We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
50
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsextensive groundspatrickchateaupropertygeesefurniturecentury
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 55 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2015

What a wonderful experience we have had. Chateau de Canisy with all it's history, beauty and first class service was amazing. Highly recommended. We enjoyed walking and cycling in the grounds, archery and a delicious dinner all smoothly orchestrated by our host gardien. We are now looking forward to our return visit....

Room Tip: Each room has it's own character but looking over the lake is beautifully peaceful
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2015

We recently stayed 4 nights at Chateau de Canisy and it was an amazing experience! If you are looking for a hotel with all the amenities of a large hotel (pool, gym, 24hr room service), this is NOT for you. However, if you need a respite from life for a few days or a very special getaway, this is the perfect spot. To be clear, you are staying at a family's home (ok, so it has 40 bedrooms). However, once you get over the awe of staying in a huge chateau, of the grounds, the lakes (complete with black and white swans), the serenity, the amazingly perfectly detailed period bedrooms and the fact you are staying in a home that dates back some 900 years, you are then greeted by the most charming, helpful and friendly staff. Patrick and his team truly make you feel at home, always gracious, caring, always there when you need them to be. They are the friendliest group you will ever meet! Take the opportunity to have them prepare a private dinner for you, it is an experience you will never forget, and Marguerite prepares an outstanding simple french breakfast with the best eggs you have ever had! I can't say enough great things about our experience.

Room Tip: some rooms overlook the lake, but all have beautiful views of the grounds
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2015

Although we were only there for one night, my wife and I had a fantastic time at the Chateau. The staff was incredibly nice and shared much of the history of the property and it's owners. The grounds are huge and great for walking around - much more than you could explore in several days on foot.

Highly recommend the package that includes the meal - we ended up dining with two other couples and had a fantastic four-course meal plus after-dinner drinks. If you're in the Normandy area and looking for an incredibly experience, we highly recommend the Chateau.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCF85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2015

A beautiful aged chateau with a massive estate – a real classic piece of art. It is of course suffering from some of the downsides of an aged building, but you can’t have the cake and eat it… The common rooms (music room, dining room etc.) are majestic and the bed rooms are charming and authentic (could use a minor renovation) with a modern bathroom.
The grounds are vast, containing three ponds and a farm. You can (and should) spend a day walking around the estate.
The atmosphere is friendly and family-like. Patrick is helpful, kind, and goes out of his way in assisting guests. In-house dining is fine, especially the setting.
While visiting the Chateau, don’t make big plans to travel around. Distances are not short, and you’ll spend much time on the road. It is better to pick a handful of “must-see” destinations (such as Mont Saint-Michel) and then spend most of your time in and around the chateau – including walking in the little villages, along creeks, in meadows, amongst farms and forests…

Room Tip: With a pond-view
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2015

Staying in the castle was an amazing experience for the adults and our kids (aged 10 and 8). The things we loved best were
-the whole dining experience (the delicious 4 courses & amazing vegetarian course for one of us, the aperitifs, the grand surroundings in the dining room, the breakfast with a special mention for the pancakes
- staying in a real French castle had an other worldly feeling, like something out of a James Bond or Disney movie
- everything in the grounds of the castle (the horses, pigs, deer, peacocks, swans, geese and ducks), the lakes, the well, water fountain and the gardens
We highly recommend it and the welcome we got from Patrick and Reginald.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews