We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tree of life from the bottom up”
Review of Hotel Tree of Life

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tree of Life
Ranked #43 of 80 Hotels in Kandy District
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The accomodation was very average but clean. But keeping in mind that the original homestead (bungalow style) was bilt in the early 1900'sdoes change one's perspective. Adequate - nestled in wooded area.
Dining area and swimming pool beuatifully located.
Perk - the grounds are often used for photographing wedding couples especially in traditional attire and I had the blessing of seeing exactly such a wedding party on the front crochet lawn!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KiwiJane9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

We had booked 3 rooms for one night and out of 3 two rooms were stinking so badly that we were unable to breathe even after spraying the room fresheners. During the dinner time the rice served to us was half cooked. There were lot of monkeys around and in the morning one monkey entered one of the rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sankhya00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We walked in to the Tree of Life and loved the location. It's far away from the bustle and crowds of Kandy and perfect to come back to after a hectic day of sight seeing. But keep in mind that it's far away location also means that it's pretty unapproachable unless you have a taxi of your own or are willing to pay a lot to the taxis/rickshaws.
While we loved the scenic location and views from here, the rooms disappointed us. The curtains, bed sheets, mattresses and the overall feel and quality were at best, passable. The hotel charged us a discounted price of USD 100 but we found it too pricey given the standard of the rooms . We'd rate it as a 2.5 - 3 star place, though they claim to be 4 star.
One of the staff took us to see the villas on the property. The view from the villas is stunning, the villas are great too but at USD 250++ per night, a little steep.
Overall, it's a mixed bag. Pleasant location and awesome views, but average rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

I went with prior booking accompanied by my son. The hotel is in the midst of nature and green all around. Practically all the rooms have great views. We were in a room overlooking the valley and green hills beyond. The room had large glasses opening on to a balcony with fantastic view.

The rooms are large and well furnished with wooden floor. The bathrooms was very large and clean. Clean sheets with tea maker in the room. It is very quiet and stay here is very relaxing.

It is better to book with full board or half board (covering breakfast, lunch and dinner) because you will not find any restaurant near by. The food is good at the restaurant. You can enjoy local Sri Lankan fare or continental - both are good. When the hotel has at least 25-30 guests they run a buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Otherwise they serve a set menu which is also adequate.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kunalbanjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

First, the owner: I was given price for our stay by the owner (Mr Mohommed Sajith) before checked in. However, at the time when we were checking out, the amount we had to pay was in excess of what the owner has told me. When I emailed back to owner about the extra charge, he admitted that there was an error. He also aksed me to scan and send the bill that we paid, so we did. But since then we havent heard anything from him, despite several email inquiries. Although I dont really care about the refund that I am entitled to, I appreciate atleast an appology for their mistake. Beaware, travellers owner is very keen in getting in touch with you until you make your payment.

Location: With little bit of rain, the place will become infested with leeches. We tried to walk along the so called "trails", despite the warning by one of the employees. After 5min walk along the trail, soon we realized that there was no other option other than heading back to the hotel room. So the rest of our stay was inside our hotel room.
Also dont leave windows open, as the monkeys will make huge mess if they could get into your room, as we figured out. But the staff was friendly enough to clean up the mess.

Price: The place is hugely overpriced. After our experience at ToL, we spend couple of days at Hunnas Falls hotel (not that far from ToL), and it was fabulous. The price was similar, but there were lots of things to do (hiking, horse rides, trails, water falls, boat rides etc), and the location is much more beautifl than ToL, by far.

Services: They may say they have internet, but actually they dont. While we were there, there was no wireless access. When we inquired about the internet, they allowed us to share one of the computers that was used by the staff, and it had slow dial-up connection. It was good enough to check my emails, but you need to walk all the way down to their front office and interrupt their work to check our emails.

Positives: Well, you cannot say many positives about this place, but the staff was friendly and helpful (except for the owner who is helpful till he receive all the money), and the food was fabulous, actually better than Hunnas Falls. We also liked the live bands that played during the weekend.

All in all, the only reason to go to ToL again will be to collect my extra payment.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Levis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

The rooms are average but clean and reasonably sized. A/c on the balcony outside makes it noisy and it is billed as an eco-resort. The only thing eco is the setting and the views of natures. Restful at night and the pool is quite lovely. The restaurant serves a buffet when full and set menu when not and it tends townards the western menu - you have to aks for Sri Lankan curries

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annee05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Truly lovely and relaxing getaway with wonderful attentive service.

Tree Of Life is situated outside Kandy (about 15mins drive), I think on a small nature reserve. Ita beautiful locating with stunning views and an air of relaxation and calmness. I am not keen on staying in Kandy as I find it stressful and a bit noisy so this hotel is ideal and you can still do the cultural stuff if you are so inclined.

You enter through a metal tree gate, which leads up a meandering road to the main hotel. Rooms are located either around here or slightly further up where the restaurant or pool is located. The surroundings are well.... very green and lush.

The rooms are not 5 star but for this price you cannot complain. The rooms were exceptionally clean and well maintained - slightly dated but far superior to similar hotels on the beach resorts. Full AC & TV with star movies etc and what they boast is the cheapest mini bar in the world (about £0.20 for bottle of pepsi) I had a single which was frankly huge, with a balcony with a good view. Also a sunken bath with good shower(plenty of hot water - which can often be a problem in smaller hotels in SL). Food Buffet was reasonable with good selection. The aveyduric spa - ouch but I did feel good afterwards and the lady was wonderful. Esp the steam coffin thing which made me sleep.

But really the main bonus of this hotel is the location - its just an oasis of calm. Dont expect a swish 5star luxury if you want this then try earls Regency. But its a good decent hotel with real atmosphere. What really made a difference was the service - exceptional and many 5star sri Lankan should take note.

If looking for a few days of jsut relaxing this is an ideal location.

HOWEVER the gem of this hotel is the newly built Japanese Villa - WOW - WOW WOW
If you have money when you arrive go and see them and splash out. Great romantic villa or even as a good place for expats to enjoy some Chill out time.

One word of advice if booking here would suggest if you want to do activities arrange this before you get there so they have time to arrange. (e.g. pony trekking etc)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jedisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy District hotels
11.1 km away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 2 in Tennekumbura
2,132 reviews
6.2 km away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 57 in Kandy
368 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Sunrich
Hotel Sunrich
#42 of 57 in Kandy
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Manor House Kandy
Manor House Kandy
#27 of 57 in Kandy
176 reviews
5.5 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#12 of 57 in Kandy
857 reviews
22.4 km away
The Albatross Boutique Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tree of Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tree of Life

Address: Yahalathenna, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kandy District
#16 Spa Hotel in Kandy District
Price Range: $95 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tree of Life 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tree of Life is a nature resort and it is half an hour drive from Kandy town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tree of Life reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tree Of Life Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing