We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in one of the deluxe bungalows which I highly recommended for any couple coming to port Stephens for a weekend. For this being a youth hostel it's supper quiet and all the rooms and bungalows are spread across the beautiful couple of acres of Forrest. It's located nice and close to both Anna bay and Nelson bay which is handy. The owners were very nice and super helpful. This is a 5 star for me!!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
6  Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

This place has a world of charm :)
It is still very bushy and natural in its environment.....just like a wilderness escape!

The cabins themselves are clean, simple and comfortable. We stayed in a standard room that shares a bathroom with 1 other room- this was a point of concern for my boyfriend as he prefers privacy and convenience especially when he needs a 3am bathroom visit. But it didn't pose an issue at all throughout our stay?

The communal kitchen is so cute, the fairy lights are a magic touch! The pool looked nice but the water was freezing so we stayed away, I'm sure in summer it would have been better!

The only 2 points I would make on the down side are that there was brooms and a mop leaned up against the front wall of our cabin throughout our stay.....they weren't dirty but it did steal from the ambience. Secondly because the property is based off the main road and the property is not heavily lit it can be a little creepy walking to the car park after 9pm....make sure you have a torch or a light on your phone.

All round a really nice stay!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Rachele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights when I travelled up for a triathlon. This was my first time staying at a backpackers & I was pleasantly surprised!! Super clean & comfy bungalow set in a gorgeous rainforest. Small but adequate share bathroom. Only downfalls- super small shower with quite ordinary water pressure & temperature control. Very reasonably priced. Wish I could have stayed longer!!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Miriam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

Will no longer pay for a hotel now. Why would you. Lovely location. Gorgeous outdoor kitchen. 5mins from the beach. Fastastic price. Spent weeks there after came down with gangerous appendicitis. Will definitely be back when I can.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
2  Thank Bennine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

We recently stayed here and discovered a little gem! We've stayed in hundreds of backpackers around the world and can quite comfortably say that this is one of the best. With the friendliest owners ever (Mark, Sandy and Bo the dog) you instantly feel welcomed and at ease and they always go the extra mile. The location is great, an easy drive or quick bus ride to get around beautiful Port Stephens. The bush/garden setting makes the busyness of Sydney seem a million miles away. All the facilities including the rooms were so clean and the outdoor kitchen was awesome. If you're travelling up the east coast or looking for a weekend getaway make sure you check this place out!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sam3793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

As a solo traveller it can be quite overwhelming when you arrive at a new area and new hostel into the unknown but from the moment I arrived at samurai beach bungalows I felt welcomed by Sandy and Mark the owners and Bo the dog. It's like a big family that just keeps opening their doors to more and more "backpacker childeren" I booked in to stay 2 nights and ended up staying 2 weeks, only leaving because I had plans I couldn't cancel! The dorm rooms are cosy rooms with only 5 to each room so there is no overcrowding and we even had a fridge/freezer and kettle. The outside kitchen was the place to be with everyone cooking and socialising and having a few beers and when it gets to warm you can just go for a dip in the pool with Bo there watching out for you! I'll definitely be back to samurai soon

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

I absolutely loved my stay at Samurai. Beautiful location in a mini forest and so close to such beautiful beaches and places to discover. Wonderful staff, very friendly and helpful. Great Bush kitchen, really communal and very Ozzy. Place kept clean and tidy. Would visit again!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Sarah Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anna Bay
3.1 km away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,478 reviews
2.1 km away
Ingenia Holidays One Mile Beach
7.9 km away
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
#1 of 1 in Shoal Bay
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Halifax Holiday Park
Halifax Holiday Park
#1 of 8 in Nelson Bay
343 reviews
4.7 km away
Anchorage Port Stephens
Anchorage Port Stephens
#1 of 3 in Corlette
968 reviews
1 km away
Port Stephens Treescape Camping & Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA

Address: 2 Robert Connell Close, Anna Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2316, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Anna Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Anna Bay
Price Range: $73 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asian style bungalows set amongst 3 acres of rain forest gardens around a resort pool. Bush kitchen and campfire in winter. FREE WIFI hotspots ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing