We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Beloved Playa Mujeres(Playa Mujeres)
US$432
Beloved Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Finest Playa Mujeres(Playa Mujeres)
US$326
Finest Resorts
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa(Playa Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$122
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$356
US$270
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$376
US$342
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$47
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$41
US$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Reviews (13,608)
Filter reviews
13,608 results
Traveller rating
11,357
1,596
406
152
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11,357
1,596
406
152
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmartini barchez isabelleflavor marketlobsterthe grillsol barrooftop terraceour honeymoonmain poolcarolina pazcafe kafeec poolnon ecroom servicefrench restaurantbuilding conciergeswim up room
Filter
Updating list...
1,192 - 1,197 of 13,608 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2017

The hotel wear nicely his name, what an Excellent place to be.

We have been at Excellence Playa Mujeres for a beautiful 10 days from November 21 to December 1st and it was excellent like always.

We renew with our friends from other visits and made some new one.

All the staff his so kind at this hotel we never saw that elsewhere.

The property is always so clean and I'm kind of fussy for that.

Special thanks to all our friends who take care of us so kindly like each time:

Guendoline Flores, our concierge building 7, who took great care of us, thanks again :)

Gloria at Aroma, for our nice smile and her great service

Lorena at Toscana for dinner, what a wonderful person

Adonay at the Grill at dinner, we visit him three times, he always do a great job

Lizette, Shelby and Fany at Toscana for breakfast and lunch, what a pleasure to be seated by those great girls day after day, we love them so much.

It was sad that be could not see our little doll Jacqueline each day because she's now a new concierge at building 8 but we stop each time we could to go talk to here and see her great smile

Also a great thanks to all our new friends we made this time:

Carlos at the Pizza for dinner, what a great guy and he gave us a great service

Thanks to Baez, Emiliano at the pool and also our new friend Néri, what a great woman, she never never stop and always give us great attention

At Toscana for breakfast and lunch we meet Eric, he was new for lease then 2 weeks, the people who hired him did a great thing, long life to you Eric at Excellence

At the Prelude bar, what a great woman we met there, Lucia was great with us each night and also had a great smile, don't forget the recipe for an Excellence café Lucia for next marsh lol

We choose to be at Spice restaurant for our last night, well it was paradise, thanks to each of you who made this last night so special for us, Iris took great care of us, we had the chance to meet with the Chef and his assistant. What to say about the Manager, Heriberto, Wow what a great gentleman who took care of every of our needs.

Finally, a special thanks to Carolina Paz and Nelson Calixto for all there great attentions, we love you guys and look forward to see you next March

It was also a pleasure meeting Lorenza for the fist time, keep up the good work.

Hope we don't forget no one.

Thanks again to each of you for making this trip the best.

Sincerely,

Julie Daigneault and André Chartier xxx

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chatonne21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2017

This place was amazing in every way shape and form. I could not have asked for anything more. Easily the best staff at any hotel I have ever been to. This would have been a great vacation spot anyway but they went above and beyond for our honeymoon. I would recommend it to anyone at anytime of the year!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank yoshi43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2017

Lots of great things to say about the Excellence, Playa Mujeres. We were there from 11/4/17-11/16/17 for our honeymoon. We had previously stayed at the Excellence Riviera Maya 5 years ago and heard this one was even better so figured we would try it out. It was nothing short of spectacular, from the moment you walked in until the last minute you are there.

We did a lot of research on the resort prior to booking and then once we did book we looked through countless TA reviews as well as joined the Facebook group for Excellence lovers.
Since we know many others do their homework based off reviews, here is our two cents (well maybe 10 cents, happy reading):
EC vs Non EC
- We did EC solely for the fact that it was our honeymoon and we decided to splurge. We’re beach people so we quickly realized on Day 1 that EC was worth it just based on the beach beds. The other amenities were great as well but it was the staff that really stood out.
- The EC beach/pool staff was tremendous especially Alan, Diego, Erick, and Juliana. By the end of our trip we were tearing up saying goodbye to them. We really enjoyed getting to know them and sharing our special time with them for almost 2 weeks. Our beach beds were always freshly made and drinks never went empty!
- We really enjoyed the EC lounge though as a place to stop and grab a quick drink or snack. We also loved getting to know Pedro in the EC lounge, he was such a doll and really went above and beyond to make our stay feel special by sending wine & cheese to the room.
- Roberto in the EC concierge was fantastic; he literally called each day to check on us. Where else can you get type of service?
- We were in room 7418 and loved it! Had requested a higher floor with privacy and we sure got it! Absolutely fantastic!
Meals
- Can’t find one thing to complain about here. The food was fantastic and the variety was abundant! You certainly will never go hungry.
- We did almost every breakfast at the buffet in Toscana (and never got bored!). Special mention to Fanny, Sheligh, & Lizeth for such a warm greeting every day. Such sweet girls. Wishing Fanny good luck in her promotion at the resort; so deserved. They are all such hard workers.
- We did many lunches at the Grill. Nice to sit outside and there were plenty of choices. Really loved the onion rings! Special thanks to Wilberth for taking care of us many of the days we were there! We also did a lot of the daily beach lunches which were great too esp. the Rock & Burger and BBQ day, yum!
- We went to almost every restaurant for dinner with the exception of Basmati, The Lobster Hose & Barcelona; just not our style (we aren’t seafood people).
- Agave was okay but not one of our favorites. Certainly authentic Mexican cuisine so if you like that then this is the place for you.
- Chez Isabella: one of our favorites, we went 2x! We went once with a group of people we met there, service was great even with a party of 6. The French Onion Soup & Filet are out of this world! Special thanks to Cesar for hosting us on our last night and making it so special with a decorated table, special dessert, etc!
- Flavor Market: We were a bit hesitant to try this but ended up LOVING it. The garlic mushrooms were insanely good! Super cute but small restaurant. We were one of the only couples in there when we went.
- Spice: Another restaurant we were bit a hesitant on since it’s Asian cuisine and you are in Mexico. Again, we were pleasantly surprised! So much in fact that we went 2x! The first time we just ate in the regular part of the restaurant. Thanks to Mauri & Carlos for taking such great care of us. The 2nd time we went to the hibachi dinner. Note that you must make reservations for this at the concierge the day you want to go (recommend booking right at 9am). This was a fun experience and the food was great.
- Toscana: We kind of lived in Toscana and loved it! We had almost all of our breakfasts there as mentioned earlier. The buffet is huge and there is something for everyone. We did have lunch there once and again, great selection. We also went there 2x for dinner and loved it! Thanks to Luis who took care of us on of our last night’s there. If you are GF, they have a nice selection to choose from with GF pasta (this was great for me as I have a gluten sensitivity).
- Sports bar: This is a fun place to hang and grab a casual bite. We spent a couple nights there watching football and just hanging out. The onion rings and mozzarella sticks were awesome! I would NOT recommend the pizza- it was essentially just pita bread with some toppings, nothing special.
- Las Olas: This is a great place to grab their oven made pizzas for lunch. GF crust available which was nice. We did this a few times and it was great to have by the pool or beach.
- Aroma: Great place to grab coffee and pastry. We stopped in a few mornings and afternoons to get some delish treats! Pretty sure we gained 10 lbs each just from this place, totally worth it!
- Room Service: We had room service dinner our first night as we were tired from travel and it was great! Arrived promptly, hot and was good. We also had a honeymoon breakfast one morning which was lovely as well. No complaints here!
Activities: Spa, Gym, Excursions, Entertainment, etc
- We went to the spa 2x and loved it! We did a couples massage and then a “look inside” ritual that came as part of our honeymoon package. We got the hydrotherapy before each session and enjoyed it. If you have never done it before, it’s quite the experience. Thank you to Alphonso, Gabriella & Norma for taking care of us and helping us relax & unwind!
- Gym: One of the best hotel gyms we’ve seen. Tons of new, clean equipment. Waters and cool towels on hand. Never anyone there! We didn’t do them but they do have classes available as well.
- Entertainment: each night is something different. We loved the Casino Nights, Burlesque show, Pop show, the acoustic night with Claudia, Mexican night just to name a few! We were there for 12 nights and never saw the same thing 2x! Special shout out to Hugo at Mexican night for taking care of us. And Francisco the entertainer to keep things fun!
- Mixology class: we decided to take the mixology class one afternoon and it was so neat! Not included with your AI but only $25 per person. Really neat to learn how to make drinks from unique things and the 3 gentlemen who taught the class were so fun, unfortunately we don’t recall their names.
- Bike Tour: We took the bike tour with Hector the Connector one afternoon and it was a lot of fun. No charge, this is part of your AI activities. Neat to see some parrots and also the view from the top of a tower. I will recommend not doing this if it’s your first time on a bike after 15 years, unless you want to provide pure comedy for the rest of the group….
- Excursion: the only time we left the resort was to go to Isla Mujeres. We decided to utilize the Catamaran Tour through the hotel for this. This seemed like a n easy and safe way to go and it was neat as you got a boat ride and snorkeling as well. This was done through Cancun Sailing and it was great! The staff was awesome and so fun & lively! You leave the resort around 9am and return about 4:30pm. $80 pp gets you the boat ride over to the Island, unlimited drinks and 45 mins of snorkeling. Well worth it for us. Once on the island we rented 2 golf carts (we went with 2 other couples). This was a neat way to see the island but a bit scary as you are driving on the same roads as cars. We drove around the whole island in about an hour then stopped for lunch at a cute café. Can’t go wrong with any restaurant on the island it seems. After fueling up for lunch we stopped at North Beach which was beautiful! Then did some souvenir shopping; quite the experience. Certainly barter where you can, worked for us!
- Transportation: We used Kalido Transportation with Liam Dodd. Came highly recommended through the Facebook page and we would agree. Great prices, friendly drivers and easy to use.
All in all, we loved every second of the 12 days we were there and can’t wait to go back (hopefully next year!).

Room Tip: Room 7418 was great for privacy and got good afternoon sun!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank jackiepiscatelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2017

Absolutely phenomenal! This resort is THE place for an adult who has worked hard, deserves to be pampered or wants to celebrate an accomplishment or milestone. If ever you wanted to spend money were there is absolute guarantee this is the place. Our family(4) consisting of my wife and parents travelled here in November 2016 for 10 days. We paid to be in the ungraded Excellence Club and all feel it was worth every dollar spent wisely. To begin with the food in all restaurants is fabulous(especially the Indian and French). The suites were memorable in every way imaginable with the upgraded amenities. The resort and service just cannot be duplicated. I now understand the sentiments of those I observed upon arrival at check-in at the Excellence Club. One couple had just enjoyed their fourteenth stay and were booking their fifteenth stay in 2017. My mother had observed a mature female cry at the end of her stay cry and state she had never been treated so well in her life before. My own mother has vowed to return with or without my wife and I with my father before she dies and my father who does not like to spend big does not object. It is too many positives to list and my words would be repetitive. Fabulous and most of all EXCELLENT in every way.

Room Tip: Upgrade and pamper yourself to the Excellence Club. Do not travel for less than 10 days at the Excellence chain to fully experience all.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EbonyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2017

Wild Parties? None
Activities: Plenty, varied, fun
Room: Enormous, very clean, new looking
Safe in Room: Yes
Clothes Steamer in Room: Yes
Privacy within the room: None (glass door to water closet)
Pillows: plenty, more if you ask for them
Bed: super comfortable
Alcohol: the fridge is full of it, plus several full bottles of liquor
Snacks/Candy: in the fridge
Excellence Club: worth it!
Can’t afford the club: Excellence Club + fewer days!
Ocean Front Room: worth it, beautiful
Roof Top: Nice view, but we didn’t use it much.
Queen-size Beach Palapa Bed: Paradise perfectly shaded. Stake your claim by 9 AM
Leave your palapa for more than an hour: find your stuff in lost and found
Sand: very fine, always clean
Water: Clear, clean and wonderful
Sea Weed: not a problem, raked by tractor every morning.
Walking along the beach: able to go a long distance to the North
Best Beach Concierge: Ignacio (Club Exclusive Beach, South Side)
Best Beach Service: Juliana (Club Exclusive Beach, South Side)
Dress codes for meals: strictly enforced
Breakfast and Lunch: no hats, no tank tops, nothing sleeveless.
Dinner: long pants, capris, skirt, blouse, shoes or elegant sandals.
Tip? Yes. These people work hard!
Beach concierge: 200 pesos the first day, then 100 pesos per day
Beach service: 100 pesos per day OR 5 pesos per drink at the bar
Luggage service: 50 pesos
Waiter: 50 pesos per meal
Best Breakfast: Lobster House with Eder
Worst Breakfast: Buffet at Toscana
Best Cappuccino/Latte and Ice Cream: Aroma
Best Lunch: The Grill with Marco
Best Dinner: Spice (Asian)
Worst Dinner: Agave (Mexican)
Best Bartender: David at Cielo
Nightly Entertainment: Not fantastic. About 9:30 all was quiet (perfect for us!)

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews