We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Chanalai Garden Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$102
Movenpick.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chanalai Flora Resort(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$44
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$56/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$72
US$63
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa(Karon)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
US$97
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sawasdee Village(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$70
Sawadee.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Baray Villa(Kata Beach)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Chanalai Hillside Resort(Karon)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$37
US$28
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort(Karon)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$454
US$318
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,422)
Filter reviews
4,422 results
Traveller rating
2,321
1,455
438
136
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,321
1,455
438
136
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon poollotus restaurantcarpe diem teamcabana roombaht bonanzamix bartropicale roomsred onionpool partybeer gardenswim up barirish pubkids clubwater slidestwo chefshappy hourentertainment team
Filter
Updating list...
3,337 - 3,342 of 4,422 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Have just got back after staying 9 nights at the Centara and it was the most wonderful holiday I have had !. The hotel is in the perfect location for Karon Beach - you come out and you are right in the heart of the resort and only a short stroll to the beach which is fantastic. We stayed in the Tropicale rooms which were very spacious and kept very clean - it was 20 paces from our bed to the poolside.
From the moment we got there we were made to feel welcome and all the staff were fantastic from the bellboys to the gardeners. The breakfasts were more then enough and set you up nicely for the day.
Didnt stay at the hotel for evening meals as there is such a great choice in the resort and they are all so close to the hotel.
For a quick meal during the day if you are on the beach try the Ratchanee which is near the roundabout - the meals were great and the staff were very friendly.
Overall I would say that the Centara is a great hotel to stay at - with friendly staff - great location - and I will be back there next time we go to Phuket.

Room Tip: If you want to get away from the kids get a room in the Tropical part of the complex.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickGHaywardsHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Sawasdee MickGHaywardsHeath,
Thanks for your lovely comments, especially "the most wonderful holiday I have had!". I am especially pleased you felt our staff were "fantastic" and made you feel welcome. Pleasing to read that enjoyed breakfast and our location was a bonus. Readers will enjoy your tips on Ratchanee near the beach and great to see a few photo's too! Hope you had fun over Songkran!
Best Wishes and see you again.
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Having just returned from an 8 night stay with two kids (9 and 11) and their gran , I have nothing but praise for the hotel and the staff. The kids loved the pool with the water slides and Dad enjoyed the swim up bars !! I found whole experience in the hotel totally satisfactory and found the location absolutely fine, three or four minutes walk from a lovely beach and straight out from the hotel into the streets with bars and restaurants on the doorstep. We would not hesitate to stay there again. I would like to pay a particular tribute to the efficiency of the staff around the Tsunami warning that occurred whilst we were there post the eartquake off Sumatra. Everyone was lead to the 9th floor of the main hotel building and waited out the warning for a couple of hours until any potential danger had passed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Sawasdee AndyB,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted you and the kids had a great time. Thank you for your compliments on our Safety Management Plan enacted.
I look forward to welcoming you back again!
Best Wishes
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We just came back from Phuket. Stayed at Centara karon Resort from 10.4.12 to 14.4.12 in a deluxe room in lagoon wing. The hotel is nice especially its location being close to the beach and all the lovely eating places. My daughter loved the lagoon pool with water slides. the breakfast was standard fare which you expect in any resort. Enough to keep you going till lunch. Rooms and resort picture in website is original. Spa bit pricey, my wife tried it but I went to a small place called Royal massage just outside the main entrance. Less than Half price and really good(no hanky panky). Overall good hotel for holiday staying with your family.

Room Tip: If you have family with kids, book ground floor room in lagoon wing cos they have direct pool access.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prodasg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Sawasdee prodasg,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Im pleased you loved the location and your daughter had fun in our lagoon water slides. Sorry you felt the spa was pricey however we provide a different day spa experience to streetside massages. At least there is an option for everyone within walking distance.
Hope to see you again soon!
Regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Just returned from a 12 day trip to Centara Karon. Location was fantastic, just off main street but tucked away with beautiful rolling, manicured tropical gardens and a sense of tranquillity.
Had children aged from 3 - 15 who all loved the pools - especially the water slides. The water wasnt too deep in parts for my (non swimming) 3 year to happily and confidently potter around without me having to be with her the whole time. Girls used the Kids Club on several occasions, adults took part in the water aerobics and water volleyball so adults and children alike were happy. Our Tropicale Deluxe room was lovely ( 2 queen beds) and bright, airy and well serviced. Children had DVD player which was used occasionally.
Overall would highly recommend this hotel. Was concerned with the negative reviews but our experience was excellent and no complaints here!

Room Tip: Higher rooms dont get the 'people traffic' noise.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kylie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Sawasdee Kylie O,
Thanks for taking the time to share your views with fellow readers. Your comment “Location was fantastic, just off main street but tucked away with beautiful rolling, manicured tropical gardens and a sense of tranquility” is appreciated. I think most readers would agree its hard to find a large resort that provides a sense of tranquility yet is centrally located!
Look forward to welcoming you back soon
Regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We have just returned home from a 8 night stay with our 2 kids (6 & 3 years). Firstly I would like to say that some people just have too high expectations for where they are staying. The people who bag this resort should remember they are in a third world country and for the price you pay you can't expect 5 star. Anyway we loved this resort it has great pools especially the lagoon pool if you have kids. We were booked into connecting rooms in deluxe lagoon rooms but were upgrated to the tropical wing. The rooms were big and had a lovely outlook to the pool. We were on the top floor (3rd) which was a bit of a walk up the stairs especially in the hot weather but good to walk of some of the yummy food we were eating. I was a bit wary of its location before we went in relation to proximity to the beach - but had nothing to worry about. It's a very short walk. We found the staff to be friendly and lots of restaurants nearby to eat at. Close to the night markets which are held at the temple grounds 2 nights per week otherwise on the beachfront there is a market shopping centre all the time. Great bargains to be had at the night market.
We would stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steveshel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Sawasdee Steveshel11,
Thank you for taking the time to provide on line feedback. I think your comments are exactly right re price versus expectation. We certainly try and deliver good quality accommodation, friendly service and value for money. Centara’s 5 star resort is only minutes away and is absolute beachfront with many wonderful 5 star touches but it does cost more! Readers will appreciate your night market tip as well as your comments on nearby restaurants. Im pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return!
Regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews