We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
64
37
11
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
37
11
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday lunch dead end the pub warm welcome served promptly choice of drinks family meal dessert menu visiting friends home cooked ate here single bed comfortable room function room stuffing full english family room
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 119 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

We overnighted here whilst visiting family. Comfortable room with loads of towels and toiletries and giant bath/shower. We had room six which accommodates a family in comfort. We did not eat an evening meal but everyone we spoke too including the taxi driver raved about the food and the Sunday Roast. Breakfast was great with large cooked breakfast and juice and cereals. Bar was well stocked friendly and welcoming and sure we would have spent more time there if we were not already committed. Not given it five stars as there were a few signs of wear but that is in no way a reflection of the hotel stay, food and service because the homely feel is part of it's overall charm

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank grahamjohnprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2017

Stayed here Sat night to see the family , really friendly local hotel , nice food @ sensible prices , rooms a bit compact , but very nice, & because the railway work was going on nearby during the night we didn't have to pay for our accomadation, Hats off to Steven , Wendy & her team, we will return

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2017

This was the second family meal here in 3 weeks. Both times wrong meals were brought to the table for the childs meal. And the choice of potatoes, well why bother in asking what the customer wants, half the time you get what they want to serve, chips instead or boiled. Tonight my mother in law asked for the specials sauage and mash. When they brought out a childs mash and sauage instead of a chicken burger, they then tried to pass it on to my mother in law as the specials. When i pointed out it was a childs meal the waitress asked if it was a problem! They finally took it back and told her it would take 15 to 20 minutes to cook or would she like something else. I asked if they had anything they could cook that would be faster she said no. So my mother in law waited and then eat her food alone, (which didn't taste very nice, greasy gravy, lumpy mash and no hint of honey in the special sauages.) The owen told us "at least its free!" Then to top it 3 of the deserts on the menu were not available. Its going to be a very long time til we come back

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2017 via mobile

Hotel / pubs looks nice from the outside nd the rooms seemed nice till it came to bed time and I pull back the duvet to find a dog toy in there! How disgusting is that and when I tried to complain at 10pm I was told the managers were in bed asleep!...

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2017

Arrived and ordered meals at 7.30 but the meals did not arrive until 8.30
no apology for the wait. 3 of these meals were sent back as they were cold.
The rest were not good either, one jug of gravy was tipped upside down and
refused to leave the jug. Then another wait of 40 mns for the desserts.
Shame, but will not go back nor recommend to any friends.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 324roystonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews