We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
17
16
11
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
16
11
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids pool big bathtub main pool besar villa ocean
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 65 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2016

We arrived at just after 11 and were welcomed with a nice fruit drink. We asked if we could have a drink at the bar before retiring for the night but were informed that the restaurant etc closed at 11. Ok, no problem we thought, mini bar and sit in our jacuzzi.

Wrong. Bar fridge was empty, not even a cold water. Jacuzzi didn't work, bad start.

Next morning went up the brekfast, expecting a nice buffet arrangement.

Wrong. Had to order a la carte off a VERY limited menu. Eggs were ok, but fruit was terrible and "bacon" inedible. No a/c in the open air dining area and no fans, making for an uncomfortable experience along with the very dissapointing breakfast.

Ok, let's go to the pool. Enjoy a swim, water looked nice and clean. We could enjoy a bit of a swim and some service from the pool bar for the morning.

Wrong. No towels, pool bar didn't open, no one came near us. Pool was filthy with algae and grime all around.

Let's explore around the grounds and maybe get a massage.

Wrong. Spa centre was deserted, didn't look like it had been opened or used in YEARS. Pizzeria / coffee shop equally deserted, looked like the pizza oven had been used last 10 years ago. Vegetation was growing inside.

Might go to the concierge and ask about travel and look around the reception and get a book to read.

Wrong. No brochures (I mean have you even been in a hotel that has no trip brochures, ever, not me, always a first I guess). Didn't want to help, not interested. At least there was a book in the library, and by a book, I mean 1 book.

Reception area is pretty standard but no fans and is hot. So you have to arrange a taxi to go anywhere as this place is not close to anything. Need a beer? Taxi to get some. Shopping taxi.

Don't get me wrong. If you want to stay somewhere where you get no service and don't want to do anything or never get bothered, then this is the place. Enjoy bland food and being hot and bothered, stay here.

But if you want to enjoy your stay, there are much better places to spend your money

Room Tip: Ask to make sure your jacuzzi works and that everthing else in the room works
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SekarNusaVillasBali, Sekar Nusa Villas Management at Sekar Nusa Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2016

Dear Mr. Tim M.,

Warmest greetings from Sekar Nusa Villas. Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. Please let us apologize for your bad experiences while staying with us, it is truly our deepest regret. At the moment, for several reasons, we are closing our pool bar. However, it is true that our staffs should have been there to assist you and we apologize for this. We also have closed our spa center and pizzeria, but guests can still get spa services from our spa partner if they make a request to our receptionist, and can order pizza in the restaurant.

Our apologies about our receptionist that you found not interested and did not want to help. Please know that we do have travel brochures in our reception, although sometimes we do not display them. However, our receptionists should help the guests when they ask for brochures. Therefore, if our receptionists did not want to help, please know that such behavior is unacceptable in our villa; we will take this seriously and make sure this will not happen again.

Our facilities might be limited, but we in Sekar Nusa Villas will always try to give our best service from our staffs. Once again we deeply apologize that you experienced such bad treatment from our staffs. We will take your feedback seriously and make sure to improve our services in the future.

Thank you, Mr. Tim M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 1, 2015 via mobile

I've been there for 2 nights with my friends, we booked 3 villa with jacuzzi. Actually overall design was amazing. Nice pool and garden, but breakfast buffet was poor. Average taste. Service was great, but they should improve.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
Thank LevaniD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SekarNusaVillasBali, Sales at Sekar Nusa Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2015

Dear Levani D,

Warmest greetings from Sekar Nusa Villas!

Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you love our Balinese-style design and the surrounding of our villa. However, we apologise to know that you find our breakfast quite lacking. We will make sure to take your constructive feedback to our review and make sure to implement the corrective measure to improve our service.

Once again, thank you, Levani D! We are looking forward to your next stay with your friends.

Best Regards,
Sekar Nusa Villas Managament Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2015

My partner and stayed here for four nights.Our accommodation had a plunge pool. A comfortable bed and a gorgeous bathroom. The hotel grounds were very quiet and for the first night it seemed like we were the only one's staying in the villas. Breakfast was poor with a lack of cutlery (not a knife in sight)
There is a nice large pool, Location is is not ideal but we don't mind walking and we found a 1km walk to the wonderful local beach.
Overall - pleasant

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SekarNusaVillasBali, Sales at Sekar Nusa Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2015

Dear Darren T,

Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor. We are very glad to know that you had a pleasant stay in our villa. Since most of our guests are travelers and honeymooners, our villa is usually quite in the afternooon and evening. And most of the rooms have a private pool, so the guests are mostly staying and do activities in their own room/villa. But it is quite busy in the morning, especially for breakfast.

We apologize that you feel our breakfast are lacking. We will make sure to take your constructive feedback to our review and make sure to implement the improvement.

Dear Darren T, once again thank you for your feedback. We are looking forward to another opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Sekar Nusa Villas Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2015

We stayed here with our 2.5 year old and absolutely loved it.

The first half of our holiday in Bali, we stayed in Kuta for the shopping and nightlife. Knowing that would get tiring, we chose to split the break into two separate mini-holidays and make the last half more of a quiet retreat and the Sekar Nusa Villas were perfect for that purpose.

On the downside, the hotel isn't new - my guess would be around 15-20 years and therefore looks a little "tired" compared to some of the very new neighbours. It's still clean and well maintained, just don't go expecting a funky modern apartment.

It's also a bit out of the way and doesn't really have any shops, restaurants or entertainment within walking distance. Since we wanted peace and quiet, this was perfect for our little family but if you like walking to nightlife and shopping, don't stay here.

And probably the biggest downside for us was the lack of reliability of internet. When it worked, it was fine. But it was extremely unreliable and would simply not work for hours at a time. Since we had already been in Bali for a week when we arrived at the Sekar Nusa Villas, both my partner and I were having withdrawal symptoms from the connected world - so the lack of the convenient "on all the time" internet we have at home was a bit frustrating. Having said that, it forced us to not get tied up with work while we were away, so it was probably a blessing in disguise. Seriously though, if you need to access reliable internet while you're in Bali, I wouldn't recommend staying here unless you have a backup plan.

The positives include a spacious villa with its own private plunge pool as well as a big shower and separate bath tub (big enough for all three of us!) - and being the hot, humid wet season, all these water options were just fantastic.

The hotel also has two large pools - one deep one with an infinity edge overlooking a stunning view of the east coast of Bali and a shallow (75cm) but huge kids pool that gets its water via a waterfall from the infinity edge of the adults pool 3 or 4 metres above. We swam in both and although the kids pool had an unusual amount of floating debris (I guess you get that when a pool is surrounded by thick gardens), both were clean, warm and a wonderful option for the couple of times we felt like something bigger than our private pool.

The staff were friendly and competent.

Even though the several other reviews on Trip Advisor are correct in suggesting that the buffet breakfast is relatively limited, it's only limited compared to some of the huge spreads the big chains offer. If you're used to a basic continental breakfast in small hotels and motels, the 6 hot dishes of the day and "eggs on show" cooked to order combined to be more than adequate for our week at the Sekar Nusa Villas.

All in all, a lovely, quiet retreat high on a hilltop with a very pleasant view and private, adequately appointed villas.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Darren_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful bungalows but they are open so there is a lot of mosquitos. Inside they are nice, but not outside and the rest of the resort is old and need to be fixed up! The staff here is great, they fix everything there is broken ( and that is a lot). There is no cafe, bar, shop ect, everything is closed down. The pool area looks closed as well, but if you ask you will get towells and a madress. There is nothing around the hotel, you have take take a taxi everywhere.
There is no microoven, no minibar and only 5 diffent maincourses on roomservice and in the restaurant ( same menu).
The place should only have 2 stars and be cheaper.
It is clean, peacefull og the staff are very serviceminded.
We left 4 days early even though we allready payed.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank AnneKarinaSmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews