We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vahine Island - Private Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$901
US$719
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$804/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$1,163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$1,316
StRegis.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$805
US$724
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$1,191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$1,784/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$646
US$620
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$463
US$444
Sofitel
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$499/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$717
US$646
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora(Bora Bora)(Great Value!)
US$224
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$243/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sunset Hill Lodge(Bora Bora)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveller rating
597
36
6
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
597
36
6
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach boyvanilla yogurtoctopusfishfrench polynesiaour honeymoonoverwater bungalowbeach suitebora boracoral gardenseach morninghalf boarddinner menucrystal clear waterpiece of paradisepearl farmhermit crabs
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 647 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2017

It's hard to believe that it's been a month now since our six nights at Vahine Island Resort. Life happens... But I couldn't let it pass without reliving the fond memories of our stay there. It might be enough to just say that my wife was continually pinching her arm to assure herself she wasn't dreaming. Because Vahine Island truly is a paradise: exotic South Pacific isle setting, charming, wonderfully detailed and comfortably furnished bungalows, each with an amazing view, ever-changing colors of the lagoon, Bora Bora in the distance, mind-blowing delicious dinners.... It's hard to imagine a better paradise.

But it takes more than the setting, comfort, and amazing food to create the experience at Vahine Island. So we give our heartfelt thanks to Pierre and Elizabeth for their thoughtful assembly and management of such a wonderful staff, and the wisdom of allowing them to be who they are. I can't remember that we've ever been so warmly welcomed, and treated as if we were part of a family (to the point of being addressed as auntie and uncle even). Special thanks to Landry, Mata, Roi, Maima, and Vivi, who each touched our hearts with their authenticity, hospitality, generosity, humor, and the joy and eagerness in sharing their lives and culture. Mauruuru roa to you all, and we hope to see you again some day.

Steve & Corinne

Room Tip: I initially booked a beach bungalow, but with a little help from Landry, was encouraged to reserve a beach suite. Glad we did.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank mgventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vahine-Island, General Manager at Vahine Island - Private Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Dear Steve & Corinne,

Thank you so much for your touching words!
We are glad to read that you enjoyed you "Polynesian Family Time" with us at Vahine. =)
The entire team considered you as part of our family and was pleased to do his best to make your stay as much enjoyable as possible. =)
Please, do not forget us and stay as kind as you are.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you again! =)
Have a lovely week.

Warmest regards,

Elisabeth & Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

This resort it's a place you have to stay once in your life! It's a private resort just with 9 bungalows whose 3 overwater! It's managed by a couple Elisabetta, Italian and Pierre, French and the Master Chef! The cuisine is a good variety of Polynesian taste with some Mediterranean influence: the vanilla yoghurt, home made, is something that we never forget!
We stayed 4 days in the beach bungalow very well equipped and organized where we could see wonderful sunset with a view of BoraBora.
During the day the beach boys organize activities such as snorkeling in the blue coral lagoon, the coco demonstration and the creations with the palms! Roe, one of the beach boy, is from Tahaa and happy to share with you his Polynesian life and culture.
It has been really a remarkable experience that we suggest if you like to live in a true Polynesian style out of the mass of tourists of the bigger and well known islands like BoraBora!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Rosanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vahine-Island, General Manager at Vahine Island - Private Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Carissimissimi Rosanna & A., =)

Grazie mille per questa bellissima recensione!
That was absolutely a pleasure to have you here with us for 4 nights!
I'm glad to read that even if you were not able to dive in Tahaa and Raiatea, you enjoyed your time so much around our island anyway!
Also, having such an nice review from you two, huge worldwide travelers, is such a kind compliment.
Thanks a lot again and hope to see you soon again! =)

Calorosi saluti,

Elisabeth & Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2017

Vahine Island is a privately owned island which can be walked around in about 20 miutes. It lies off the coast of Tahaa island on one of the small corl motus. It has six bungalows on the island and 3 overwater ones in the surrounding lagoon which is only a four feet deep. Food is provided by the restaurant which cooks french cuisine with a tropical slant. There are many activities possible from the hotel including sailing, diving, snorkelling, local tours etc etc. Some of these are complimentary. I would recommend the OW bungalows for the extra expense. Bring shoes that can go into the water for swimming in the lagoon (some coral and sea creatures on the bottom) and for visiting other islands in the boats available for use. It is a stunningly beautiful private island. It is also VERY quiet and very laid back. If you want a concierge, late night bars and to meet lots of people this is not for you. If however you want a luxurious get away from it all, privacy and the feeling like you are almost on your own privte tropical paradise then consider this place.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank karenmoni0982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2017

We spent a week or so in Kauai before coming to French Polynesia. After 2 weeks in the Society Islands and the Tuamotus, the Vahine Island Resort was the most enjoyable of our trip. The service was exceptional, the food was top notch, and our bungalow was superb. The staff were always gracious, and both Elisabeth and Pierre were friendly, efficient and always available. Landry, Moea, Roe, and Thierry were especially helpful.

If you decide to visit Vahine Island Resort (and I strongly recommend that you do) please remember that conventional metrics for rating lodging, amenities and meals are skewed since the resort is quite remote. Interruptions in Internet accessibility, availability of selected food and drink items, vagaries of air conditioning, the presence of mosquitoes and so forth are, for the most part, beyond the control of management. What seems remarkable to me is that the owner, hosts, and staff of Vahine Island Resort are able to offer such a wonderful experience in spite of the manifold challenges they face.

A final word regarding the meals. Simply put, the food was outstanding. Not just by French Polynesia standards, but by any criteria you might want to employ. Indeed, the meals would be considered excellent at restaurants in Los Angeles, Paris, New York, or Madrid. Pierre is a gifted chef and his food, combined with the location and ambience, were memorable!

Room Tip: Overwater bungalows are great, as are the garden bungalows.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank JBandGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vahine-Island, General Manager at Vahine Island - Private Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Our dear J&G =)

Thank you so much for your kind words!
We are so glad to read that Vahine Island was actually your best stop in our beautiful polynesian islands.
You were so kind with everyone here that we would have loved to have you more than 4 days with us!
Yes the wifi connection can be unfortunately spotty at some point in the island especially due to the weather conditions and being in the furthest bungalow from the office does not help neither. =) So we kept an Ethernet cable on each bungalow just to make sure that if some of our guests really need to work from here, we can borrow a computer and they can have a faster internet connection.

And we are so sorry for the mosquitos! It is usually one of our strongest assets to not have them at all in the entire island. We should have retreated while you were here. You must have such a sweet blood G. =)
Thank you so much J&G for your kind understanding and we are pleased to read that despite these small points, your stay with us was still your best stay in French Polynesia.

Please accept our warmest regards and we do hope to see you soon! =)
Have a lovely week and thanks again for your wonderful review.

Elisabeth & Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile

Vahine Island resort is certainly one of the most beautiful and better managed boutique hotels where we ever stayed. The location is second to none, set in lush and tranquil tropical gardens surrounded by an amazing lagoon with sunset vistas over Bora Bora from all rooms: paradise!
Rooms are wonderfully appointed in local style, have all necessary comforts, yet they feel individual and homey. Staff is magnificent, service and food impeccable.
Possibly the only area for improvement might be a more informal approach to dinners: food is delicious but possibly too sophisticated for the spirit of the island both in terms of preparation and service.
Said that this is truly a wonderful place, where magnificent nature and impeccable service come together.
Two things to be aware of: do not expect a pool: the lagoon is -:)! No TV and slow internet: a true joy when you consider where you are and just pause from daily routines to admire the most beautiful context of this resort - Tahaa is simply a pearl!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
7  Thank Marcovojage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews