We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Earl's Regency(Tennekumbura)
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanthana House(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Majestic Tourist Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sevana City Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$49
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
83
80
49
18
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
80
49
18
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature resortbird watchingnature loversbooked deluxe roomrooms offerbeautiful countrybeautiful hoteltasty foodrooms are bigspecial thanksstayed one nightwonderful viewforestayurvedavillabirdwatchingkandy
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 247 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We had booked 3 rooms for one night and out of 3 two rooms were stinking so badly that we were unable to breathe even after spraying the room fresheners. During the dinner time the rice served to us was half cooked. There were lot of monkeys around and in the morning one monkey entered one of the rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sankhya00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We walked in to the Tree of Life and loved the location. It's far away from the bustle and crowds of Kandy and perfect to come back to after a hectic day of sight seeing. But keep in mind that it's far away location also means that it's pretty unapproachable unless you have a taxi of your own or are willing to pay a lot to the taxis/rickshaws.
While we loved the scenic location and views from here, the rooms disappointed us. The curtains, bed sheets, mattresses and the overall feel and quality were at best, passable. The hotel charged us a discounted price of USD 100 but we found it too pricey given the standard of the rooms . We'd rate it as a 2.5 - 3 star place, though they claim to be 4 star.
One of the staff took us to see the villas on the property. The view from the villas is stunning, the villas are great too but at USD 250++ per night, a little steep.
Overall, it's a mixed bag. Pleasant location and awesome views, but average rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2011

I went with prior booking accompanied by my son. The hotel is in the midst of nature and green all around. Practically all the rooms have great views. We were in a room overlooking the valley and green hills beyond. The room had large glasses opening on to a balcony with fantastic view.

The rooms are large and well furnished with wooden floor. The bathrooms was very large and clean. Clean sheets with tea maker in the room. It is very quiet and stay here is very relaxing.

It is better to book with full board or half board (covering breakfast, lunch and dinner) because you will not find any restaurant near by. The food is good at the restaurant. You can enjoy local Sri Lankan fare or continental - both are good. When the hotel has at least 25-30 guests they run a buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Otherwise they serve a set menu which is also adequate.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kunalbanjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2010

First, the owner: I was given price for our stay by the owner (Mr Mohommed Sajith) before checked in. However, at the time when we were checking out, the amount we had to pay was in excess of what the owner has told me. When I emailed back to owner about the extra charge, he admitted that there was an error. He also aksed me to scan and send the bill that we paid, so we did. But since then we havent heard anything from him, despite several email inquiries. Although I dont really care about the refund that I am entitled to, I appreciate atleast an appology for their mistake. Beaware, travellers owner is very keen in getting in touch with you until you make your payment.

Location: With little bit of rain, the place will become infested with leeches. We tried to walk along the so called "trails", despite the warning by one of the employees. After 5min walk along the trail, soon we realized that there was no other option other than heading back to the hotel room. So the rest of our stay was inside our hotel room.
Also dont leave windows open, as the monkeys will make huge mess if they could get into your room, as we figured out. But the staff was friendly enough to clean up the mess.

Price: The place is hugely overpriced. After our experience at ToL, we spend couple of days at Hunnas Falls hotel (not that far from ToL), and it was fabulous. The price was similar, but there were lots of things to do (hiking, horse rides, trails, water falls, boat rides etc), and the location is much more beautifl than ToL, by far.

Services: They may say they have internet, but actually they dont. While we were there, there was no wireless access. When we inquired about the internet, they allowed us to share one of the computers that was used by the staff, and it had slow dial-up connection. It was good enough to check my emails, but you need to walk all the way down to their front office and interrupt their work to check our emails.

Positives: Well, you cannot say many positives about this place, but the staff was friendly and helpful (except for the owner who is helpful till he receive all the money), and the food was fabulous, actually better than Hunnas Falls. We also liked the live bands that played during the weekend.

All in all, the only reason to go to ToL again will be to collect my extra payment.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Levis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2010

The rooms are average but clean and reasonably sized. A/c on the balcony outside makes it noisy and it is billed as an eco-resort. The only thing eco is the setting and the views of natures. Restful at night and the pool is quite lovely. The restaurant serves a buffet when full and set menu when not and it tends townards the western menu - you have to aks for Sri Lankan curries

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annee05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews