We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage in quiet location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Little House

The Little House interior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Little House interior
Little House interior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
The Little House interior
Little House interior
The Little House dining area
The Little House interior
The Long House (Main House)
Evening barbecue outside the Little House
Dog friendly, run in the paddock
Jack the resident horse
Putsborough Beach - 15 mins drive
Sunset over Lundy Island
Exmoor 30 mins drive
Lynton Valley 30 mins drive
Valley of the Rocks 30 ins drive
Lee Bay - 20 mins drive
Appledore fishing village - 20 mins drive
Woolacombe Beach - 20 mins drive
Clovelly Harbour - 45 mins drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Marwood, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane D
Arnside, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in quiet location”
Reviewed November 3, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a10 day stay here as a base for surfing/bodyboarding. It was only a short drive (albeit through narrow country lanes) to Braunton so the location was very convenient. The cottage is very warm and well equipped and handily for us had good outdoor drying space and the wet room was also useful as a place to dry out wetsuits. The furnishings were comfortable and the cottage was clean and tidy. The only reason I have not given this 5 stars is that I was not aware of how low the ceilings were - my husband is 6'4" and had to walk bow legged around the cottage. If you are over 6 feet tall, you may find the ceilings a little low - otherwise I would highly recommend The Little House.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eamonn L
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Escape from it all....”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just returned from a lovely relaxing holiday at the Little House. Well located in a quiet valley but close to all the attractions. Very dog friendly and Jo and Jerry are very welcoming hosts. Have'nt been to North Devon for some time but it really has improved in terms of places to go and eating out.
I can thoroughly recommend the Little House... its a little piece of heaven in Devon !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Slamannan, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not What Expected”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Shall start with the positives. The Little House is in a very rural & peaceful location so ideal for a relaxing get away. The owners seemed friendly and left you to enjoy your time. Unfortunately, the cleanliness let it down.....dirty windows, filthy roller blind in kitchen and a rug that has been in the wars. We felt this took the shine off our holiday so to speak! There is no way 4 people could live in there comfortably.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the weather
Liked least: the dirt
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities People with pets
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
We are sorry about the windows and will replace the blind. We make it clear on our web site and the description that the Little House is perfect for 2 but snug for 4. If I get a booking for 4 people I always check and remind the person booking it is called the Little House because it is Little, also that is open plan, no separate bedrooms and may not suit everyone. We will continue to recommend the Little House for 2 people, but will allow 4 people to stay as well, as it makes for a very economical holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
immsie
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet relaxing retreat”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We wanted to find a peaceful location, somewhere we could also take our pet dog and The Little House was ideal. Located in a very quiet road, surrounded by beautiful scenery and only a few minutes from Barnstable. Jo and Jerry were very welcoming but left us to enjoy our break and do our own thing. It was only a 20 minute drive to visit the beautiful coastal resorts and there were towns and villages around us with good quality eating places with friendly staff who welcomed our pet dog. We'd be very happy to return to The Little
House in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ideal location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel G
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable Holiday”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Very relaxing and enjoyable holiday at " The Little House" in Marwood. This is the second time we have stayed with Jo and Jerry and once again they could not have made us more welcome. The cottage is very clean and comfortable with everything we could possibly need for a holiday. Our daughter loves the walks in that area and we find it so peaceful and only a few minutes in the car from Barnstaple. We would definitely recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and comfort
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin M
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed January 11, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The little house was beautiful, a little difficult to find, but Joanne was so helpful on the phone. The location was beautiful and not to far from the sea and some stunning locations on Exmoor. We will definitely be returning.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 27, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything perfect for us
Liked least: nothing to not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing