We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great rooms & view, overall fantastic :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secret Cliff Resort
Ranked #108 of 135 Hotels in Karon
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Just got back from an 8 night stay with my partner & our 2 kids (11 & 15) & overall we're very happy with this hotel. We were in rooms 107 & 108 which was a perfect location, close to the pool & not too far down the hill. Wouldn't want to be staying too far down the bottom as it's a looooong way down & a hard walk up to the main road. The rooms were very spacious & well fitted out. The staff at the pool bar were awesome but the one's at reception were quite rude & disinterested in any requests we made. There was a free shuttle into karon & patong each day but if u didn't book they wouldn't take u & if u were 2 mins late when booked they left without us, also had to pay extra to go into kata etc. Was a great location, 5 mins from patong & a 200 or 300 baht tuk tuk trip, just far enough away to be quiet but close enough to get amongst it. Breakfast was great & staff in restaurant lovely :) only ate at the pizza restaurant one night & although it was a nice feed it was very expensive, cost us about $60 aust dollars for four pizzas & 4 drinks. Kids loved staying here as the pool is great & not too crowded & they could order drinks, food & ice creams whenever they liked. Pool was very safe for the kids, not too deep or big that we couldn't find them & would've gladly let them stay in there all day alone. The only let down was the reception staff, but overall we loved it here & would come back :)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Malinky78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
There are newer reviews for Secret Cliff Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

We had a wonderful time here!! Defiantly not a place for the kids tho!!!
My partner and I were here without the kids,as it was his first trip to Phuket I thought it better we stay out of patong!! He luved it!!! I loved our room and view, close to the pool and not to far down the hill!!! And it's a big hill!!!! We found the food gr8 but neither of us liked breaky,staff were helpful and always happy, organized all transfers and drove us into town whenever we liked!!!!! Overall the resort needs a bit of paint but for a budget price it is a gr8 spot!!!!!shame there is no beach access.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool!!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at the Secret Cliff for our 3 last nights on our journey. We had a nice room with somewhat hidden view (lots of trees covering). The hotel area is really hilly so it is definitely not recommended for the disabled. For being quite a big resort the pool is much undersized. We learned that we could use a pool at another resort across the street but we never did. we had some great Italian food at the restaurant beside the road although it was a bit noisy to eat there with all the traffic passing. The hotel is situated on top of the Karon Cliff right in between of Karon and Patong and have free shuttle to both areas. But now to the best thing of all, the spa. It is really clean and nicely furnished and the staff is friendly and very skilled. Try it out!
If you go to Patong, skip the shopping down at the beach road and go to the OTOP market situated at the Hard Rock Café. Much calmer, not so pricy. But still very pushy sales persons :(

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spitfire66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Very nicely managed garden, fair restaurant, best cliff view to have a budget drink or lunch. pool is small, nice to have secret, but too lay back for young people. get a motor bike to go around . room was rejected by my wife, toilet was 1 star. okey for matured easy going people. definitely not up to 4 stars. good bargain in low season.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We checked out one of the dining guides we grabbed from somewhere and just picked a restaurant. This one looked good, lovely location. Was a winner, it was a very quiet day for the staff, so we had brilliant service. The food was great, good prices. Would be a lovely location for a wedding or gathering of groups. The resort looked lovely would even concider staying here.
Was a little difficult to get a cab but no biggy. We would go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bungosPerthWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This was the first hotel of our trip, we booked it for 2 nights. Only good thing was, that in the room were extra towels and beach bag.But then it started.
On the first day I went to reception and told that our toilet isn´t working. I was there also in the next morning, problem stayed, next evening-twice. Every time they said that they will be there and the problem will be fixed.
On the second day our room wasn´t also cleaned.
On the final day the manager was there, I asked her to come and see that the problem stays, but she refused. She just stood there at the reception looked me into the eye and sayd: "we have cleaned your room every day and we fixed the toilet." I nicely asked her again to come to my room and see, but like I said, she refused.
I didn´t want to pay full price of this low quality room and service. Manager refused to make any discount and she threatened to call the police.
I've never stayed at such a horrible hotel and I don´t recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 461AndriS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My Husband and I spent about 5 days of our honeymoon in Phuket (Feb 2012) and we have had already made our reservations back in September. The place is very beautiful and most romantic. The hotel is so clean and the service is great. The room was spacious, breakfast buffet was good and the views from the breakfast area is AMAZING facing Karon Beach.
The swimming pool is small but to die for..make sure to watch the sun sit =)
Some Observations: 1- If you need to arrange for air port pick up, please do that early because they do not check their emails much!! however, for us it turned out that the Taxi we hired from the Air port Taxi Services Desk was a bit cheaper (MAKE SURE IT IS THE TAXI SERVICE DESK infront of the airport and not the individual husslers and not the ones inside the airport)
2- The food at the hotel's restaurant is expensive but at the COCO Pizza place is cheaper! If you order room serivce the meals are even cheaper which we could not get why!!
3- Since the hotel is far from the beach, the hotel has two free shuttles that leave at 10 am and 11 am one to Karon Beach and one to Patong Beach and back.

All in all great and memorable experience. ENJOY

Room Tip: Area is hilly, if you are not fit you may want to ask for closer room to reception area although I b...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoSh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.5 km away
Chanalai Hillside Resort
5.3 km away
The Yama Hotel Phuket
The Yama Hotel Phuket
#9 of 135 in Karon
620 reviews
5.5 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
763 reviews
4.1 km away
CC's Hideaway
CC's Hideaway
#3 of 135 in Karon
783 reviews
3.0 km away
Princess Seaview Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Cliff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Cliff Resort

Address: 707 Patak Rd. | Karon Cliff, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Karon
#64 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: $25 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Secret Cliff Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Secret Cliff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Cliff Resort & Restaurant Hotel Karon
Secret Cliff Resort And Restaurant
Secret Cliff Hotel
Secret Cliff Resort Phuket, Thailand - Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing