We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are much better options in wayanad ”
Review of Grassroots Wayanad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grassroots Wayanad
Ranked #12 of 94 Kalpetta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

I visited this place with my friends in august and below are the pros and cons of this place :

Pros : Though this place is a bit secluded, its placed admist a green estate near lakes and hills. Its quite, calm and will love the atmosphere.

Cons : 1. Food : This was such a big let down. We read so many good reviews but was served below standard food. There was not much options to start with. They need better chef.

2. Tent stay : This was the whole reason why we decided to book this place. But tents needed major upkeeping. The plugs wont work, tv is wasted, lights wont work, rat fights kept us awake at night, hot water takes forever and it smelled like the place was not used for ages. This was definitely not worth the money paid.

3. Hospitality : The owner seldom did interact with us. He wanted us to do the trekking arranged by them. Once we said we are not interested for the same, there ended our interaction. He did not check on us much and since i had a local contact we were good. But the owner should take interest and help his visitors based on their interest.

4. Parking : Expert driving skills needed to park here since its sloped at 40' angle. Cramped and will have to park one behind the other.

So in hindsight, this was not worth the money paid and will find better homestay/hotel options in wayand.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Vineethkumar85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

Just into the woods, just a little further up the slope, just a little corner away from the Kabini river, nestled in some talll trees, passion fruits and coffee plants, this is a divine camp.

The luxury tents are spacious, full of light and have everything you wish for... a large clean bath with an AC and TV should you need one. It was beautifully designed and we ended up staying in instead of going out just trekking around.

Should you want to travel, they can arrange transport at very reasonable prices. Prajwal and Aziz take extremely good care of you and pamper you whenever they can. The food is very good and the cooks can make most of what you want... you may want to tell your preferences as they can cater to it otherwise the cuisines rotate and may not always be what you want. But everything you ask for will be catered to with no fuss.

Just come here, relax and have a good time.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank woaishanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hema_Gopal1995, Manager at Grassroots Wayanad, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Greetings from Grass Roots, Wayanad !!! thank you for your positive comments. Along with my team, we certainly looking forward to welcoming your return in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Overall good place,nice staff with limited options but good food.
The rooms are big (tent-total now 5)with tiled floors and big bathrooms,would recommend to go in group.
Away from crowd,peaceful location.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 579sheikhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hema_Gopal1995, Manager at Grassroots Wayanad, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Greetings from Grass Roots, Wayanad !!! thank you for your positive comments. Along with my team, we certainly looking forward to welcoming your return in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed there for a couple of days and really enjoyed the service provided. The rooms were well maintained, the staff was helpful and the stay helped me come close to nature.
Would recommend this to all who are visiting wayanad.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank rushikesh k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hema_Gopal1995, Manager at Grassroots Wayanad, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Greetings from Grass Roots, Wayanad !!! thank you for your positive comments. Along with my team, we certainly looking forward to welcoming your return in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

I visited this place in the month of May... weather is like playing hide and seek....and this place is like staying in middle of the jungle.... Tent are good but now time for a top to bottom mantainance ....else there is a horror show for every Traver at night....staffs are good and polite...but for food ...you need to introduce native food... people come to this place to enjoy and become a part of native culture.. overall​ I am happy with grassroot​ but there are scope of lots of improvement..

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dipanjan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hema_Gopal1995, Manager at Grassroots Wayanad, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Greetings from Grass Roots, Wayanad !!! thank you for your positive comments. Along with my team, we certainly looking forward to welcoming your return in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Got a new car, so had to take it on a long drive the same weekend. Obviously, the focus was more on the car than on the place where I stayed, but Grassroots definitely lived up to expectations. It's a quiet place overlooking a tea plantation some way out from the highway at Kalpetta. Nice tents, decent food. Really enjoyed the evening walk through the tea plantation to the Kabini river. Even managed to read a book in their library that day!

The road is (moderately) good all the way to their doorstep, thought the last kilometer or so is somewhat narrow.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Prakash_J_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hema_Gopal1995, Guest Relations Manager at Grassroots Wayanad, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Super delicious food! Since we left very early in the mornings they prepared sandwiches for us (in addition to the breakfast). Very comfortable and nicely decorated tents with private veranda.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Katinke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hema_Gopal1995, Manager at Grassroots Wayanad, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Greetings from Grass Roots, Wayanad !!! thank you for your positive comments. Along with my team, we certainly looking forward to welcoming your return in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalpetta hotels
6 km away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#7 of 22 in Kalpetta
978 reviews
4.3 km away
Petals Resorts Wayanad
Petals Resorts Wayanad
#3 of 22 in Kalpetta
194 reviews
7.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ekobarn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ekobarn
#5 of 22 in Kalpetta
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Wyndvalley Garden Resort
Wyndvalley Garden Resort
#14 of 22 in Kalpetta
44 reviews
6.6 km away
Wayanad Wind Resort
Wayanad Wind Resort
#5 of 94 in Kalpetta
160 reviews
9.5 km away
Banasura Island Resort
Banasura Island Resort
#26 of 94 in Kalpetta
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassroots Wayanad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassroots Wayanad

Address: Koilery Kunnu via Pinangode | Pozhuthana Post, Kalpetta 673575, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Kalpetta
Price Range: C$53 - C$83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassroots Wayanad 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grassroots is at the foothills of the Vythiri ranges with the majestic Chembra peak to the left and the Banasura/Kuruchermala to the right. The property straddles a tea estate and has a swift flowing river with a Pannia (a tribe found in Kerala & Tamil Nadu) colony at the edge of the river. Set on a three acre slope of coffee, areca nut and pepper, Grassroots overlooks the tea plantations planted during the colonial era. A quaint stream below forms a general area of activity for the scattered population of tribals and other residents. The Banasura range of mountains beyond completes the picture, making it truly magical. Accommodation is in Luxury Swiss tents, spacious and plush with every amenity that the discerning traveler would want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grassroots Wayanad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassroots Wayanad Kalpetta, India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing