We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok.”
Review of Le Chene Gris

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pommeuse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Chene Gris
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Went on the SUn newspaper holiday. Stayed in Bali Home. Love the surrounding. Its quiet and peaceful. This is our 2nd time in France. But our 3rd campsite. So, it was a pleasant surprise to find the mobile home comes with a wooden verandah (very unlike the UK mobile campsites). I love this camp's environment, lots of mature trees...reminds me of some beach side resort in Asia. Its safe enough for the kids to run around outside.

It is very basic and its interior is abit tired IMO, but its clean. Fresh blankets provided which was very welcomed. Bring your own bedlinen but the oillows we got were those soft Ikea square sofa pillows. By the time I stuffed it into my pillow cases, they were rock hard pillows, so bring Large pillow cases.

I noticed there's an aircon unit which will come handy during warm days.

The kitchen utensils is adequate. There are ants.. Bring ant repellant.

We read the handbook - we're supposed to clean up before leaving. We're supposed to leave the mobile home just as how we found it. Neat and tidy. Floor to be sweep and mopped. Kitchen to be cleaned and wiped down. Fridge to be wiped down and defrosted a day before leaving. To leave the fridge door opent o dry before closing the door and start the fridge back up. But when we arrived, the frdige was off, and door was left open. So, I did just that. Not too sure if this is standard in France, as this was the first time I had to do this. Didnt have to do it for Davy Crocket Ranch in Disneyland nor Camping Est Paris in Campigny Sur Marne. For this, I deducted 1 star.

No advise to drink the water, according to handbook. We bought water cheaply at InterMarche - Euro2.50 for an 8 liter bottle.

We were there low peak. So staffs were plenty and helpful. Boiler broke down so we didnt have hot water for shower half way thru...so some of us went off to the communal showers to check it out. According to my very fussy and particular sister, it was immaculate and a joy to use...so it must have been good. Hubby too said the gents shower rooms were brilliant. Boiler got fixed a few hours later.

For those who need the train..it was fantastic. The train station is literally at the entrance of the campsite. Infact to go into the campsite, you are actually driving thru the train station's carpark.
this area. its beautiful. We drove around found plenty mini marts and ask the reception, there is hypermarkets nearby - like Carrefour, E.LeClerc and Intermarche.

The restaurant just outside the campsite, across the road...apparentkly was good food and reasonably priced,,but we didnt get the chance to try it.

The kids loved the shallow swimming pool. There's a deep pool under a tent-like marque...I am assuming this is the indoor pool. There's a good size sandpit. Our kids scootered around safely.


Its ok. I supposed, we were spoilt as our last 2 campsites (Davy Crocker Ranch went there April 2011, and Camping Est Paris May 2012) were absolutely new and well stocked with linens, towels and kicthen utensils.

But I will go back, just for the easy relax environment, and the easy train access to Paris. I have to say it was a good basecamp for us as we were doing 3 days Paris, 1 day shopping at La Vallee nr Disney, 1 day Reims and 1 day Lille.

If youre goin to Euro Disney, look out for the La Village Shopping Mall. There's a huge supermart inside called AuChan, where you can buy hot pizza according to the size you want..its by weight. The 4 cheese pizza is to die for and its so cheap! The size of 2 personal pizza was only Euro5 with change. A brilliant place to stock your fridge up is you're self catering.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SharonBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

Just returned from a SUN newspaper holiday at this campsite in france. Excellent value for money. Were in a 2 bedroom caravan. Spotlessly clean, only a year old. Had all needed microwave, heating etc. (didnt have oven or grill).
Set in countryside, near lots lovely villages, only 6 miles from Coulumiers which main town with mac d's, aldi etc.
Literally only 15 miles from Disneyland paris (apx 25/30 min by car)
Campsite staff were soooo friendly. All girls on reception spoke excellent english and security man brought extra pillows all brand new.
Swimming pool area is all new and spotless. Pool is slightly smaller than expected in photo, but it is Heated, and all new and the kids were playing in it at 8.30pm at night after returning from day out.
Lovely open bar area, with wooden roof and this overlooks a small childrens play area so can watch the kids, and adjactent to small indoor/outdoor play pit climbing area.
Not much in the run of enterainment. Kids disco at 7 every night for half hour, but didnt bother rushing back for this. Occasional entertainment but large tv's with music or sport in bar.
Takeaway on site selling nice usual and lovely restaurant.
Got the train to Paris, literally outside the campsite (but you dont get any noise at all from the hourly train) cheapest to get it from camp tickets are 14 euros adult for all day travel on train,metro and bus.
Near to disney is a huge shopping complex called V'al d Europe not far by car at all from the site. Theres a huge supermarket in there which we stocked up for disney daytime.
We took our kids scooters to campsite and lovely scooting up and down.
Basically its a fairly quiet family site set in a lovely location and i cant speak highly enough.
At Disney we stayed one night at the Magic Circus hotel (not official disney one but literally a stones throw away and immaculate better than the disney ones)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank haleshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Just got back from a short 4 day stay. Used as a base for EuroDisney. Stayed in the Bali Home. I have to say the Home was more than adequate and will sleep 2 adults and 3 children in some comfort. Rooms are spacious (as mobile homes go) and it was clean and had a decent toilet and shower. The staff were friendly and all spoke reasonable English. certainly better than my old school French. The swimming pool is amazing. The floor is made of a sponge like material so if the kids fall over it is no worries. It is definatly aimed at the younger children. But we were relaxed enough to let the kids play in the pool from the side and in the evening in the play park whilst we watched them from the comfort of the bar! We traveled just outside of peak season so it was not too busy. Food at restaurant was good and reasonably priced with good choice for adults and kids. The restaurant just outside the resort was also good value. In short a good place to stay with young children. There were not many other English there if that bothers you and there was not much else near to the resort. But if you have a car it is a great base to explore from. There is a train station 10 metres outside the site I you don't and you don't hear the trains despite this. Would definatly go back there!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DamF12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We visted this site for a long weekend the beginning of May. We booked through The Sun promation holidays. It is an excellent site, clean with great ammenities. Food & drink slighty over priced but aren't most holiday sites. We stopped in the Bali mobile homes very comfortable especially the double bed good mattress!! Location is excellent the sight seeing in Paris via the train outside site & close to Disneyland to Drive too. Unfortunately the time at the time of our vist they had maintence on trian line which mean't we had to go by bus to another train station which was fine thanks to the information the friendly staff at reception gave us ( who spoke excellent english). I would love to go back to this site & defiantly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We visited this site via a Sun holiday. The accommodation was fine, modern and really clean. Excellent for train transport as the station is right at the parks entrance. Very good for getting to Disneyland Paris and we found a fantastic shopping mall called Centre Bay 2 on our way to the park. This has ace shops, Subway, Mcdonalds and a massive Carrefour (French supermarket).

One warning is that don't think you can check out in a hurry! when you check out you hand your keys in at reception and they then go and inspect your property to check for cleanliness and damage. Once its been checked and is satisfactory you then get your deposit back. You have to brush and mop ALL floors as you leave and they will check this.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SarahEvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The staff were lovely and gave us plenty of information about the surrounding area, the accommodation was great for the price we paid and the facilities were nice, we stayed for 10 days in the last week of September, it was hot every day and the pool was peaceful and quite.

Although it was 40mins into Paris it was worth the stay, the only downsides were the surrounding tree's had conkers that fell loudly on other homes, ours was free of this, and the times of the shop opening if you needed groceries, but we had our own car and could drive to supermarkets witch were cheaper.

i would defiantly go back again :D

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Banks_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We booked this caravan through the Sun holidays, and for £56 had a very nice 3 days.

The caravan was nice, and the campsite very pleasant. Obviously we did not use the facilities very much due to the time of year, but we did use it for a base into Paris.

The train line direct to Paris runs just outside this campsite ( you cant hear any noise however) and 45 minutes sees you in the heart of Paris.

We ate in the restaraunt on Site one night, basic fare but pleasant, and on another night we ate in a restaraunt just by the main camp entrance - this was LOVELY and very well priced, and I cant recommend it enough.

On the day we went into Paris we ate at the La Chat Qui 'Eche on 7 Rue de la Huchette just around the corner from Notre Damme. They did amazing French food at VERY reasonable prices (12/ 14 /18 Euro 3 course meals).

We would recommend this site to travellers for access to Paris and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Grahame S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pommeuse
14.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel at Disneyland Paris
26.3 km away
Camping le Parc de Paris
Camping le Parc de Paris
#1 of 1 in Villevaude
90 reviews
13.3 km away
Disney's Davy Crockett Ranch
Disney's Davy Crockett Ranch
#1 of 2 in Bailly-Romainvilliers
4,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 km away
Camping Le Village Parisien
39.4 km away
Camping La Belle Etoile
2.0 km away
Chateau de Pommeuse
Chateau de Pommeuse
#1 of 3 in Pommeuse
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chene Gris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chene Gris

Address: 24 Place de la gare de Faremoutiers, 77515 Pommeuse, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Pommeuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Pommeuse
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chene Gris 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campsite Le Chene Gris is perfectly located, just a 20 minute drive from Disneyland(R) Paris and 55 kilometers from Paris. From the campsite you can step onto a train to the French capital and, after just 45 minutes, you can step off the train and into the heart of the city. Opposite the small train station at Pommeuse is the entrance to campsite Le Chene Gris. You'll receive a warm welcome from the employees of Iris Parc, who will be happy to give you practical information and advice on tours in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Chene Gris Hotel Pommeuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing