We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Ranked #20 of 137 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Before visiting this resort I carefully read the reviews on Trip advisor. However, they were so diverse tiat there was no clue whether it was good or not. As a frequent visitor to Thailand on business I consider myself a reasonable judge of hotels and restaurants. I knew that this resort offered a 50% allowance on deposits for use of the facilities ( e.g. deposit 10,000 baht and get credit for 15,000 baht) so I took advantage of this. I am now faced with the dilemma that I still have 7,500 baht credit with only two days to go. I will have to work hard in the bar to catch up. Basically this deal gives you a third off the hotel prices but it must be weighed against the local facilities which are more than a third cheaper anyway

I am not complaining because overall this is quite a laid back well equipped hotel which does what it says on the tin. Rooms are clean as are the public areas. perhaps a little tired and a refurb would do no harm at all. THe bars have two sets of happy hours but alas appear to be devoid of atmosphere. I suppose that is the point here, there is a distinct lack of fun inside the resort which could be remedied wih a little organisation.

However, I have no real negative comments and would go back again. Just the one issue is the breakfast service which is known for its efficiency around Thailand. Not here though, staff appear disinterested, food varies in quality and supply. cleanliness could also do with some attention.

THat's all from me and as I am still here I better start work on the remaining credits

Room Tip: We had he honeymoon suite (although married to death) very pleasant nice balcony with jacussi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rem23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Rem23,
I appreciate you are still here in the resort, so do feel free to ask for me at reception if I can assist with the enjoyment of your stay. I’ll keep an eye out for you!
Regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,033 - 3,039 of 4,042 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

Have just got back after staying 9 nights at the Centara and it was the most wonderful holiday I have had !. The hotel is in the perfect location for Karon Beach - you come out and you are right in the heart of the resort and only a short stroll to the beach which is fantastic. We stayed in the Tropicale rooms which were very spacious and kept very clean - it was 20 paces from our bed to the poolside.
From the moment we got there we were made to feel welcome and all the staff were fantastic from the bellboys to the gardeners. The breakfasts were more then enough and set you up nicely for the day.
Didnt stay at the hotel for evening meals as there is such a great choice in the resort and they are all so close to the hotel.
For a quick meal during the day if you are on the beach try the Ratchanee which is near the roundabout - the meals were great and the staff were very friendly.
Overall I would say that the Centara is a great hotel to stay at - with friendly staff - great location - and I will be back there next time we go to Phuket.

Room Tip: If you want to get away from the kids get a room in the Tropical part of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickGHaywardsHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Sawasdee MickGHaywardsHeath,
Thanks for your lovely comments, especially "the most wonderful holiday I have had!". I am especially pleased you felt our staff were "fantastic" and made you feel welcome. Pleasing to read that enjoyed breakfast and our location was a bonus. Readers will enjoy your tips on Ratchanee near the beach and great to see a few photo's too! Hope you had fun over Songkran!
Best Wishes and see you again.
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Having just returned from an 8 night stay with two kids (9 and 11) and their gran , I have nothing but praise for the hotel and the staff. The kids loved the pool with the water slides and Dad enjoyed the swim up bars !! I found whole experience in the hotel totally satisfactory and found the location absolutely fine, three or four minutes walk from a lovely beach and straight out from the hotel into the streets with bars and restaurants on the doorstep. We would not hesitate to stay there again. I would like to pay a particular tribute to the efficiency of the staff around the Tsunami warning that occurred whilst we were there post the eartquake off Sumatra. Everyone was lead to the 9th floor of the main hotel building and waited out the warning for a couple of hours until any potential danger had passed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Sawasdee AndyB,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted you and the kids had a great time. Thank you for your compliments on our Safety Management Plan enacted.
I look forward to welcoming you back again!
Best Wishes
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We just came back from Phuket. Stayed at Centara karon Resort from 10.4.12 to 14.4.12 in a deluxe room in lagoon wing. The hotel is nice especially its location being close to the beach and all the lovely eating places. My daughter loved the lagoon pool with water slides. the breakfast was standard fare which you expect in any resort. Enough to keep you going till lunch. Rooms and resort picture in website is original. Spa bit pricey, my wife tried it but I went to a small place called Royal massage just outside the main entrance. Less than Half price and really good(no hanky panky). Overall good hotel for holiday staying with your family.

Room Tip: If you have family with kids, book ground floor room in lagoon wing cos they have direct pool access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prodasg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Sawasdee prodasg,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Im pleased you loved the location and your daughter had fun in our lagoon water slides. Sorry you felt the spa was pricey however we provide a different day spa experience to streetside massages. At least there is an option for everyone within walking distance.
Hope to see you again soon!
Regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Just returned from a 12 day trip to Centara Karon. Location was fantastic, just off main street but tucked away with beautiful rolling, manicured tropical gardens and a sense of tranquillity.
Had children aged from 3 - 15 who all loved the pools - especially the water slides. The water wasnt too deep in parts for my (non swimming) 3 year to happily and confidently potter around without me having to be with her the whole time. Girls used the Kids Club on several occasions, adults took part in the water aerobics and water volleyball so adults and children alike were happy. Our Tropicale Deluxe room was lovely ( 2 queen beds) and bright, airy and well serviced. Children had DVD player which was used occasionally.
Overall would highly recommend this hotel. Was concerned with the negative reviews but our experience was excellent and no complaints here!

Room Tip: Higher rooms dont get the 'people traffic' noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kylie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Sawasdee Kylie O,
Thanks for taking the time to share your views with fellow readers. Your comment “Location was fantastic, just off main street but tucked away with beautiful rolling, manicured tropical gardens and a sense of tranquility” is appreciated. I think most readers would agree its hard to find a large resort that provides a sense of tranquility yet is centrally located!
Look forward to welcoming you back soon
Regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We have just returned home from a 8 night stay with our 2 kids (6 & 3 years). Firstly I would like to say that some people just have too high expectations for where they are staying. The people who bag this resort should remember they are in a third world country and for the price you pay you can't expect 5 star. Anyway we loved this resort it has great pools especially the lagoon pool if you have kids. We were booked into connecting rooms in deluxe lagoon rooms but were upgrated to the tropical wing. The rooms were big and had a lovely outlook to the pool. We were on the top floor (3rd) which was a bit of a walk up the stairs especially in the hot weather but good to walk of some of the yummy food we were eating. I was a bit wary of its location before we went in relation to proximity to the beach - but had nothing to worry about. It's a very short walk. We found the staff to be friendly and lots of restaurants nearby to eat at. Close to the night markets which are held at the temple grounds 2 nights per week otherwise on the beachfront there is a market shopping centre all the time. Great bargains to be had at the night market.
We would stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steveshel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Sawasdee Steveshel11,
Thank you for taking the time to provide on line feedback. I think your comments are exactly right re price versus expectation. We certainly try and deliver good quality accommodation, friendly service and value for money. Centara’s 5 star resort is only minutes away and is absolute beachfront with many wonderful 5 star touches but it does cost more! Readers will appreciate your night market tip as well as your comments on nearby restaurants. Im pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return!
Regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

After two previous holidays in Phuket, we recently visited for a third time as a large family group, staying for the first time at the Centara Karon Resort. Staff and management here were friendly and accommodating. Food and drinks were great quality without prices being too over the top. Grounds and gardens were immaculate and the choice of three pool areas added interest. The location of the resort offered immediate access to restaurants, shops, services and pubs as soon as you stepped out of the front gate. This provided great opportunity for variety and value at your finger tips, with the beach still easily accessible within a five minute walk. Our holiday was particularly enhanced by the great tour advice and discounts offered by Adis Phuket Tour company, located next to the Irish pub right out front. I would highly recommend visitors drop in a have a chat with Tuk to discuss tour options, soon after they arrive and be confident of receiving sound advice and good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Sawasdee Mick L,
I apologise for failing to respond.
Great to read as a returnee you enjoyed again and hopefully we will see you repeat in 2013.
regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.1 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.7 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,197 reviews
0.6 km away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,251 reviews
1.2 km away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karon
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#11 Spa Hotel in Karon
#12 Family Hotel in Karon
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#18 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $63 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Karon Town, with an abundance of eateries and entertainment options at its doorstep and Karon Beach a short stroll away, the resort is perfectly located to experience the many facets of Phuket. As a destination in its own right, Centara Karon Resort Phuket fulfils every holiday aspiration, from pure bliss at Spa Cenvaree to active holidays and family fun with activities galore, yoga sessions, three swimming pools, waterslides and a kids’ club. This four-star resort, laid out within beautiful gardens backed by green hills, is comprised of four very distinctive residential zones. Couples and small families will find the rooms and Honeymoon Suites at the Terraces a comfortable retreat, and enjoy the option of ocean view or a private outdoor Jacuzzi; while families and groups of friends are spoilt for choice with spacious guestrooms set moments away from the waterslide and games of the Lagoon pool. The generously-sized one- and two-bedroom Cabanas feature a private terrace with a plunge Jacuzzi. As a fun place for families, the resort has a kids’ club with daily activities and three expansive swimming pool areas complete with three children’s pools for the younger ones to splash in, two waterslides and pool games. Pool parties are held regularly, and other activities include tennis and football. The resort also has two restaurants, a sports bar, and three swim-up pool bars A scheduled shuttle service takes guests from the resort to Patong, and Phuket International Airport is reached in less than one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing