We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
65
69
27
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
69
27
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wilderness lodge wine list carnarvon gorge comfortable bed canvas walls continental breakfast lunch pack both nights capital city staff were friendly and efficient cold beer wonderful setting low key blt amazing scenery prices are reasonable would recommend this place to anyone
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 170 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2017

This was my favorite place that I stayed in on my trip to Australia. The grounds were beautiful and full of the cacophony of birds. Kangaroos were hanging about snoozing and eating. There were some nice trails from the lodge. They also had guided tours and educational talks (I missed the educational talk because I couldn't tear myself away from the kangaroos). The restaurant on site was also very good. The safari tents were comfortable and with the space heaters it was warm enough. The bathrooms were small and basic but adequate. I only stayed here 2 nights but would have been happy to stay longer as I think there were many more places to explore.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank River_diva_mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you could have stayed longer as well to do more exploring. Please continue to enjoy your travels safely.
- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2017

We had six nights in an ensuite takka tent. Bed was extremely comfortable, good size fridge and very serviceable ensuite. Short walk to camp kitchen. Roast dinner was great and shop has plenty to supplement supplies. Staff were very friendly.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnarvonGorge W, Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Hi There,

You have left this review for Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, not Takarakka. But I will be sure to pass it on.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2017

The rooms are your own little slice of nature. Everything was nice and clean. Our kids loved walking around, playing with sticks and dirt and enjoyed the birds and kangaroos. The restaurant is awesome and service was great. Lovely to come home after a days walk and have a hot shower, great meal and a comfy bed.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to welcome you again.
- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile

Had only 24hrs and it was 5hr drive each way.... we had our doubts on the capacity to relax on such an agenda. Well.. within 3 hrs of arrival we had achieved bliss. After a glorious 8km walk through a national park that has so many hidden magical places, we found ourselves lying back on squatters chairs, looking out on wallabies and all that nature had to offer. A cold one in hand didn't hurt either.
The food for dinner that evening was delicious. Highly recommend!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2017

Hello, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you had a relaxing time and enjoy your meals. We hope to welcome you again.
- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2017 via mobile

We have just come back from a four night stay. I would definitely return. The staff are all friendly and are happy to answer any questions. If you have any requests or concerns they are sorted quickly and efficiently. The food at the restaurant is delicious and the service is quick. The beds are comfortable and rooms clean. We had a great stay and would recommend this place to anyone visiting Carnarvon Gorge.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank 21Tania2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017

Hi There,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a heart warming review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our customer service.
- Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews