We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely fresh pasta”

La Chiusa Restaurant
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
La Chiusa Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$95
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The large kitchen is the heart of the restaurant. Once shared by several families, the kitchen welcomes guests all day for fresh baked snacks, garden to table meals and delicious cooking classes. Our menu changes with each season. Let our chefs delight you with a buffet breakfast full of freshly made items, for lunch try a fresh packed picnic or dine on our terrace, for dinner try our fresh made pastas, baked zucchini flowers, bread soup or perfectly prepared meats from our brick oven. And don’t forget to join us in the kitchen during your day for a slice of fresh baked cake or a piece of cantucci. We use fresh, locally sourced ingredients, and prepare each meal with recipes passed down from generation to generation.
Reviewed May 18, 2016

The owners greeted us and showed us the kitchen before we even sat down! It was clean and organized. The staff was friendly, well informed on the menus and able to answer all our questions.

The food was excellent. Very high quality. The pastas were so light, they melted in our mouth. It was worth the price. I highly recommend it.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Xavikoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 199 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2016

We have the option to go and anywhere in the world but Tuscany and La Chiusa keep us coming back since 2000. We have all seen places that aren't what they used to be...but La Chiusa actually gets better if it's possible to be better !!

Umberto, Daina and Giampalo have been their forever and make La Chiusa feel like home. The food ingredients are all local and natural( mostly organic). Chef Daina puts so much love in her food that you can see and taste in every bite....We live in NYC and eat at some of the finest dining establishments. La Chiusa is on par with any of them. In may ways La Chiusa can't be beat. Farm to table isn't new to La Chiusa it's a way of life.

Umberto's wine knowledge and wine cellar are amazing. He has some wines that aren't available anywhere else.

I highly reccomend you try it even if it's an 8 hours flight and 2 hour drive it's worth it !!!!

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ThePhotoGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2016

The four of us (2 couples) arrived at 8pm and basically said, "feed us." Four hours and the better part of six different wine pairings latter, we all threw our hands up and capitulated. The owner kept us entertained the entire evening since there were only a couple of other tables with our party closing the place at midnight. Probably the best pasta courses of our month long trip. Kitchen tour, roaring fire, met the chef, and had the pasta made table side like the other reviewers. Only regret; that none of us had room for dolci! Being from New Orleans, we welcome these long fun feasts.
Fifteen years before, we had met an Italian from Milano in a Portifino cafe who said we must eat at LaChiusa . Glad we finally made it. Expensive, but a memorable and priceless night a decade and a half in the making.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank donaldoNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2016

We went to La Chiusa on the recommendation of a former employee, Luca Bini, who is now the chef/owner of his own restaurant, Il Fornacino, in nearby Sinalunga. We arrived early on a rainy weekday evening. My wife went in to ask if we could wait inside until dinner time. Out bounded Umberto, who owns the establishment with Dania, and he welcomed us in with open arms. We were treated to a tour of the kitchen, introduced to the hospitable staff, a taste of the ragu simmering on the stove top and a tour of the restaurant and hotel, with is superb views of the Val D'Orcia. And what a meal, the best we had during our two weeks in Tuscany. First, a tableside pasta making demonstration. Then we followed Umberto's recommendations, including 3 Tuscan pastas, wood fire grilled pork chop and lamb chops. Apple cake was the perfect dessert and we were sent off with an extra slice to keep the memory of a fantastic dinner going a bit longer. We enjoyed Umberto's conversation, and we had the pleasure of meeting the talented chef and owner Dania. Enjoy!

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2015 via mobile

Wonderful inn and great restaurant. Staff are caring and attentive. View of Tuscan landscape was memorable. Rooms are nice but bathrooms a little different. I would heartily recommend!

Date of visit: October 2015
1  Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Chiusa Restaurant also viewed

Montefollonico, Torrita di Siena
Montefollonico, Torrita di Siena
 
Montefollonico, Torrita di Siena
Monticchiello, Pienza
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Bettolle, Sinalunga
 

Been to La Chiusa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing