We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return visit to Marriott 1st stay Mai Khao Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Mermaid Waters, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Return visit to Marriott 1st stay Mai Khao Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed at Phuket beach Club last year and for part of our return visit this year but also had a week at the Marriott Mai Khao Resort. This resort is a short walk from the other resort both near the Turtle beach (small) Shopping complex. The Mai Khao is more arranged around families. We were 2 couples and we stayed in a villa with it own pool which we upgraded to on arrival. This was a great idea and we enjoyed having the privacy of our own pool but did manage also to spend some time around the main pools. I would not compare the 2 resorts as I feel they service 2 different groups of guests. You can use a few of the facilities at Phuket beach but are discouraged from using the pools and gym as Mai Khao has their own although in my opinion not as good. You get room service in both but we found the Mai Khao was not quite at the same standard as Phuket Beach. The apartments were of a similar standard and both very nice and roomy.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade an apartment with a pool is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoAussieBabyBoomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    212
    34
    10
    7
See reviews for
393
98
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nihon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

The property offers a lot in terms of entertainment and activities for kids. That being said if you are a couple or honeymooner you're better off elsewhere.

The location is very far out and it costs a lot just to travel out to town, where all the action is. I paid 1400 baht to go to Patong beach via the hotel's shuttle bus. I don't mind paying but this ain't Japan or America. How can the transportation be so expensive. I constantly feel like I got ripped off by the transport options.

If you you envision yourself spending four full days out on pristine unspoilt beach then go ahead.

The F&B outlets are expensive and quality is only average. Now I am one to stump out several hundreds for good food but the meals taste so-so.

If you are a fan of Marriott, head to Marriott Courtyard where it's more exciting.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slytherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

This is a great place to stay away from the craziness in Phuket. We loved it. Great room, amenities and staff. Most timeshares don't do much by way of cleaning the room during your stay, these guys did it every day like a hotel! Three huge bottles of drinking water too! The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the bartender at the pool bar and the concierge. Only gripe: you had to pay to take out the bikes, but that's a small thing in the overall. We loved our stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiteSkiMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We had a wonderful three days at the Marriott Mai Khao beach on a timeshare recommendation from friends. You do have to sit through a 90mins (or what turned out to be 2hrs for us!) presentation which is 1 on 1. Obviously this is acceptable for the deal but still quite a tiring couple of hours.

The pool is delightful and even has a swim-up bar. We had no problems with sun beds - it was quite quiet, though I guess was outside of main school holiday times so there were just a few families there with smaller kids. We had what could only be described as a palatial 2-bed apartment which was absolute heaven. Wonderfully comfortable king size bed, enormous 2-person bath tub, powerful walk in shower and his and her sinks. The kitchen had everything you could need -we did self cater for a couple of lunches (there is a mini mart on site - pricey but without a car we had no other option) and flat screen TVs and DVDs in the lounge and main bedroom - plus a flat screen TV in the second bedroom.

All the staff are attentive without being over the top, extremely polite and helpful. We had cold face towels, fresh fruit and iced water brought to us by the pool each day and free pool towels too. There's a DVD library which we made use of (bizarrely held in the kids nursery area???) and a pool table, table tennis table etc.

The only thing I would say wasn't so great (apart from the inevitable timeshare preso) was the dining options and prices. There was one main restaurant (Zest) on site which we didn't visit as other people had commented the food wasn't great - especially for the price, which is western pricing - plus 10% service and 11% tax (on top of service) for everything. Bear this in mind! The little 'delights' cafe next to it (obviously same kitchen) was nice for a breakfast or lunch, but again quite pricey. The Coffee Shop in the Turtle Village does cheaper food but we made the mistake of obviously going too late in the day. It's open until 10pm and we arrived just after 9pm but at 9:30 the waitress came over with the bill and left it open on our table, which we found a bit distasteful. 5mins later she came over and asked if we could pay our bill now as they were closing. We weren't even half way through our dinner! We asked if we could at least finish our meal, which she didn't really want, but then felt extremely hurried and at that point I just wanted to get out of there - they were literally watching us waiting for us to pay up and get out! Needless to say, we didn't go back there.

I would however recommend, like others, the Kim Dee delivery service (visit Kim Dee Restaurant.com) which though took about an hour, was really fabulous food at very reasonable prices - and free delivery to the hotel for 500baht or more.

All in all a wonderfully relaxing retreat in fabulous surroundings. Watch the taxes/service so you know the real price of a meal but otherwise sit back and enjoy the sunshine!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter and have a nice view out to sea. Haven't heard anything good about plu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutAndAboutChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
377 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I have nothing but positives for this wonderful resort. It's definately 5 Star! This is a perfect get away to relax and rewind. The staff are all wonderful. The restaurants are extremly tasty. Everyone is there to help one have a wonderful time. The rooms are spacious with two bedrooms and two baths. I totally reccommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I'm gonna keep this one short and simple:

The rooms are great and very clean. We had a 2 Bedroom private pool villa at the ground level. Modern Amenities like a flat-screen TV in both rooms and the living room w/DVD player (no ipod dock or sound system though) and good toiletries are provided. The Living room is huge and the Kitchenette fully stocked with plentiful crockery, glasses cooking utensils etc. Three big bottles of Water are provided free everyday. The property is situated next to a shopping complex and a mini mart called turtle mart which makes getting supplies for cooking breakfast or having beers or whatever else convenient. All these factors make this a decent hotel especially for a long stay and especially if you have older children.

Why it's average at best:
The service at the hotel is not good. First off you don't get a hotel feel staying here at all.. it is actually a vacation home or as my wife put it 'a holiday home for the older crowd'. The whole property feels lethargic and there is no energy about the place... Mai khao region as such is dull and has no nightlife beyond 10pm. Even the coffee shop at the hotel has the same deadline. Post that time you are forced to order room service as there are no restaurants near by that are open late... We did order room service and it was, well.. insipid.

As we cooked breakfast the next day we realized we did not have salt n pepper in our kitchen, so we called room service and the price for this condiment is 60bt... the amount is insignificant but it does leave a bad taste in your mouth when you hotel starts charging you for condiments!
This property does not even have access to the beach and it is a long walk to get to it. My suggestion would be to take the free shuttle to JW Marriott right next door and head to the beach from there. We went to JW pretty much everyday and it seemed like the better property but the service seemed the same, as in, sleepy and nonchalant.
The private pool although a decent size is not designed that well.. why have a slope and a deep side (1.8m) in a plungepool? kinda ruined it...

I would not recommend this hotel or even this beach in Phuket. We moved to Kata beach from here and it was superb- lively at places and peaceful at others. This hotel is a fair option for people with bigger families for a long stay who just don't want any sort of activities except to relax ;)

Room Tip: Pick a private pool villa which are all located on the ground floor and also provide easy access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Even though my family and I appreciated the pubic hairs stuck to the wall of one of the bathrooms (from a previous guest) and the sticky living room floor (again from a previous guest), we were hopeful that things would get better. As a test to the cleaning staff, we choose to see how long it would take to clean the bathroom properly.... after 6 nights, I can attest to the fact that our friends on the wall still remain. The cleanliness of the rooms goes hand in hand with the fact that bed-sheets do not get changed more then once a week... a reassuring fact when staying at a beach resort (with napping children and sunscreen for the family). we only get "tidy service" which means LIGHT cleaning (i.e. bed making which we can do ourselves)... obviously since our kitchen sink and everything else has yet to be cleaned...

The children's club, although staff was pleasant, ranked up to the same standard as the room. To my surprise, there was a sick young boy in the club (with stomach problems, a runny nose, and who knows what else) that the staff let continue to stay to play to infect the rest of the children at play. The child's helper told me not to worry as he was "not playing with all the toys".... a genius comment to say the least.

In general, the guests were a mixed bag. Half the crowd was here on a partial free stay and thought this resort was akin to an Aman... not to be too much of a snob, but those people have never stayed at a resort ranking much higher then a super 8 motel. The other half of the crowd was nice and classy and was here because it is a family resort, that is supposed to have certain standards.

The staff at the restaurant were by and large very nice. A few specifically were more than very helpful with our child while the balance of the waiters seemed to be overwhelmed when asked to procure another cup of coffee. Honestly, if it were not for the restaurant staff and food, we would have considered checking out days ago as there are tons of options to stay in Phuket with hotels who actually care if you are happy or not.

The space inside the rooms was the only positive. when traveling with a family, it is nice to have space to spread out as well as a washer machine given our extended stay.

Lastly, if you plan on visiting the JW Marriott, do not think at any given moment you will be treated like a human being by anyone at the front desk, including the manager which I only wish I had her name to make sure she had a proper shout out for her absolute rudeness and ignorance.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kojo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
1.7 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
1.4 km away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 km away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.5 km away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
0.5 km away
Marriott's Phuket Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket

Property: Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
Address: Mai Khao Talang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Marriotts Mai Khao
Mai Khao Marriotts
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing