We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Takarakka Bush Resort & Caravan Park(Carnarvon National Park)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
64
66
27
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
66
27
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswilderness lodgeremote locationcarnarvon gorgecanvas wallscontinental breakfastlunch packboth nightscomfortable bedscapital citywonderful settingsized bedlow keyamazing sceneryprices are reasonablewould recommend this place to anyonerestaurant foodguest laundry
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 166 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2017

Although we were not staying at the Lodge we had enjoyed wonderful lunches and great morning teas in their amazing setting.
We personally would like to thank staff and visitors who went out of their way, giving amazing assistance to us when my husband slipped and fell in the park a week ago.
They did everything they could in arranging transport back to Brisbane for my husband, I can't tell you how much your help was appreciated.
THANK YOU ALL.. so much. I am happy to tell you that after five days in hospital he is well on the way to making a very complete recovery, Up to the accident, we both were having a great time and have wonderful memories of a beautiful place.
The staff are great, the lodge and it's wonderful setting is a special place to visit and I fully recommend to anyone wanting to visit this amazing Queensland location.
Regards to you all Jacqui Harris

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jac43ziv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017

Hi Jacqui,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am very glad to hear that your husband is better. It was our pleasure to help and to make sure everyone is safe and getting the help they need. I am glad you enjoyed your morning tea with us :)

We wish you safe travels in the future.
- Matt & Anita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2017

Very comfortable ensuite cabins amongst ancient cycads with kangaroos lazing outside the front door.Excellent food at the restaurant.Easy access to the great walks in this very exciting location which is a remote area ie no internet or mobile phone coverage.Beware medical emergencies .The lodge has a RFD box but unhelpful attitude if you turn up unannounced requesting help.

Room Tip: All cabins offer excellent views to enjoy the location,gardens & wildlife.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2017

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

I am sorry you feel this way about the medical help given. We did all that we could to assist the person staying at alternate accommodation down the road who came up to us for medical help. We assisted her in allowing her to use our phone for her to call her family and advise them of the situation and we also called an Ambulance and the RFDS to send a medical personnel. We were more than happy to assist her back to her accommodation down the road and wait with her for medical attention to arrive however, she explained that one of our guests was a nurse and felt comfortable enough to have her stay and assist. Everyone's health is the utmost important thing out here being in such a remote location. She herself was very grateful and thankful towards us.

Thank you - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2017

Part of a flying group of 12 people and stayed for 2 nights and 3 days,
Great service from start to finish, the best food thanks to Mathew, chef. which we all missed throughout the rest of our around Qld Trip.
Anita, Mathew and staff looked after our every need throughout our holiday. Suggest taking the guided walk to the Moss Gardens and the Platipus viewing.

Room Tip: They all have great views and have plenty of quiet wildlife nearby early morning and at sunset.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PUKAirlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words and lovely review. We were so pleased to have you stay with us and I am happy to hear it was an enjoyable one. We hope to welcome you again. - Matthew and Anita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2017 via mobile

Loved this place. The lodge was an extremely comfortable cabin made to look tent style. Beds were extremely comfortable. We have never stayed in a place like this. By no means was it luxury but it fit perfectly to the outdoors type of holiday you are having. It would be weird if it was over the top luxury. But saying this it was very comfortable clean and perfect for our 3 nights stay. Some of the walks are not for the weak but there are plenty of options. The restaurant is above average and good hearty meals perfect for a hungry hiker. They had a great wine special which we took advantage of.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Natacha36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Hello, Thank you so much for your review. I am so happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and your cabin. The beds sure are comfy, can make it hard to get up in the morning to take on the hikes.. We wish you safe travels and Thank You for staying with us.
- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2017

Three of us 'seniors' stayed here for three nights, sharing an en suite cabin/tent. The canvas walls and fly-net covered windows brought the outside environment very close - we could sit up in bed and watch the kangaroos feeding on the grassed areas outside, and the birds in the surrounding trees. It rained heavily while we were there but the inside of our accommodation stayed warm and dry. The ensuite was small but adequate, with a shower over the bath. Better lighting in the bedroom area (especially beside the single bed) would have been appreciated, as would a third chair and a larger table. The beds were warm and comfortable, the staff friendly, and it was great having the Australian Nature Guides discovery centre on-site so we could easily find out more about the stunning Carnarvon Gorge and the walks available in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews