We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Total relaxation!”
other travellers have booked this property
The view of the house from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of the house from the garden
The sitting room The wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
95 reviews
The view of the house from the garden
The sitting room
The wood burner
The upstairs landing, with sofabed looking out across the valley
The landing from the bedroom
The stairs up to the mezzanine
The bed in the mezzanine area
Looking into the bedroom from the landing
The bedroom
Hope Cottage
The side window
The kitchen
The view from the garden
The parking space
The view down the valley
Looking out across the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chalford, Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 95 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
RtB256
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Total relaxation!”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

A wonderfully decorated cottage in a fantastic, quiet location. We had a fantastic stay, with space to relax in the cottage and plenty to explore in the local area. The cottage itself was clean and had fantastic facilities, and Sarah's book of information on the area meant we weren't short of walks, pubs etc. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design of the cottage, wonderfully done up!
Liked least: The driveway! (but it's not too bad!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntbridg...
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in every way”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Wow. Just returned from a three night stay in the lovely Hope Cottage.
It is situated in the most beautiful area surrounded by rolling hills, lovely walks and picture-postcard beauty.
Sarah was just so welcoming and her directions to the cottage were spot on.
This wonderful cottage has everything in it that you need to truly escape from it all. We left and got into our car already plotting our next visit.
Thank you for an outstanding stay. We will be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyVB22
Oxshott, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect cottage in a beautiful Cotswolds village”
Reviewed February 20, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Hope Cottage was everything I had hoped for and more besides. Extremely cosy with a lovely log-burner and exposed stone wall and beams. Spotlessly clean and really tastefully, minimally decorated. Beautiful views! Sarah provided all the amenities you could need for cooking, tea/coffee, speakers etc. as well as a very useful welcome pack, and some great long walking routes around neighbouring villages that we followed. So relaxing, I didn't want to leave and very much hope to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srm34633
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a lovely cottage”
Reviewed January 3, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

If you are looking for a a place to stay in the Cotswold's for a relaxing break or a base to explore the area then look no further than Hope Cottage.
My wife and I stayed in this delightful place over the New Year and couldn't fault anything. The cottage is superbly renovated and has everything you could want. Can't think of any better way to wake up in the morning than to sit by the large upstairs window overlooking the valley.
If you are looking to dine out there are several excellent pubs nearby. Most notably, The Kings Head which is only a two minute walk away and is very welcoming and serves excellent food.
Once you've been to Hope Cottage you will want to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cottage itself had been excellently renovated and very clean
Liked least: Parking was tight
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inSens
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Most charming little cottage set in an unspoilt picturesque location”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Set atop a hill in France Lynch, which is a tiny village and – though only a few miles from the Motorway – is a world away, far from commercial tourism and the like. The cottage itself is delightful from the original beams and stonework to the quirky mezzanine to having all the comforts you’d need.
We were lucky with the autumn weather and highly recommend a visit to the National Arboretum (a must-see if you’re a nature enthusiast or have young children - kept our 5 yo busy for the day!) and the local Kings Head which serves delicious hot food with warm friendly service.
Highly recommend!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Haydyn P
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A tranquil, peaceful retreat nestled in the country”
Reviewed November 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a fabulous couple of days here for our 5th wedding anniversary. The cottage was charming, immaculate and the views stunning. We thoroughly enjoyed the surrounding area and the out of the way location.

Sarah was easily contactable, and feedback was spot on.

We will be coming back next year, all being well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the property
Liked least: no dishwasher
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing