We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning and charming cottage with lovely views”
other travellers have booked this property
The view of the house from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of the house from the garden
The sitting room The wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
95 reviews
The view of the house from the garden
The sitting room
The wood burner
The upstairs landing, with sofabed looking out across the valley
The landing from the bedroom
The stairs up to the mezzanine
The bed in the mezzanine area
Looking into the bedroom from the landing
The bedroom
Hope Cottage
The side window
The kitchen
The view from the garden
The parking space
The view down the valley
Looking out across the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chalford, Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 95 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Mieke G
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
“Stunning and charming cottage with lovely views”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We just returned from a week in the lovely Hope cottage.
First impression we had it felt like we were in a fairy tale.
Hope cottage has everything to have a relaxing stay.
It was clean, cosy and the views and quiteness were stunning :-)
Nature is so beautiful in the whole area.
The weather in June is also nice, we didn't have a lot of rain and the sun was shining quite a lot.
We would definitely recommend Hope cottage to our friends and family.
Thank you so much Sarah, for giving us a lot of unforgettable memories!
All the best from Ghent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill C
Polegate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Blown Away by the Cottage & Views”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

As we came through the gate into the garden to access the property, the first thing to hit us was the stunning view to the rear, afforded by the open fence. However, the garden was also very private, with beautiful climbing plants to either side. Views from inside the cottage were equally breathtaking, particularly from the dormer window on the first floor, where we spent much of our time while 'at home', as unfortunately the weather was not particularly kind. The cottage was very cosy and beautifully furnished and the log burner very efficient, with a very generous quantity of free logs! The standard of cleanliness was also very high, with my husband particularly remarking on how spotless the kitchen worktops were. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals at the kitchen table, with the kitchen window also providing amazing views across the garden. We loved Nailsworth with its quaint shops and had a lovely meal by the stream at Egypt Mill. In spite of the weather, we had a most enjoyable stay and would highly recommend the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views; quirkiness of cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiri N
1 review
“Cosy cottage in beautiful setting”
Reviewed April 5, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a lovely stay in the cottage. It was very clean and we loved its character. The view from the garden is gorgeous, it feels so peaceful. There is a good pub within walking distance and lots of great places to visit nearby. The bed was very comfortable and the cottage had everything we needed. We hope to come back again soon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUNCAN C
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place”
Reviewed March 29, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This is one of the best places for a getaway from it all break. The cottage was well presented and had everything you might need, there is lots of character and charm to this little gem including a enclosed small garden, perfect for sitting and enjoying the view. Sarah was very helpful and was there if you needed her, everything from booking to returning deposit was done very promptly. The property was spotlessly clean and the bed is very comfortable.
Would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R C
London
2 reviews
“Lovely views, sweet cottage - a great break away from the big smoke!”
Reviewed March 23, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Quirky decoration inside including the little loft/mezzanine "snug" where my boyfriend holed up with his book. Loved the wood burner in the evening! Lots of useful info available including some nice walks. Recommend for a cosy stay in a lovely part of the world. Thanks for a nice break!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 16, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RtB256
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Total relaxation!”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

A wonderfully decorated cottage in a fantastic, quiet location. We had a fantastic stay, with space to relax in the cottage and plenty to explore in the local area. The cottage itself was clean and had fantastic facilities, and Sarah's book of information on the area meant we weren't short of walks, pubs etc. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design of the cottage, wonderfully done up!
Liked least: The driveway! (but it's not too bad!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing