We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk in”

Karlsson Restaurant & Steak House
Reserve with Chope
Karlsson Restaurant & Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 461 Restaurants in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Thai, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: When it comes to the Perfect Steak no one does it better than Karlsson.We invite you to top off your evening in Phuket by visiting us Karon Beach to experience what a steak is meant to taste like.Since we first opened in 2001, we have and will continue to select the finest Australian beef for every steak on our menu. We also serve pasta, pizza and a wide meny with international and Thai food.
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

I walked by during the lunch special. Green curry chicken with rice. Was lovely. Top that off with a strong mojito, also a special at the lunch time of day and I had a great lunch and cocktail for less than 230 baht. At the moment, that's about $9 Aussie. Seriously, come here

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Karlsson, Manager at Karlsson Restaurant & Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Thank you so much for the nice review.
All feedback means a lot to us :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 568 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

Good and clean place with perfectly cooked food, we was there twice and both visits was accompanied with deliciously served seafood and kids menu!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank F3691BA_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Karlsson, Manager at Karlsson Restaurant & Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Thanks for the high rating and nice words!
Hope to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018

Ate here one night and had an absolutely superb steak. It melted in your mouth and was very tasty.We enjoyed it so much we went back two days later and had the exact same meal.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 27traveller1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Karlsson, Manager at Karlsson Restaurant & Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Thanks a lot for the nice review!!
We have chosen to serve only imported top quality steaks, Australian ribeye and US tenderloin.
We are glad that our guests also appreciate high quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is well reviewed, however your in Thailand. The owner is delightful the menu extensive in fact far to many items. They are trying to be all things to all people which makes the food so so. Certainly not a favourite on my list.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank philb934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Karlsson, Ägare at Karlsson Restaurant & Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thanks for your review!
How ever, we don´t think its that many :-) And only a handfull can be considered "Swedish inspired"
We have
10 starters
21 Main dishes (Where many are variations of ex Tenderloin with different choices of sauce and potatoes etc)
5 Pastas,
15 Pizzas
4 soups


And we have a page with Thai food (19)

We also have a small lunch menu at 13-18 o´clock

Have a pleasant holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2018

My family and I had a late lunch here on a Sunday, at about 1400. The steak we ordered was excellent quality, but two things really stuck out about this restaurant. One, it is open air and there is no A/C, so if you have heat sensitive little ones like we do, it's probably not for you. Phuket was stifling hot the weekend we were there, so we missed having A/C at lunch.
Two, the servers were clearly irritated that we were interrupting their own lunch, even though the restaurant was clearly open for business. In a place like Thailand where service is almost universally outstanding, it was really obvious they weren't happy with us. My parents visiting from the US even commented it was the one restaurant in two weeks where they felt unwelcome. The food was good, but honestly if they are going to be open all afternoon they need to train the servers to take shifts for lunch and not be so obviously annoyed with mid-afternoon eaters. An average experience, unfortunately.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Karlsson, Ägare at Karlsson Restaurant & Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thanks for your review!

First of all we are happy to hear that you find the steak you had excellent!

Since your visit we have had a meeting with the staff about that any lack of service at lunch time (or anytime) is unacceptable.
We know that a big majority of the feedback we get about the staff is really good, but we understand that its not great 100% of the time.
So we really take your critic seriously and will work hard to improve in that matter.

About AC we use it at evenings because VERY RARELY any guests likes to sit inside at daytime, almost everyone prefer the outdoor spaces which are full of fans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karlsson Restaurant & Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Karlsson Restaurant & Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing