We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE reason why I never stay in 'Chain Hotels'”
Review of The Beacon Inn

The Beacon Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beacon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Haresfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2017

Stayed here for the first time this week. Food is nice, room was good. But most of all...what a lovely bunch of people. Stephen and Wendy are the lovely couple running the place, and Abby is probably the best Bar Tender I have ever met...just a perfect little place, and deserves a special mention. Well done... keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohanLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

We arrived quite late to the hotel / pub. Having been sent down dead end roads from booking.com and all around the houses.
After stopping to search Google maps we finally arrived. On arrival we were told that the kitchen closes in two minutes so quick order some food now and check in after. We were also told yes you can't find anywhere around here (unhelpful)
Under duress we quickly made our dinner choices and was led up the middle of the pub through what looked like a cleaning cupboard with Hoover and other oddities (poor impression) to our family room. It was cold and smelt a bit damp so we asked the man to turn on the radiator. He seemed a bit flustered and wanted to get back downstairs as quickly as possible.
The room it's self was fine. The beds were comfy and the sheets were very soft and it seemed clean. HOWEVER the bathroom was another story. It needed a really deep clean. The glass shelf tipped so there was no where to put toiletries for 3 people. The toilet seat was too small for the toilet and moved every time you sat on it. There was poo at the back of the seat lid. It was really grotty. It needs a good hour spend on it not the 5 minute wipe over it currently gets.
We went down for food and the food was already in the kitchen waiting for us. (We were gone 10 minutes) and it was really nice and a good price. Only negative was the awful catering red sauce in the heinz ketchup bottle.
When it came time to sleep the bunk bed squeaked on every turn, as did the metal head board on the single bed. You could hear the tables being moved downstairs being dragged on the floor until we all fell asleep.
We left early and exited down the back stairs.
We may visit again if the bathroom standards were better. The room cost £100 which was overpriced.


Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Sarahchachacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

B&B booking as we were attending a family celebration in the village. Good size nicely furnished comfortable room. Breakfast was beautifully cooked with fresh ingredients. Mine hosts very friendly and welcoming. Although next to the railway line train noise is not intrusive and the hotel is right on the edge of open country so the views are lovely. Would definitely recommend and use again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mowzer36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

We ate here whilst visiting friends in Gloucester
The staff were great. Very welcoming
The food was excellent and was not long arriving after we ordered
Choice of drinks was great
And the food was really reasonably priced
Really great place and great good we will be back next time we are in town

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Phil_Robo_1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

ideally positioned for walking the Cotswold way although you might need a sat nav to find it! Good choice of real ales and honest, well made home cooked food at reasonable prices. We had a superior room with new shower and welcoming bath. Right next to a railway line and ideally placed 2 minutes from the M5. A good find

Room Tip: superior was worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Had previously visited for a Sunday lunch which was brilliant.

This time we visited and had the standard evening menu.

I was really disappointed in the speed of service and getting the bill when the restaurant was virtually empty.

The full rack of ribs were quite bland and didn't have much BBQ sauce.

The decor is very dated and makes the place feel a bit dirty and unclean. This restaurant could definitely do with a revamp, but until then, I wouldn't visit again.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Daz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We spent a very happy night here. Our eight-year-old loved the bunk bed as well as the garden with the rabbits and chickens. The family room was spacious and comfortable as well as quiet. The dinner and breakfast were excellent and generous - especially the breakfast, where the fresh fruit and yoghurts were a nice touch. The owners are an extremely warm and friendly couple with helpful tips for things to do and see in the area: we really felt at home and plan to make more visits staying in this very pleasant place. There are peaceful walks nearby and the fantastic Cotswolds on your doorstep. Other things: The shower in the room was good and hot. The wi-fi was a tad slow but still usable. The room was also nicely lit for reading in bed. Overall we would warmly recommend this place and had a great time here.

Room Tip: The family room is near a quiet back exit to the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Beacon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beacon Inn

Address: Haresfield, Haresfield GL10 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Haresfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Haresfield
Price Range: $100 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have just purchased the beacon inn, Haresfield, Gloucestershire in March 2013 after it being closed since december. It is currently undergoing some enhancements and will re-open shortly with new management. Thank you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Beacon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beacon Hotel Haresfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing