We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
144
58
11
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
58
11
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swiss tents luxury tents tea plantation tent house fixed menu electric kettle bamboo raft kabini river dining hall bird watching local cuisine love nature hot water manager mr modern amenities close to nature aziz
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 222 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2018 via mobile

Had an absolutely amazing stay in the midst of nature. Nestled in a quaint village, this place is ideal to connect you back with nature. The best part is that it houses only 5 tents which gives you enough privacy, and the staff is always available (and prompt) to cater to you. Prajwal and his staff add on to the whole experience.
I would go back for more.
Things to do in and around the property..
- Do nothing / read a book
- Stroll around the village (and tea estate nearby)
- Try out fishing (just for the hang of it)
- Bamboo rafting

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank SumonC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hema_Gopal1995, Manager at Grassroots Wayanad, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Greetings from Grass Roots, Wayanad !!! thank you for your positive comments. Along with my team, we certainly looking forward to welcoming your return in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2018 via mobile

Tucked away on a silent hilltop, overseeing mountains of coffee plantations, serene stream flowing near by. This place is meant for the Peace and Tranquility that it serves.
The place is minimal on services and maximum on privacy and relaxation.
The staff consists of 4 people, ever eager to serve you with a smile. Thanks a ton for making our stay a memorable and beautiful experience. The chef made meals as per our taste and we enjoyed every bit of it.
The Swiss tents are Royalty personified in a wild jungle setup. With the chirping of birds being the only sound that soothen your nerves.
The sit out area of the tents provided beautiful views at different times of the day. The tents are equipped with Television though we preferred not to use them. This place is meant only for relaxation and to be in nature .
The passage connects all tents and the restaurant while passing through greenery all around. The place has spledid plantations all around, with little concrete to be seen.
The coffee plantations and the stream of kabini river are accessible from this place by walk.
There is Bamboo rafting location at 3 kms from the place. Kalpetta is the nearest town at about 30 mins distance.
We’ll visit again very soon.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Viklogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hema_Gopal1995, Manager at Grassroots Wayanad, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Greetings from Grass Roots, Wayanad !!! thank you for your positive comments. Along with my team, we certainly looking forward to welcoming your return in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2018

Do you need peace? Do you seek for serenity? Do you need to calm your mind and soul? If you answer is yes, then this is the place to be.
Situated amidst the greenery with concept of tents, there is pin drop silence throughout and only sounds of nature.

Overview :

1.Swiss Tents with all basic amenities.

2.Peaceful environment ( Good for weekend hideouts, away from city life).

3.Homely feel, not like other concrete etiquettes of corporate resorts. (All thanks to Prajwal and the other staffs for their service)

4.Fixed choice of food,No big menu(But all the food prepared for breakfast lunch and dinner, are wonderful. So you no need to bother about the choices).

5.At night you can hear sounds of different insects outside and rats moving, which can bring a little fear in you( But its a forest area, so you shouldn't expect city sounds) - Its like "In Rome, be like a Roman"

All together, it was very good experience for me and my wife and we would like to go there again, whenever we will need peace and serenity :D

Room Tip: best views, quieter rooms, peace, serenity, forest, tents
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DipayanS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hema_Gopal1995, Manager at Grassroots Wayanad, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Greetings from Grass Roots, Wayanad !!! thank you for your positive comments. Along with my team, we certainly looking forward to welcoming your return in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018

If you love nature and tranquility, this is the right place to stay. Along with enjoying the silence of nature, we took a bamboo rafting and a short walk through the tea plantation, If not our tight trip schedule, we would definitely extended our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Elza K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redearthkabini, Manager at Grassroots Wayanad, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Greetings from Grass Roots, Wayanad !!! thank you for your positive comments. Along with my team, we certainly looking forward to welcoming your return in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018

The property may be not that easy to reach but that turns out to be a pro: it is in nature, close to variety of activities (we did bamboo rafting and walks in tea plantation). The tents are very comfortable, with incorporated bathrooms and AC, so not what you would expect when you hear the word tent! The food served was probably one of the highlights of our stay: it is the best food I had tasted during my 2 week stay in India. The owner is a great person to talk to (and has a wonderful taste in music) and this is definitely THE place to be at if you want to just relax in peace and quiet and enjoy wonderful views.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristinafromE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hema_Gopal1995, Manager at Grassroots Wayanad, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Greetings from Grass Roots, Wayanad !!! I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us at Wayanad. I am happy to learn that our facilities and service far exceed your expectations. Once again, thank you for recommending our hotel. We certainly look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews