We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Doubtless Bay Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Fantastic views from the appartment we stayed in, although they do have others that don't, but great accommodation. The appartments are well maintained and clean. Beds are large and super comfy. Free tennis for the energetic. The only down side is that there is a steep uphill trek up from the beach so you would need to use a car if you are older or have small children. Great location for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Appartment with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ecofriendly386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2017

We spent 3 days in a one bedroom villa, a maisonette arrangement with the bedroom one floor up from the living room. The accommodation is of a very high standard with a fully equipped kitchen as well as washing machine and dryer. The large balcony was fully taken up by a table and bench, more comfortable seating would have been welcome in order to enjoy the good weather. Parking was directly in front of the door, the whole complex made a very good impression. The apartment was serviced daily.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Peter_Connie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

A gorgeous modern villa with expansive views of the bay. Wall of windows let in light and fully equipped kitchen. Also able to watch the Super Bowl February 2017 and as Patriots fan that was not expected to have a room with ability to watch the game! The location is great for touring the tip of the North Island as we drove to Cape Reinga and back on one of the days and swam in the beach below our villa.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a studio for 2 nights.17/19th.
The views are amazing. But we were a little disapointed with our room,which was quite small,with a very small "kitchen"area.
A kettle,microwave and toaster are provided,as is cutlery etc. No bread knife .?
The room was quite clean..but not spotless.! Finally for 5 star accomodation we would expect air conditioning.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 774KAREN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Two-bed well-designed apartment with an amazing outlook. Spent much of my time relaxing with the view and photographing changes in tide and sky. Very comfortable. No quality food outlets/cafes/restaurants nearby with Mangonui the nearest place to dine.

Room Tip: Seek waterfront unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsetterj2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

We arrived after a long day of driving from Auckland. Check in was easy and I thought our villa was nicer than the photos. We had two levels with the bedroom on the upper level and a large living area, kitchen on the lower level. The view was beautiful. Our villa was quiet, comfortable beds, good wifi, and nice amenities. Loved having a washer and dryer. Wish we had stayed longer just so we could have soaked up the view more.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 495Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights early in December, using the studio as a base to explore Northland, after four nights near Russell. Our stay in Cable Bay was very peaceful as we were a few weeks before the Christmas break, and we were very impressed with the studio. Although quite small, it provided us with everything we required, and the views from the room were stunning. The studio was well laid out and in very good order. The very wide ranch slider windows were a bonus leading out onto the patio area with unobstructed views of Doubtless Bay and the Karikari peninsular.

We made trips to Cape Reinga, Ninety Mile Beach, and Maitai Bay and loved the township of Mangonui, just about 6 kilometers away, where excellent fish and chips awaited!

The hosts, David and Margaret were very helpful, particularly when advising us where to visit when almost the whole of Northland had lost electricity owing to the acts of vandals.

Altogether a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cable Bay
5 km away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
0.4 km away
Golden Sand Beachfront Accommodation
1.3 km away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
0.4 km away
Driftwood Lodge
Driftwood Lodge
#3 of 3 in Cable Bay
42 reviews
0.3 km away
Carneval Ocean View
Carneval Ocean View
#1 of 1 in Cable Bay
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubtless Bay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubtless Bay Villas

Address: 20 Dudley Crescent, Cable Bay, Mangonui 0442, New Zealand (Formerly Select Doubtless Bay Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Cable Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Cable Bay
Price Range: $180 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Doubtless Bay Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubtless Bay Villas offer luxury villa accommodation spread over three levels, each built and furnished to five star standards. All villas feature en-suites, full kitchen and laundry, a spacious lounge area, and indoor and outdoor dining options. From the private balconies there are spectacular views of the Karikari Peninsula and Pacific Ocean. The villas are available in one, two, or three bedroom options. Single level studios are also available. These well appointed studios feature king beds, en-suite, a kitchenette (Microwave, Kettle and Toaster), and ground level patio. all Villas and Studios are non-smoking. Doubtless Bay Villas is the perfect base to explore the Far North in luxury and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Doubtless Bay Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing