We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phuket Trip - Centara Karon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Ranked #20 of 137 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Just got back from trip to Phuket - stayed at the Centara Karon. Awesome place to stay - friendly and helpful staff. Clean and spacious rooms. The swimming pools are fantastic - great place to take kids. I used the gym a few times and it was more than adequate for weights workout and cardio. We ate in the resort 95% of the time and the food was fantastic - big variety from all restaurants and the theme nights are great - well worth it. Close to everything in Karon and only a quick tuk tuk ride away from Patong. Well worth the stay - good value for money. We had only one and a half days of rain and the rest was perfect - hot and sunny.
The reception were extremely helpful in helping us settle our bills separately which must be a pain! There were a few really nice staff cant remember all their names though sorry - K the waiter from the restaurant was lovely! The security guard (older man on the gate was lovely too as were most of the lovely people who helped us or brought our food or taught us how to say hello in Thai. Thanks for making our trip fab!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Sawasdee Nic H,
Thank you for taking the time to share with readers on your stay at Centara Karon Resort.
Great to read your comments "Awesome place to stay - friendly and helpful staff. Clean and spacious rooms. The swimming pools are fantastic - great place to take kids". Perfect summary! Im delighted you ate 95% of your time with us and our reception staff were a great help.
Hope to see you back soon!
regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,854 - 2,860 of 4,039 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband and I have just enjoyed 10 nights at Centara Karon Resort and would happily recommend it to our friends. As we arrived early in the day our room was not ready so we were offered the use of the Spa to freshen up with a shower. Our room was ready shortly and we were taken there only to find it was a twin room with single beds when we had booked a king room as we celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. We went straight down to reception and pointed this out to be told that we had been upgraded from Lagoon to Tropicale room anyway but they would be able to move us after 2 nights. We were pleased to be in the Tropicale wing as it is much quieter for couples. The Lagoon pool and wings were very busy with families. We were moved on the 3rd day and also offered a free meal at one of their restaurants which was lovely. The resort is very central to everything in Karon. We loved walking out each evening and choosing a resturant for tea. My husband had a beautiful suit made at the resort tailor. Slightly more expensive but excellent quality. Breakfast at the resort was a highlight, the Green Chilli on the beach road our favorite restaurant. We used "Petty" at the tour agents down near the roundabout. Lovely girl who is a delight to deal with. Will happily go back another time.

Room Tip: Tropicale rooms quieter but a fair walk from the front gate. Nice view from 3rd floor but lots of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Janette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Sawasdee Janette S,
Thank you for providing a review for TA readers.
Im delighted you enjoyed your stay and that breakfast was a highlight. Im sorry your bedding request was not available upon check in but pleased we could deliver by the third night and provided some nice touches to help make your anniversary a success.
Safe Travels
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Where to start with this review. My wife and I booked this holiday 12 months prior to leaving; we booked 4 nights in Bangkok, 8 nights in the Centara Grand (Phuket) and 2 nights in Dubai.

1 week before we were leaving I was at work (on an oil rig in the middle of the north sea) looking through the itinerary and noticed that it said we were booked into the Centara Karon, I phoned my wife and asked her to go to Thomas Cook and get it sorted. They apologised and said they had booked us in the wrong hotel but could not get us in the Centara Grand as they were full.

As you can imagine we had been looking at one hotel for a year, booking trips from that hotel only to be told we were no longer going there, devastated is not the word, after a lot of offering us hotels that just did not match up we had to accept the Centara Karon with £700 compensation and an upgrade to the honeymoon suit. We would have rather stayed at our original choice but we running out of time.

As you can see by the photos the so-called honeymoon suit did not live up to expectations, we put into room 1714, when we were shown room and balcony I could not believe the state of it to be called a honeymoon suit.

The railings were all rusty and looked disgusting, the veranda doors were all stained outside with streaks running down them, the hot tub had defiantly seen better days, the furniture was outdated, next to the balcony was a load of industrial pipework, we had a view of the car park at the front but a nice one to the right of the mountains. Inside when we were in bed the air con would drip on your head; I would have to get up 3 or 4 times in the night to wipe all of the water away.

After a teary first morning from my wife she went and complained to the rep, this went on for 4 days and eventually they said they could move us to the Centara Grand but it would cost us £960 which they could not guarantee we would get back. We declined their offer.

We took a trip along to the Centara Grand (I wish we hadn’t) it just made my wife so upset thinking this is where we should have been, their hotel and rooms were beautiful, modern and spotlessly clean.

The rest of the hotel was clean, the pool areas we very nice, we were bed and breakfast, but the breakfast was nothing to get up for we tried it twice then just dined out after this.

We spent so much money on this holiday for Thomas Cook to mess up what should have been a dream holiday. Thank you so much Thomas Cook I would never book with you ever again

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank foss281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear foss281,
Thank you for your comments from your stay back in March. I am sorry your agent booked the wrong hotel and subsequently did not enjoy your stay. I understood that your agent had compensated your disappointment. The balcony railing rust you mention has since been removed however the air conditioner is fine as you cannot leave balcony doors open as condensation will occur. The furniture is not outdated however I thank you for your feedback. The views from your room are actually impressive ocean views and your photo is misleading.
My apologies for your disappointment and I hope you return to beautiful Thailand again in the near future.
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We have just returned from our 6th trip to Centara Karon. We love everything about this hotel. We stayed in room 1816 which we were upgraded to free of charge. Upon our arrival the reception staff checked us in with the usual efficiency and provided us with our complimentary drink. The room was of a good standard with everything we could have needed for our stay. The housekeeping staff always cleaned the room perfectly and the room looked like new everyday, if we were in the room when they wanted to clean it they carried on their round and came back at a more suitable time for us.The pools are all of a good standard and each offer a different atmosphere to the others, we travel with our 4 year old daughter so the lagoon pool with its slides was where we spent most of our time!!! The staff are, quite simply a credit to the hotel and to the country, they always have a smile on their face and always have the time to help with anything or just ask how we are and how our day was, in fact our daughter spent lots of time chatting to the bell boys, reception staff and breakfast staff each and every day, she even calls them her friends!! Breakfast was included in the price and offered a full and varied range of foods everyday. The location is perfect, 5 minutes fro the beach, many restaurants close by , favorites of ours are Kais, the red onion and two chefs. Be sure to catch the market at the temple 10 minutes up the road which is on twice a week on a Tuesday and a Saturday.
In summary we cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, we are already planning our next trip there!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Dear paul l,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. Your thoughts and suggestions will help readers to make an informed decision on their next holiday destination. I particularly liked your comments on your baby girl love to make friend with our staffs.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kob Khun Kah
Chompoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

As I am a handy capped person I found all the staff more than willing to help if needed,my room staff were angels.the fact that the hotel is so near to beach ,markets and shops were not difficult to find.I would return to the Centara and advise my friends and family to try it.

Room Tip: we found 6th and 8th really good with nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colleenm939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Sawasdee Colleenm939,
thank you for providing a review on trip advisor.
I am sure any readers, especially those with a disability will appreciate your sharing and Im delighted to read that our staff and our resort were able to support and assist in your excellent holiday experience.
Thank you for sharing.
safe travels
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have recently just stayed at Centara Karon for our thrid consecutive year. I love teh Tropicale wing of this hotel. It is nice and quiet and the rooms are lovely. The tropical swimming pool is great for lounging around and has a swim up bar that does drinks and snacks. We had the buffet breakfast included with our room and is well worth it. It is delicious! We managed to fill up at breakfast and then just have a mid afternoon snack and went out for dinner at night time. My partner had his birthday during our stay and we received a complimentary cocktail, and birhtday card and someone speeled out happy birthday in flower petals onto the bed - such a lovely gesture. My partner was also sick during our stay (nothing to do with the hotel or phuket) and the housekeeping were exceptionally helpful with supplying us with extra items we requried and providing our room cleaning service around when he was sick. Would definitley stay here again!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Tropicale wing are very far form teh traffic noises and outside noises, although you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank spunkymonkey07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, Public Relations Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Dear spunkymonkey07,

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide Trip Advisor readers your thoughts on your recent stay. With so many readers on a forum such as this, feedback for both potential holiday makers and us the resort is important. Whilst we strive to improve our shortcomings it is equally appreciated to receive reviews re-enforcing our efforts, such as yours. I look forward to sharing your thoughts with the team.

Kind Regards
Chompoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have just had a great two week stay in an ocean view room at Centara Karon Resort. We found everything to our liking. Great staff and a good location. The only complaint we have is regarding breakfast. We thought the choices didn't change from day to day and it became very boring. I have mentioned this to the management via a survey and they say they are going to review it. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Sawasdee Dale H,
Thanks for providing a review. Great to read "We found everything to our liking. Great staff and a good location". I am sorry you felt breakfast did not rotate enough. We certainly will look at our rotations to ensure the variety is there each day.
Thank you for your feedback and look forward to your return!
Best Wishes
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.1 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.7 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,194 reviews
0.6 km away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,249 reviews
1.2 km away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karon
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#11 Spa Hotel in Karon
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#12 Family Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#18 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $63 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Karon Town, with an abundance of eateries and entertainment options at its doorstep and Karon Beach a short stroll away, the resort is perfectly located to experience the many facets of Phuket. As a destination in its own right, Centara Karon Resort Phuket fulfils every holiday aspiration, from pure bliss at Spa Cenvaree to active holidays and family fun with activities galore, yoga sessions, three swimming pools, waterslides and a kids’ club. This four-star resort, laid out within beautiful gardens backed by green hills, is comprised of four very distinctive residential zones. Couples and small families will find the rooms and Honeymoon Suites at the Terraces a comfortable retreat, and enjoy the option of ocean view or a private outdoor Jacuzzi; while families and groups of friends are spoilt for choice with spacious guestrooms set moments away from the waterslide and games of the Lagoon pool. The generously-sized one- and two-bedroom Cabanas feature a private terrace with a plunge Jacuzzi. As a fun place for families, the resort has a kids’ club with daily activities and three expansive swimming pool areas complete with three children’s pools for the younger ones to splash in, two waterslides and pool games. Pool parties are held regularly, and other activities include tennis and football. The resort also has two restaurants, a sports bar, and three swim-up pool bars A scheduled shuttle service takes guests from the resort to Patong, and Phuket International Airport is reached in less than one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing