We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
drjagathlal
Kochi (Cochin), India

Closest stay to the reservoir

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 28, 2018via mobile
Banasura sagar is a reservoir constructed for power and irrigation. Though it is full brim in monsoon, it is beautiful even in summer with dried tree tops emerging from the reservoir.
The island resort is the closest with excellent views of reservoir from all cottages. Birds nest in the nearby trees and ot is fin watching them play.
You can swim in the infinity pool. The food is homely though with a limited menu and you can always order ala carte.
The staff is friendly and will help for campfire music sustem amplifier karoake etc. The courtyard is large where there is place even to play rubberball cricket and badminton.
The dam site is a few kms away with boating facilities.
You will leave this place with many sweet memories.
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager B, General Manager at Banasura Island Resort, responded to this review
Responded May 29, 2018
Dear Dr Jagathlal,

Greetings of the day !!!!

It was indeed our great privilege having got a chance to serve you during your visit to wayanad last week. Glad to know that you are satisfied with our facilities and services. Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about of property. Efforts like this from our valued customers will go a long way in helping us to improve ourselves to serve you better.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$86
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
5.3 km from Banasura Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$73
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    C$73
9.5 km from Banasura Island Resort
Free parking
Restaurant
C$174
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$163
  • Agoda.com
    C$155
  • Priceline
25.0 km from Banasura Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$96
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$96
18.8 km from Banasura Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$85
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
16.5 km from Banasura Island Resort
Free parking
Room service
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Prestigia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
3.6 km from Banasura Island Resort
Free parking
Pool
Greenex Farms -Petunia bedroom
  • eDreams
13.9 km from Banasura Island Resort
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
16.4 km from Banasura Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$80
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
16.8 km from Banasura Island Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kalpetta
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
65
43
22
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
65
43
22
6
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 146 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2018

Pros: 1. The resort is very quiet as they do not have many rooms here.
2. The balcony view over-looking the banasura dam and the forest is too good.
Cons: 1. The service could have been better.
2. The intercom does not work and you have to go to restaurant/reception for small things.
2. The last 2 km towards the resort does not have road and you have to drive through forest.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank KaranS454
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager B, General Manager at Banasura Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2018

Dear Mr Karan,

Greetings of the day !!!!

Thank you very much for sparing time to write a honest feedback about our property. Glad to know that you are satisfied with our services.
Reviews like this will help us in a long way to improve ourselves and serve you better next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2018

I used to opt for Vythiri Resort or Silverwoods whenever I plan a trip to Wayanad. But this time as it was a last minute decision, we couldn't get reservation. So while searching the net, we came across this resort. I was really sceptical about the quality of the property, but we don't any other choice and decided to take a risk !!!. We called up the hotel directly and booked. When we arrive at the resort in the late evening, my wife was compelling me to go back as it was total darkness and no views. I somehow convinced her and kids and we completed the formalities occupied the room. It was their basic category room with a balcony. Facilities were basic and we felt like little over priced. We had dinner in the restaurant but food was below average. Next morning we woke up, it was totally a different story. My wife woke me up and showed me the view from balcony. It was really awesome.. It was more than enough for a very good start for a good day. The breakfast buffet was really good and the staff, may be not well trained, but really helping and pleasing always. We went to the reception and was welcomed by the smiling faces of the GM and his collegues. They have guided us very well for sight seeing options. We booked for one night and extended our stay for two more nights only because of the standard of service. They may have many cons, but they compensated everything with top notch service. GM RK Menon and his team had made our stay a memorable. It is quite rightly said, everything in this world happens for a good reason, and we have experienced the same. If we had got booking at Vythiri resort or silverwoods, we would have never come at Banasura and will really miss an experience for life.We have seen many bad reviews, but we feel that it might have put by their rival resorts.

Room tip: Deluxe rooms with balcony are really good and give you a wonderful view
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank seemalabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager B, General Manager at Banasura Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2018

Dear Sir,

Greetings of the day !!!

Thank you very much for sparing your valuable for writing an elaborate review about our property. It gives us immense pleasure when our efforts are appreciated by guests. Really thrilled to know that you have really enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyed the view of the dam from the infinity pool. Food is also excellent. Highly recommend this resort to anyone who wants to spend a couple of days close to nature. Good bang for the buck as well.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank DGeorge_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 2, 2018

I have stayed here for a night from 2017 October 21st Noon to 2017 October 22nd Noon along with family in the twin cottage. The location and individual cottages are really good and wonderful.

But the quality of service from their side is too bad. We have been waited nearly 1.5
Hrs to get our cottage due to their bad service. Also the reception and hospitality facilities over intercom was not available most of the time. We have to walk in to reception many times for availing a service.

The rooms are good but not well cleaned when we receive and most of the door locks are malfunctioning. Have seen a band in the toilet seat that it was disinfected but it was not clean.

A major defect in the construction that the steps in to the twin cottage is dangerous and we had two minor accidents due to that.

Another thing is that we have asked their help for light up the charcoal brick which are brought by us along with Grill but they said they dont have anything for the lighting the same. But we have already seen that a lot of charcoals behind the main building. Meanwhile a guy from the staff had helped us with fuel and coconut shells to burn the charcoal. Special thanks to him.

I am not happy with the accommodation and service. But Good location and property and the access to the resort was through forest so for around 2 - 3 km there is no road.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cerylissac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BanasuraIsland, General Manager at Banasura Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day !!!

We are surprised to see a review like this from someone whom we had treated specially. You had to wait for 1.5 hrs, only because of the following reasons. 1. You have arrived around 9.30 a.m when our check in time is 12 Noon2. We had offered you two cottages( free upgradation) instead of twin cottage, but you didn't accept the same. The previous day we were full and we cannot ask the guests to check out early ( before 1100hrs) only because you came early. Despite all these we have provided you the rooms around 1230 hrs.
We are not entertaining guests to do cooking in the rooms or anywhere in the premises as we got our own restaurant. But still we have provided you the facilities to use your barbecue oven. It is very disheartening that even after giving you extra services, you are putting a review like this ??? Regarding the road to the resort, we cannot do anything for that as it belongs to the Forest & Electricity department which is not allowing anyone to do any repair to the same as it is through the forest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2017

I feel this place is over hyped. Apart from view and that this place is away from city's noisy life, nothing great about this place. Although staff is courteous. Food is average and facilities provided by them are not that great. Room prices are too high and rooms are not that great. For the price that they charge, we deserve more facilities. We might have better options in Wayanad in the same price range. Also you will get internet only in the reception. No internet in the room.

Room tip: Food is average, no internet in rooms, bathrooms and rooms are average, location is excellent.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pawan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BanasuraIsland, Manager at Banasura Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day !!!

At the outset, let us thank you for taking time to write a sincere and honest review about our property. Your concerns are being forwarded to the management and we promise that we will improve ourselves to serve you better next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews