We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday”
Review of Elegant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elegant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Miwaladeniya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2017

A truly memorable hotel.The hotel has gorgeous views from both the rooms and the pool. As the hotel has only 6 rooms it is intimate and has the feel of staying with family. The restaurant serves great food, especially curries with all the side dishes. - you can dine inside or on the terrace.
Udaya, the manager, is a fantastic host. He organised transport for us and recommended a traditional dance show that was very enjoyable..
It was my husband's birthday and Udaya surprised him at breakfast with a table on the terrace decorated with balloons, flowers and a chocolate cake complete with candle & song.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Deluxe room, top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merelyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we would like to thank you for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor.com as “Birthday", which motivates the staff of Elegant Hotel to provide their best of services and facilities to all its valuable guests.

Hope you will visit us again in your next visit to Sri Lanka, where you will be pampered even more with more facilities and services at Elegant Hotel.

Thanking you once again,
Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2017

Gorgeous hotel. The staff were lovely, the food delicious and the views fabulous. The room and bathroom was perfect. A truly wonderful little haven away from the bustling streets and not too far from Kandy.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Serena2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we would like to thank you for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor.com as “Fabulous", which motivates the staff of Elegant Hotel to provide their best of services and facilities to all its valuable guests.

Hope you will visit us again in your next visit to Sri Lanka, where you will be pampered even more with more facilities and services at Elegant Hotel.

Thanking you once again,
Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Everything about this lovely hotel is fabulous - the setting, the facilities, the views, the food. Best of all the staff are so welcoming and friendly. They even did me a surprise birthday cake which was so nice and they had also decorated the table with fresh flowers and party hats. The gardens are beautiful with great bird life and a fabulous swimming pool. The rooms on one side of the hotel get views of the sunset, and on the other the sunrise. There are also balconies on each side to just while away the hours whilst admiring the stunning views. It's situated about a 20 minute drive from Kandy which was perfect for us. We stayed for two nights as a group of five people and it was our favourite hotel of our Sri Lanka trip - it just had an intimacy and warmth to it that we really loved. We would really recommend it.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank hola1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we would like to thank you for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor.com as “We didn't want to leave!", which motivates the staff of Elegant Hotel to provide their best of services and facilities to all its valuable guests.

Hope you will visit us again in your next visit to Sri Lanka, where you will be pampered even more with more facilities and services at Elegant Hotel.

Thanking you once again,
Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

We stayed at the Elegant hotel for 3 nights from 16 April. The staff were amazing. Attention to detail superb. It is a true haven from the hustle and bustle of Kandy. We had breakfast and dinner there every day and each meal was amazing. A huge thanks to all the staff for their extraordinary kindness and hospitality.

Room Tip: We had an upper flour room and views were amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we would like to thank you for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor.com as “Exquisite", which motivates the staff of Elegant Hotel to provide their best of services and facilities to all its valuable guests.

Hope you will visit us again in your next visit to Sri Lanka, where you will be pampered even more with more facilities and services at Elegant Hotel.

Thanking you once again,
Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Arriving to Elegant Hotel was like entering a guarded little oasis in the middle of a busy and noicy area.
Here, a short drive from Kandy, you will find a charming hotel w only 5 nice and well equipped rooms. A nice swimming pool with a spectacular view of the mountains. The most kind and service minded personnel. My highest recommendations.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we would like to thank you for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor.com as “Beautyful, peaceful and charming", which motivates the staff of Elegant Hotel to provide their best of services and facilities to all its valuable guests.

Hope you will visit us again in your next visit to Sri Lanka, where you will be pampered even more with more facilities and services at Elegant Hotel.

Thanking you once again,
Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We spent 3 nights in March staying at the Elegant hotel while we explored Kandy. The hotel is a small family run boutique hotel with a beautiful pool with wonderful views (which we had all to ourselves). The staff are attentive and helpful, and run a small on site restaurant which is open until late Breakfast was perfect, extensive and with a wide selection of Sri Lankan options, all served with a great jungle view. Please do note the hotel is around 20 mins away from Kandy by car, and up a windy bumpy road, however we managed just fine with our driver's minibus. We found that this was a blessing for us as Kandy itself was a bit noisy, so we were glad to get back to the peace and quiet of our hotel. The rooms themselves were nice with everything you would want, nice comfortable beds. the bathrooms were a bit basic, but on par with every place we stayed in Sri Lanka. No disabled access, which was the same all across Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Laddicott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we would like to thank you for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor.com as “Peaceful retreat from the bustle of Kandy", which motivates the staff of Elegant Hotel to provide their best of services and facilities to all its valuable guests.

Hope you will visit us again in your next visit to Sri Lanka, where you will be pampered even more with more facilities and services at Elegant Hotel.

Thanking you once again,
Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Of all the places we stayed in SriLanka the Elegant had the most attention to detail. It's a way out of Kandy so get directions first, but well worth the journey. High up with great views and a terrace to oversee them whilst watching the sun go down.
Well worth eating here, we had arranged to go out for one night but regretted it. The menu is small but they will prepare most things and much of the produce for the superb breakfasts and dinner comes from the garden. Service is discreet and attentive.
Tranquil, relaxing, peaceful and a pool with a view.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hywel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we would like to thank you for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor.com as “Relaxing with attention to detail and great views", which motivates the staff of Elegant Hotel to provide their best of services and facilities to all its valuable guests.

Hope you will visit us again in your next visit to Sri Lanka, where you will be pampered even more with more facilities and services at Elegant Hotel.

Thanking you once again,
Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miwaladeniya
12.7 km away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#12 of 57 in Kandy
1,122 reviews
9.9 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
7.3 km away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 km away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
10.3 km away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 57 in Kandy
1,403 reviews
7.5 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 57 in Kandy
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elegant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegant Hotel

Address: No. 200/3 Sunflower Garden, Meewaladeniya Handessa | Kandy, Miwaladeniya 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Miwaladeniya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Miwaladeniya
Price Range: $132 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elegant Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a very quiet rural atmosphere about 12 km from the historical city of Kandy, Elegant Hotel promises to all its guests a renew, refresh and a revival stay with a unique personalized service level and pampers all its guests with novel deluxe living. Your are most welcome to have a magnificent dining experience within its main restaurant or with a special arrangement on the roof top overlooking the Adams Peak or in the garden overlooking the mountains. The designing is done from the new world and with the touch of Kandyan Culture and Arts to its interiors. Location is unique with views of Adams Peak from one side and the mountains from the other. Free transportation is provided from Kandy to Elegant Hotel (both pickup and drop to Kandy). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Elegant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing