We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,446)
Filter reviews
3,446 results
Traveller rating
2,656
616
119
40
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,656
616
119
40
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sand box loca vore thai restaurant quan spa sandbox restaurant sand bar pool villa breakfast buffet deluxe room turtle village kids pool mai khao beach thai boxing eggs benedict special thanks main pool free shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 3,446 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Anne and I spent 9 nights at the Resort in a Pool Villa! The accommodation was fantastic; very spacious, extremely clean and well presented to us daily! Rolling out of bed into your our Pool was pretty special!

The Resort is very well run by the General Manager, Sander, who mingles regularly with the guests and with whom we had many conversations! He is a very professional person with a great personality and from my observation, well respected by the staff.

Jay-R the Bar Manager, is a bubbling personality with heaps of drive! Great Guy! He has a lot of dedicated staff who, with a smile, look after the guests needs. Some of staff worthy of my appreciation are Benz and Moht at the Sand Box, Sam in the Takieng Thai Restaurant, Pond, Kate, Lotte in the main breakfast restaurant and Aoa who we ran into everywhere!

The food was superb and the choices, especially the breakfast buffet, were fantastic!

Fat Tyre Bikes are available and we cycled 3.5 km around the Lake at the back of the Resort on a few occasions!

Anne and I had a great holiday which was made even more enjoyable by the fantastic, friendly staff who are overseen by dedicated Supervisors and a professional and great General Manager!

Laurie

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank garmos2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sander_Looijen, General Manager at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Laurie

Thank you for the kind review! We are excited to know you have enjoyed the stay, it was great speaking to you during your stay.

Jay-R is indeed one of our great team members always making sure our guests get to taste our amazing drinks.

Thank you also for highlighting some of the other team members, i will make sure to forward your comments.

Hopefully until a next time.

Sander Looijen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were generally very pleased with our stay. I would set expectations for people that the Renaissance is one of the higher level brands under Marriott but certainly below the likes of Ritz Carlton. So expectations should be managed accordingly. If you are used to staying at Marriott or Renaissance hotels, you will find this a very high quality above the norm.

We had a one bedroom suite and a deluxe room. Despite confirming weeks in advance, at checkin they tried to upsell us a second suite so the rooms could be close together. I didnt push the point but really as a Platinum Elite member they should have considered just upgrading the second room anyway. Regardless, when we said no, funnily enough they found two very close rooms.

The resort itself is lovely, quite modern and very well run. There is a small boutique feel about the resort which we appreciated, yet was still very family friendly.

Pros:
- Staff are very well trained and super friendly
- rooms and facilities are modern and in good condition
- breakfast buffet is very good with an ever changing selection, though having read some of the earlier reviews I actually expected more. If you ignore though, it's still a very good buffet.
- housekeeping was excellent through out. Callout to the cleaner for suite 501 for excellent friendly work.
- very family friendly with lots of different daily activities for kids

Cons:
- while the food was generally great, it felt like the resort needed one more restaurant. Turns out Doppio was being renovated.
- we had not appreciated at time of booking that the kids pool was being renovated so it meant a more crowded adult pool and less for kids to do
- felt like a lot of people smoking in public areas even though there is a non smoking policy
- this can be a pro and a con but it's quite an isolated hotel if you need to get to tourist areas
- finally, asking for a late checkout felt like a negotiation, despite being platinum elite member.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank OzCol1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sander_Looijen, General Manager at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear OzCol1981

Thanks very much for the review, it is good to know that you have enjoyed the stay.

I will ensure the team will get the recognition they deserve, I am extremely pleased to know you have found everyone super friendly. Our room stylists indeed are an amazing team and I will make sure to forward your comments to the person who has been able to impress at your villa.

I also do appreciate the points on the improvement areas and we have already discussed and see how we can do better. Happy to share that both Doppio and the kids pool are open so I sincerely hope that we can welcome you back a next time to enjoy those facilities. Reading your feedback it looks like we will need to enforce our smoking policies more which we have discussed already.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back a next time again.

Until then

Sander Looijen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent 6 nights in a garden view villa after checking out of another 'resort' after 1 night. We couldn't believe how reasonable Renaissance was for such superb accommodation. Can't fault a thing. Thanks to 'Golf' the activities chief for sorting me out a bike for some great local exploring. Even the main road is super safe compared to NZ or Australia. The Chef, Billy from Sydney, made us most welcome and no matter where you eat the food is terrific. Our housekeeper Dang made the stay though. Her personal touches, her notes, flowers, towels folded as animals and her bubbly personality really added something to our visit. Book now!

Room Tip: Seriously consider the garden view villas - but not when we're returning, we want one then.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 86Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sander_Looijen, General Manager at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Chris

Thanks for the wonderful review! It is great to know you have been able to enjoy our many complimentary activities and thank you also for highlighting some of the names of our amazing team. Rest assured that I will send my personal appreciation.

We are looking forward welcoming you back a next time around again.

Until then

Sander Looijen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Even though this resort is off the beaten path it is just what we needed after 10 days in hectic cities. We arrived late at night and they kept the rest open for us Two days later when we left very early in the morning they packed a yummy breakfast with coffee and tea. Beautiful Gardens, Pool and beach and spa.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Waka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sander_Looijen, General Manager at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Waka

Thank you for the nice review! Our resort is indeed perfect to get away from the crazy city life and I am please to know that you have been able to enjoy just that.

We look forward welcoming you back a next time again.

Until then

Sander Looijen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Need a break from city life? This is a resort for you. Away from the hustle and bustle of Patong, the resort has a private beach. It is self equipped with restaurants, gym, spa and a swimming pool.

There is not much shopping in Mai Khao so if you are shopper, this is not for you.

Food is somehow more salty then what we were used to. The spa massage was very relaxing. The room will keep you in a dreamy state most of the time.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StanSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sander_Looijen, General Manager at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear StanSee

Thank you for the nice review! It is great to know you had an enjoyable stay away from the busy areas of Phuket.

Great also to know you have enjoyed the spa treatments.

We look forward welcoming you back to enjoy some more of that.

Until then

Sander Looijen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews