We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than meets the eye”
Review of Sekar Nusa Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sekar Nusa Villas
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Ungasan
Reviewed 15 April 2016

We arrived after lunch after staying at a wonderful resort in Ubud. At a glance the hotel appeared welcoming and well presented. A sweet fruit drink was provided at check in and we were then escorted to our villa with jacuzzi. It was everything I had seen online and initially I was very impressed. The adjoining bathroom made in stone was amazing and large so we settled into our room and decided to have room service for dinner ..... at around 6pm we checked out the in room menu ...how exciting it was to see Snapper and chips on the menu and fried banana with icecream. After numerous attempts to get someone to answer the phone on all internal lines we finally got a hold of reception to now come and fix our tv which wasnt working and then put us through to the restaurant. Snapper and chips on its way but sorry no icecream today... ok pass on the pudding... About an hour later the room service arrived and snapper was crispy dry although the chips were edible. and a tiny deep fried battered banana on a plate. Attempted to ring room service again... 15 minutes later... Sorry we did not want the banana desert with no icecream.. "You not like" no we didnt want it with no icecream "we have no icecream" I know was our response thats why we didnt want it. etc Disappointed but time for a hot shower and bed... no hot water... lets ring maintenance... 15 minutes later call was answered by reception again... 30 minutes later maintenance fix hot water.... This was a sign of things to come. never mind tomorrow is another day... that night a strange sewer smell started coming from our bathroom...Breakfast included in our stay was in the restaurant... with an unmanned egg station and buffet ethnic food and cordial in a decanter. A la carte is available but they dont advertise it and once again the breakfast was mediocre at best. My husband did not eat breakfast for the duration of the stay due to the standard and room service was not an option. We wouldnt of paid for such a poor meal, and despite our complaints the staff would not entertain the idea that the food was bad. We didnt pay for the deep fried banana's which were not eaten. Although the staff were helpful their english was minimal. Every night the odour from our bathroom was getting stronger and more pungent to the point where it was waking me from sleep. Although we complained we were told that housekeeping will look into it and we would then return to a room doused with air freshener. Yes I wanted to leave on the first night but I cant say it was unbearable it just wasnt as good as it could have been. There were pros however, based in Nusa Dua this is a cheaper hotel but it is still closer to the beach. We were able to get around via scooter because there isnt so much traffic and we found an amazing restaurant 1km away in front of the beach The grill restaurant ...so ate there every night. Bali Collection for shopping was also close and enjoyed the massages, fish pedicure and lunches found there. Oh yes and the pool although not as cold as I would like was great for morning laps.

Room Tip: perhaps a villa with its own pool may be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hughandtash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SekarNusaVillasBali, Management Team at Sekar Nusa Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2016

Dear hughandtash,

Warmest greetings from Sekar Nusa Villas!

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. It is truly our regret to know that you had such unpleasant experiences while staying with us and we deeply apologize. Apology might not be enough but we promise to take your constructive feedback and make sure to implement the corrective measure to improve our service.

Once again, thank you.

Best Regards,
Sekar Nusa Villas Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2016

We arrived at just after 11 and were welcomed with a nice fruit drink. We asked if we could have a drink at the bar before retiring for the night but were informed that the restaurant etc closed at 11. Ok, no problem we thought, mini bar and sit in our jacuzzi.

Wrong. Bar fridge was empty, not even a cold water. Jacuzzi didn't work, bad start.

Next morning went up the brekfast, expecting a nice buffet arrangement.

Wrong. Had to order a la carte off a VERY limited menu. Eggs were ok, but fruit was terrible and "bacon" inedible. No a/c in the open air dining area and no fans, making for an uncomfortable experience along with the very dissapointing breakfast.

Ok, let's go to the pool. Enjoy a swim, water looked nice and clean. We could enjoy a bit of a swim and some service from the pool bar for the morning.

Wrong. No towels, pool bar didn't open, no one came near us. Pool was filthy with algae and grime all around.

Let's explore around the grounds and maybe get a massage.

Wrong. Spa centre was deserted, didn't look like it had been opened or used in YEARS. Pizzeria / coffee shop equally deserted, looked like the pizza oven had been used last 10 years ago. Vegetation was growing inside.

Might go to the concierge and ask about travel and look around the reception and get a book to read.

Wrong. No brochures (I mean have you even been in a hotel that has no trip brochures, ever, not me, always a first I guess). Didn't want to help, not interested. At least there was a book in the library, and by a book, I mean 1 book.

Reception area is pretty standard but no fans and is hot. So you have to arrange a taxi to go anywhere as this place is not close to anything. Need a beer? Taxi to get some. Shopping taxi.

Don't get me wrong. If you want to stay somewhere where you get no service and don't want to do anything or never get bothered, then this is the place. Enjoy bland food and being hot and bothered, stay here.

But if you want to enjoy your stay, there are much better places to spend your money

Room Tip: Ask to make sure your jacuzzi works and that everthing else in the room works
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SekarNusaVillasBali, Sekar Nusa Villas Management at Sekar Nusa Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Dear Mr. Tim M.,

Warmest greetings from Sekar Nusa Villas. Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. Please let us apologize for your bad experiences while staying with us, it is truly our deepest regret. At the moment, for several reasons, we are closing our pool bar. However, it is true that our staffs should have been there to assist you and we apologize for this. We also have closed our spa center and pizzeria, but guests can still get spa services from our spa partner if they make a request to our receptionist, and can order pizza in the restaurant.

Our apologies about our receptionist that you found not interested and did not want to help. Please know that we do have travel brochures in our reception, although sometimes we do not display them. However, our receptionists should help the guests when they ask for brochures. Therefore, if our receptionists did not want to help, please know that such behavior is unacceptable in our villa; we will take this seriously and make sure this will not happen again.

Our facilities might be limited, but we in Sekar Nusa Villas will always try to give our best service from our staffs. Once again we deeply apologize that you experienced such bad treatment from our staffs. We will take your feedback seriously and make sure to improve our services in the future.

Thank you, Mr. Tim M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2015 via mobile

I've been there for 2 nights with my friends, we booked 3 villa with jacuzzi. Actually overall design was amazing. Nice pool and garden, but breakfast buffet was poor. Average taste. Service was great, but they should improve.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Levani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SekarNusaVillasBali, Sales at Sekar Nusa Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2015

Dear Levani D,

Warmest greetings from Sekar Nusa Villas!

Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you love our Balinese-style design and the surrounding of our villa. However, we apologise to know that you find our breakfast quite lacking. We will make sure to take your constructive feedback to our review and make sure to implement the corrective measure to improve our service.

Once again, thank you, Levani D! We are looking forward to your next stay with your friends.

Best Regards,
Sekar Nusa Villas Managament Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

My partner and stayed here for four nights.Our accommodation had a plunge pool. A comfortable bed and a gorgeous bathroom. The hotel grounds were very quiet and for the first night it seemed like we were the only one's staying in the villas. Breakfast was poor with a lack of cutlery (not a knife in sight)
There is a nice large pool, Location is is not ideal but we don't mind walking and we found a 1km walk to the wonderful local beach.
Overall - pleasant

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SekarNusaVillasBali, Sales at Sekar Nusa Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2015

Dear Darren T,

Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor. We are very glad to know that you had a pleasant stay in our villa. Since most of our guests are travelers and honeymooners, our villa is usually quite in the afternooon and evening. And most of the rooms have a private pool, so the guests are mostly staying and do activities in their own room/villa. But it is quite busy in the morning, especially for breakfast.

We apologize that you feel our breakfast are lacking. We will make sure to take your constructive feedback to our review and make sure to implement the improvement.

Dear Darren T, once again thank you for your feedback. We are looking forward to another opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Sekar Nusa Villas Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2015

We stayed here with our 2.5 year old and absolutely loved it.

The first half of our holiday in Bali, we stayed in Kuta for the shopping and nightlife. Knowing that would get tiring, we chose to split the break into two separate mini-holidays and make the last half more of a quiet retreat and the Sekar Nusa Villas were perfect for that purpose.

On the downside, the hotel isn't new - my guess would be around 15-20 years and therefore looks a little "tired" compared to some of the very new neighbours. It's still clean and well maintained, just don't go expecting a funky modern apartment.

It's also a bit out of the way and doesn't really have any shops, restaurants or entertainment within walking distance. Since we wanted peace and quiet, this was perfect for our little family but if you like walking to nightlife and shopping, don't stay here.

And probably the biggest downside for us was the lack of reliability of internet. When it worked, it was fine. But it was extremely unreliable and would simply not work for hours at a time. Since we had already been in Bali for a week when we arrived at the Sekar Nusa Villas, both my partner and I were having withdrawal symptoms from the connected world - so the lack of the convenient "on all the time" internet we have at home was a bit frustrating. Having said that, it forced us to not get tied up with work while we were away, so it was probably a blessing in disguise. Seriously though, if you need to access reliable internet while you're in Bali, I wouldn't recommend staying here unless you have a backup plan.

The positives include a spacious villa with its own private plunge pool as well as a big shower and separate bath tub (big enough for all three of us!) - and being the hot, humid wet season, all these water options were just fantastic.

The hotel also has two large pools - one deep one with an infinity edge overlooking a stunning view of the east coast of Bali and a shallow (75cm) but huge kids pool that gets its water via a waterfall from the infinity edge of the adults pool 3 or 4 metres above. We swam in both and although the kids pool had an unusual amount of floating debris (I guess you get that when a pool is surrounded by thick gardens), both were clean, warm and a wonderful option for the couple of times we felt like something bigger than our private pool.

The staff were friendly and competent.

Even though the several other reviews on Trip Advisor are correct in suggesting that the buffet breakfast is relatively limited, it's only limited compared to some of the huge spreads the big chains offer. If you're used to a basic continental breakfast in small hotels and motels, the 6 hot dishes of the day and "eggs on show" cooked to order combined to be more than adequate for our week at the Sekar Nusa Villas.

All in all, a lovely, quiet retreat high on a hilltop with a very pleasant view and private, adequately appointed villas.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Darren_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2014 via mobile

Beautiful bungalows but they are open so there is a lot of mosquitos. Inside they are nice, but not outside and the rest of the resort is old and need to be fixed up! The staff here is great, they fix everything there is broken ( and that is a lot). There is no cafe, bar, shop ect, everything is closed down. The pool area looks closed as well, but if you ask you will get towells and a madress. There is nothing around the hotel, you have take take a taxi everywhere.
There is no microoven, no minibar and only 5 diffent maincourses on roomservice and in the restaurant ( same menu).
The place should only have 2 stars and be cheaper.
It is clean, peacefull og the staff are very serviceminded.
We left 4 days early even though we allready payed.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank AnneKarinaSmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We had stay for a weak.. In villa with private pool, such a quite place and positive athmosphere compare than seminyak we stayed previously... Bed are comfort...Beautiful place... Peace of place... Warmest service during our stay...

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Made Soedarma Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ungasan
0.6 km away
Swiss-Belhotel Segara Resort & Spa
1.2 km away
Mercure Bali Nusa Dua
Mercure Bali Nusa Dua
#29 of 54 in Nusa Dua
788 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Santika Siligita Nusa Dua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Asri Jewel Villas & Spa
Asri Jewel Villas & Spa
#5 of 11 in Ungasan
17 reviews
6.5 km away
Golden Tulip Bay View Hotel and Convention
7.1 km away
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sekar Nusa Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sekar Nusa Villas

Address: Jl. Nusa Dua Selatan, Sawangan | Sawangan, Ungasan 80363, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Ungasan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ungasan
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ungasan
#9 Spa Hotel in Ungasan
Price Range: $60 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sekar Nusa Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sekar Nusa Villas is “Flower of the Island” a low key luxury resort. Inspired by traditional Balinese architecture, Sekar Nusa Villas set to be one of the most exquisite villas in the traditional village of Nusa Dua. It is perched high on a hill with Indian Ocean view. There are 24 Padma Jacuzzi Villas, 22 Sekar Pool Villas, 6 Nusa Suite (2 Bedroom ocean view villa with pool, living, dining & lounge area) and 1 unit Sandat villa ( 1 Bedroom 2 storey villa with pool, living room & kitchenette). Sekar Nusa Villas is perfectly suited to families, honeymooners, wedding venue and pre-wedding venue, providing the exclusive, privacy of your own villa in serene setting the whole resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sekar Nusa Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sekar Nusa Villas Hotel Ungasan
Sekar Nusa Resort
Sekar Nusa Villas Bali/Ungasan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing