We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Swarup
Bangalore District, India

Awesome place to relax, unwind and enjoy nature with a scenic view

Review of Camellia
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 7, 2019
We've always stayed in resorts for family outings and enjoyed it. Camellia just came in as a reference and we were not sure whether to choose this place. We had never stayed in home stays prior to this and hence was not sure and did not want to spoil the family time.

I must say the decision to opt Camellia was absolutely worth every penny spent. Definitely a place to visit with family and friends.

To begin with, the property is located in the midst of the plantation and away from all the hustle and bustle of everyday life. it is just you and nature all along. Beautiful scenic view and greenery everywhere, a terrific view of Chembra peak and a awesome place to just relax and unwind yourself. It is quite safe even though it is a lil isolated. there was Krishnan who takes care of the property and Pathros a terrific cook.

It was my first conversation with Mr. Sajan which prompted me to make my decision and opt this place for my family vacation. Mr. Sajan, the host and caretaker of this property; he is a Fantastic host, very helpful and supportive to all our needs. Property is well maintained. Inside the villa it is clean and hygiene, rooms, bathrooms, dining, terrace, living room and well maintained.

The best part was my 2 girls (9 and 7) years enjoyed the most. Of all the resorts we have visited they love Camellia the most and just did not want to leave the place.

Food was very delicious, prepared to our needs and served hot always. We are vegetarians and Pathros served us awesome south indian dishes prepared with most of the veggies, spices etc from within the plantation. We all enjoyed and especially my kids loved all the meals and big Thumbs-Up to Pathros.

Overall a must visit place for a family outing. Awesome experience. Kudos to the Camellia team
Date of stay: September 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
indyguy76, Manager at Camellia, responded to this review
Responded Oct 13, 2019
hello swarup

thanx for taking time to write this review , reviews like these definitely will help more people to understand about camellia better , and we are glad to note that you did had a wonderful time .
glad that you chose to stay with us since this was your first experience in a home stay ( serviced villa ).
please come back again
kind regards
team camellia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$174
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$163
  • Agoda.com
    C$155
  • Hotels.com
    C$186
8.8 km from Camellia
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$53
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    C$53
  • Agoda.com
    C$41
  • Vio.com
    C$43
0.4 km from Camellia
Free parking
Restaurant
C$82
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$82
  • Hotels.com
    C$65
  • Trip.com
    C$74
1.3 km from Camellia
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$59
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$59
  • Agoda.com
    C$59
1.1 km from Camellia
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$80
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$79
  • Agoda.com
    C$58
  • Priceline
    C$73
2.8 km from Camellia
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$41
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Vio.com
    C$28
  • Agoda.com
    C$27
  • ZenHotels.com
3.1 km from Camellia
Free parking
Restaurant
C$96
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$85
  • Agoda.com
    C$78
  • Booking.com
    C$107
5.4 km from Camellia
Free parking
Room service
C$86
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    C$86
  • Hotels.com
    C$77
  • Booking.com
    C$89
13.5 km from Camellia
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$66
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    C$66
  • eDreams
    C$66
11.3 km from Camellia
Free Wifi
Free parking
Balcony
C$34
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    C$34
  • Agoda.com
    C$27
  • Trip.com
    C$38
4.3 km from Camellia
View more hotels in Kalpetta
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
17
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird watchers beautiful property view from the balcony stayed here home away from home chembra peak home stay krishna caretaker villa host estate midst mr waynad homestay hospitality
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 17 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2019

Mind Boggling and mesmirzing location .Host Sajan and Sheff Patros was amazing .Will will love to come again and spend some quality time .Wayinadu is amazing place with lot of amazing place to visit .

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ksa1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
indyguy76, Manager at Camellia, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2019

Thank you sir , glad to note that you and your family liked our place and the food , yes indeed it's an ideal place to relax and unwind . Please do visit us again !!
Team camellia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2019

Camellia is a beautiful property in Wayanad, which is a very quiet destination in Kerala if you are looking for a short break. This property is well maintained and gives a very vintage feel and doesn’t look like a hotel room. I stayed here for 3 days with my family and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The staff here is extremely warm and takes care of all your needs. We were really spoilt for choices when it came to food. Delicious and hot food served each time and served with a smile.
The property is huge and is spread over 3 acres of land covered with beautiful trees and flowers. The view from this property is amazing.We enjoyed our time more at the property than when we went out to do some touristy things!
A special mention and shout out to Sajan who manages the property really well and made sure everything was well taken care of. He handled all of that behind the scene. Thank you Sajan for your hospitality!
In all we had a very peaceful and relaxed holiday with great food, amazing staff and a place which was serene and beautiful.
Camellia is the ideal place to be in if you are looking for a home away from home!!!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arunanairpune
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
indyguy76, Manager at Camellia, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2019

Thank you Aruna , glad to note that your family enjoyed the stay with us , and i must say hats off to you guys driving all the way from Pune , hope to see you all again .
Warm regards
Team camellia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2018 via mobile

One of the best homestays I've been to. To begin with, the place is amazing. It is located in a very secluded place, away from all the traffic and pollution. The view from the balcony is out of this world. (I've attached a pic)
The place was maintained exceptionally well. The staff was very proactive and made our stay very comfortable.
Last but not the least, Sajan played an amazing host. He visited us during the stay to ensure that our stay was nothing but the best.
Had a very memorable time. Hope to visit soon again.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank varunsimha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
indyguy76, Owner at Camellia, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2019

Thanx Varun for staying with us , glad to note you and your friends throughly enjoyed your stay with us , you guys really made the best use of our balcony which overlooks the chembra peak , please do visit us again
Warm regards
Team camellia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2018 via mobile

My friends & I visited this beautiful homestay in nov for 2 nights. The homestay is nested between hills & is wonderfully peaceful. If you love nature, this is an idyllic location as there’s beautiful greenery all around. Upon arrival, we were warmly welcomed by the host, Mr.Sajan- a fine gentleman, very down to earth person and will take care of your each n every need. He even went out of his way to help us make arrangements for our travel around the area.
The home-cooked meals were terrific (hearty made from home grown veggies)
The rooms were neat, well maintained,spacious n just as comfy as home.
I highly recommend this homestay. Thanks to Mr. Sajan & his team, who does great job here; a true example of excellent hospitality!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 23-Ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
indyguy76, Guest Relations Manager at Camellia, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2018

Thank you for taking time off to write the feed back , glad to note that you and your friends throughly enjoyed your stay at camellia.
We are great full that we have very good hands in the kitchen , Krishnan loves to cook the local delicacies and is overjoyed to learn when our guests love the food .
Please visit us again
Team camellia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2018 via mobile

I stayed here with my family and another couple.the homestay has an amazing view and is a perfect getaway from city life.the calm and green surroundings add to the charm of this beautiful little house.the host,Mr Sajan is extremely courteous and knowledgeable.the food was very tasty and the rooms were spacious and clean.i would recommend it to anyone traveling with small children as well,as it is safe and the staff is very helpful.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Raksha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
indyguy76, Guest Relations Manager at Camellia, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2018

Thank you for taking time off to write the feedback . We are glad to note that your family liked our place very much , yes since it is nestled on top of a small hill and surround by the coffee plantation it is very quiet .
Please visit us again
Warm regards
Team camellia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews