe deposit box. Should be free.
Restaurant seemed pretty dead in the evening. Much more choice and life on the main road.
Breakfast reasonable choice but juices tasted of chemicals. From cartons would be a bit more expensive but so much more natural and tasty.

In conclusion, a nice place to stay and good value for money. And beach loungers cost only 100baht each per day so when the poolside gets too hot, head for the sea and a cold beer for 60 baht. Two Chefs restaurant highly recommended. Turn left up the hill and walk 0.5km.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scotsmaninmalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

I visited Karona resort with my female friend and we liked it a lot ! Great ocean view from room 509 and rooms very tidy and nice. Beds were comfortable and wide. At breakfast you had a lot to choose from and we ate also 3 times at the hotel in the evening, always great food ! Hotel offered live music every night and friday was boxing/fireshow- night. Hotel has its own tailor and massage and we used them both. Prices were of course little higher than on the street-side, but the tailor we liked especially ! Only downsides for Karona were quite small and shallow pool and many steps around the hotel-area. Location was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calla76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

We had a great holiday at Karona hotel. The stuff were very nice and helpful. Every morning we had a lovely breakfast with a lot of selections. The pool was ok and every day they had a happy our at 4pm in the pool bar. When my daughter get ill, and we had a doctor coming to our hotelroom, we got from the management stuff, flowers to my daughter... Nice!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

After all my research on the accommodation in Phuket, finally I have decided to stay here and I enjoyed it very much. Stayed with my friend in this resort. Love the friendliness of the staff and location of this resort. Beautiful room. Just 5 mins walking distance to the Karon Beach which I found it very peaceful, not as busy as Patong beach. 5 min walking distance to the convenient, souvenir stores and Very suitable for honeymooners. Wish I could stay longer...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justbabyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home, with a cold welcome drink while checking in and a free upgrade on our room. I'd booked via a 3rd party website, so I was suprised and delighted with the upgrade, and even more so that the bill was less than I had been quoted online.

The room, a sea view honeymoon room was very nice, with good air con, a great view and everything we needed.

The location is ideal for Karon. You are just a 2 min walk from Karon beach, a 5 min walk to Kata centre, and maybe 15 min walk to Kata beach.

I would absolutely stay here again, and the best thing for me was definately the location.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SammyLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2009

This was a very nice place to stay, it is located a couple of mins from the beach in karon, and the beach is lovely.

Amazing weather, amazing people, (except the hard selling hagglers who won't budge - in the shopping areas)

Located opposite a sports stadium, not at all noisy.

Located in karon, which is just south of patong about a 10-15 min cab ride, or tuk tuk ride, I'll be honest we only went on 2 tuk tuks, these are the little cab type things that have no seat belts and the heat and dust is smaking you in the face as you are sped around the roads, we preferred to take the cabs/cars which had air con blasting wonderfully at you.

You can get a cab from the hotel, this is slightly better than going out on the street for a cab.

Also, don't make the mistake that we did. One day we thought that we would walk to patong from the hotel, cause we are fairly fit. My god it is a long walk that is better left to taxis, please trust me.

right the hotel, it is a comfy hotel built around a large swimming pool, which is really nice. There are some rooms that open up to the pool other that require you to go down/up stairs, which is fine. they also have a jacuzzi, mmmmmmmmm. loads of towels are provided.

The restaurant is just below the pool, its on levels, the restaurant is by a large pond/water feature, i did at one point see a couple swimming in it, so it might be a pool, either way it looked lovely.

Only issue was it was open plan so no air con, and a few bugs /ants marching around which i don't like. The food is good, fresh pancakes made to order, all the usual juices, cereals etc, it was nice.

We had dinner here once or twice, was not amazing but still tasty. Thai curry can be hot even for an indian like me. The thai food here was well prepared and presented and very cheap.

The staff were all very helpful and polite.

We wanted the reception to store our passports in their safe, instead we were told to use the safe systems, which was where, we had to pay some money, we were taken to this wall of metal boxes on the wall behind reception and after we put the passports in, we were given a key and told not to loose it, obviously-because we would get fined something like £100 for a key. This was a bit dissapointing as i lived in fear of losing trhis key which was attatched to a flimsy chain. I would have preffered a safe in the room.

you can book excursions from a desk near reception, but don't please. Instead book them from one of the agents in patong, the brochures have a price written down for the trip, but when you book it in patong, they will offer you a price below the listed price, sometimes half , you may have to haggle, but its worth it.

At night there was some karaoke in the restaurant, which was abit irritating only cause of the bad singers, i had to go down and show them how it was done. I came back to the room feeling well impressed with myself. My misses was not impressed with my rendition of Goldfinger with my dramatic camp movements for extra dramatic credibilty. This karaoke may suit you, it may not.

We booked the one of the suites as a treat, it was lovely. can't fault it at all really.
Air con very cool and efficient, nice view. Bed firm and comfy just the way we like it. Tv had poor reception so picture as bad.

Had a little problem with toilet when it became blocked after a number 2, i had to call reception, it was quite embarrassing. This happened twice during our stay.

The other issue was the little lizrady things, we had 4 of them in our room, and i must confess i pooped myself, not literally but the little maintenace guy came along dealt with it with such ease, i thanked him alot.

This hotel is about a 5-6 min walk from the local shopping area, it's not a massive shopping area, but its there all the same. A few nice restaurants. there was a steak house which was ok, it was open plan so there was no air con, which is shame. I like eating food in a cool and bug free space. Especially when it is so hot outside, inside should be inside.

Beach is very nice and bright.

The place to go shopping is patong so it may suit some people to stay closer to the patong area and save on cabs.If that is the case with you , then avoid this area and this hotel. I prefer staying away from the madness so i love karon, the area.

This hotel was overall quite nice, its value for money. Thailand is a great place to holiday and we enjoyed ourselves alot.

Probably wouldn't stay here again, don't get me wrong it was really nice, it just wanted abit more comfyness.

If you go here you will love it, you might have the odd grumble but its nice.

Make sure yo go to PhuketFantasea, go carting, shooting range, james bond island, and elephant trekking.

have fun dudes and dude-ets.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelling_dudeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.3 km away
Phuket Island View
Phuket Island View
#67 of 130 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.5 km away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#61 of 130 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.2 km away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#23 of 130 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#95 of 130 in Karon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.3 km away
Diamond Cottage Resort & Spa
Diamond Cottage Resort & Spa
#2 of 4 in Karon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.5 km away
Baan Sailom Hotel
Baan Sailom Hotel
#10 of 142 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karona Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karona Resort & Spa

Property: Karona Resort & Spa
Address: 6 Soi Karon Soi 2 | Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#38 Spa Hotel in Karon
#46 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Karona Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Karona Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karona Resort And Spa
Karona Hotel Karon
Karona Resort Karon
Karona Resort & Spa Phuket, Thailand - Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing