We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, clean and hospitable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainbow Holiday Home
Chennai
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Spacious, clean and hospitable”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We (a family of 2 adults and 2 children; the older one is 13yrs) stayed here for 4 nights during the Christmas vacation and it was perfect. We got a cottage on the 1st floor facing the mountains. The lush greenery around, the view, peaceful surroundings coupled with the great weather during winter made it just perfect. The morning tea seemed liked elixir in the winter chill and the scenery around.

Room: Very Spacious & clean. Had a bed room along with a living room which had a sofa-bed). The storage space was good. Toiletries and others items are provided as requested. No complains.

Food: We are south indian vegetarians from Chennai and the host (the livingstons) took special care to ensure they served the choicest dinner & breakfast mixing traditional south indian meal with local Kerala cuisine. Note, if u r vegetarian then the food options in these parts are limited. Some folks traveling from cities in India will not find the traditional Udipi kind of hotels for a quick snack. So go mentally prepared.

Service: This is where the host along with their son Robin (who was visiting them) score. We are not very finicky when we travel (its not going to be exactly home) but the hosts were courteous and very warm. They truly believe service makes all the difference and sometimes it can make all the difference. They organized a good ayurvedic massage for us at short notice in a local clinic.

Location: The homestay is walking distance from the main road at Kalpetta yet away from the hustle and bustle. Once u enter the homestay u can hardly tell that one is so close to town. Distances from this place to other attractions across is wayanad is not far (i would draw a 40km or so radius) in which u can cover almost all attraction. I had organized a Tavera for 5 days with the help of the livingstons and worked well.

Cost: Very reasonable.

Improvements: Extending Wifi to the rooms will help. Having a closer tie-up with a travel agent to help organize local travel will help.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AminaRai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    17
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
24
27
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur, malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

To anyone looking for a getaway in the highlands of Wayanad, the ideal base would be Rainbow Holiday Home. I just spent a stretch from 28th Dec 2011 to 3rd Jan 2012 there and would love to be there again.

Not just for the lovely Kerala food and the very good climate of cool mornings and nights, but also for the central location of this homestay. I covered quite a lot of sights in the district, and made a trip to Mysore too. It was smooth, on time and in sync with your holiday mood.

Mr Livingston, who owns and runs the place, will be happy to make the arrangements for your sightseeing. He arranged my transport and guide, and pointed out sights not to be missed.

Coming back to the food, it was delicious, traditional and very generous in its servings. Mrs Livingston takes the credits for this, a great cook to have on your side, when you want to sample what a land has to offer.

It was memorable, with other guests chatting with you in the mornings and evening, in between their programme for the day. It felt like having a holiday with close friends and family. Definitely going again!

Solomon Morais
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Room Tip: the room i had was spacious and well divided into sleeping and relaxing areas. i think the other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mansolo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

In fact I changed my tour plan from Kannur to Wayanad due to some unforeseen development. By that time, all the rooms were booked in Wayanad. At last I got the number of Rainbow Holiday Home throgh one of the contacts.

I put my stay in sum.

Location : The main attraction. Way out of city cramp but yet the city
centre is within walkable distance.

Hospitality : Excellent

Accommodation : Room is spacious but little more care to be given for cleanliness
(though we have to shift from ground to first floor. As per the
host, the first floor was more luxurious. I failed to understand
why. The wash room doesn't have the hangers as in the
ground floor.)

Ambience : Calm & serene

Food : Good. Accommodation was negotiated with breakfast. Charged
nominal for bed /morning / evening tea / coffee

Linen : Needs improvement

Wash rooms : Good

Hosts : Friendly, understanding.

Score : 5.5/10

Remarks : No hesitation to recommend to my friends / relatives.

Thank you & Mrs. Livingston for making our stay as comfortable as you can.

Good Luck!!

Prakash Govindapuram

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGPURAM2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We had a very pleasant and peaceful stay at the Rainbow Holiday Home. All the reviews and feedbacks are true to their core. Mr. and Mrs. Livingston were very cooperative towards all our requirements. The place is neat, situated at a very calm location still accessible being at heart of the town. Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATraveller_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I was little skeptical about then place when I read all and only positive reviews in Tripadvisor. But once I reached there and saw the place I understood why people wrote only nice things about this place. It is simply because this place is so incredibly good. I had my reservations only till I opened the doors of the White Cottage. This holiday home is much more than any other Holiday home I have visited.
All rooms are suites. Simple yet aesthetically done up interiors, comfortable bed, clean linen, neat bathroom, it was completely satisfying. It has a very homely feeling to it. The rooms make you feel like you have gone to your friend's or family's place for a stay over. Wide windows across the bed from White Cottage has a stunning view of the hills. There is ample lighting because of the large windows and it is lovely to just draw your curtains and take in the beautiful landscape. There is a living room with a couch which converts into a bed, a TV, a dining table. You will not miss to notice the tiger head on the living room wall, the interesting thing about it is that it is a lamp shade, switch it on to see the glowing tiger head :-) I totally loved it.
The bedroom has large windows, comfortable cane chairs, a dressing table, comfortable bed with side tables and Victorian bedside lamps. Though I have problems using blankets in most of the places, the blankets here looked neat and usable. There are lot of shelves and wood work in the room which makes you feel at home. The bathroom is simple and clean. There is no dry and wet area separation, but it is good enough. The bathroom fittings are all Jaguar and there is lot of attention given to details like these. There are no major compromises made in the way the room is designed, there is ample lighting, several sockets, lots of storage space which is much more than what is required. These are not such big things, but they matter when you see it in such small places. Probably I went with less expectations and I found all these really impressive. There has been some effort taken in the design, creation and maintenance of this place and it definitely shows.
The owners are extremely friendly, very hospitable and really generous. We were a very noisy and loud group of friends, but they were really cool with it. They arranged a bonfire for us. The food was simple home made food. Awesome timely service of everything. They accommodated all the requests we made. Robin was really helpful and kind. The place is very close to the town, there is a 100 meter stretch of road which is bad, otherwise the approach is good. There is enough place to park 4-5 cars and an exclusive place for bonfire. The food was always arranged on time, though you need to let them know in advance if you are planning to eat there. There are restaurants close by and Robin also helped us to get us food from outside. All in all, a superb stay and we enjoyed it to the fullest!

Room Tip: View is best from White Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starryclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I just love this place. It was just perfect. Clean, maintained, with excellent veg food and great arrangement for site seeing. Also its really makes lot sense for couples as well. Instead of spending big bucks in 5* hotesls, its worth staying here. The place is just perfect. facing forest and city at a time.

Special Thanks to Mr Robin who help us for every thing we need. Who arranged bus tickets dropped back to busstop etc :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunilsbjoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Date: 17/5/11

We booked this Holiday home for our weeklong stay in Wayanad based on the reviews given in Trip Advisor.

It is the perceptive and friendly service that makes it worthwhile staying in the Rainbow Holiday Home. Mr. & Mrs. Livingston and Mr. Robin (son of Mr. Livingston) are social at just the right level and they go to great length to make us feel at home. The room we had was spacious and pretty and very clean, particularly the breakfast and dinner prepared by Mrs. Livingston was so good.
Here, definitely, i need to tell about Mr. Robin. We are very much surprised seeing his extrodinary service. Thank you Robin.
Rainbow Holiday Home is a place you would definitely come back to and recommend to your friends. Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mercyraja76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpetta
15.4 km away
Wayanad Blooms
Wayanad Blooms
#1 of 3 in Kenichira
410 reviews
1.0 km away
Wyndvalley Garden Resort
Wyndvalley Garden Resort
#14 of 23 in Kalpetta
42 reviews
14.0 km away
Wayanad Silverwoods
Wayanad Silverwoods
#1 of 23 in Kalpetta
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Green Gates
Green Gates
#7 of 23 in Kalpetta
222 reviews
0.1 km away
Summer Villa Homestay Wayanad
1.5 km away
Olives Homestay
Olives Homestay
#2 of 82 in Kalpetta
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Holiday Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Holiday Home

Property: Rainbow Holiday Home
Address: Old Market Road, (Opp Post Office), Kalpetta 673121, India
Region: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RAINBOW provides the picture perfect backdrop of WAYANAD heightened by the soothing flow of nature, interspersed with myriad songs of the birds in harmony, whistling winds and whispering palms.. Rainbow Holiday Home located in the place of scenic beauty - Wayanad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rainbow Holiday Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Holiday Home Kalpetta, India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing