We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
314
6
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
6
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel beautiful hotel plunge pool tower room fantastic hospitality walled town of alcudia tomato bread little touches that make hosts peter honesty bar roman ruins spent two nights hotel team every guest perfect location a wonderful stay small hotel
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 322 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2018

We arrived at the property on the same night and during the worst flooding and biggest downpour Majorca has seen in a century. Somehow, the taxi driver found his way to Alcudia from Palma airport, though how he could see through the windscreen is anyone's guess. He navigated the narrow streets of the quaint old town and helped us, soaking wet, into to the hotel. The receptionist was welcoming and hospitable and reminded us there was a bottle of Cava waiting in our room. We needed it! By morning, things had cleared up (though rain did come again later comprising several determined showers). What is a 'Boutique' hotel? If it means that the breakfasts are better than most, that the staff are friendlier, the small number of rooms are interesting, designer trendy, memorable, unusual and quirky then yes, this IS a Boutique hotel. But to me, it was the personnel. Everyone was more than helpful and couldn't do enough for us. They are a great bunch of young people and offered much advice and many recommendations.This is a small personal hotel guest house for adults only. It's a great base for northern Majorca. The two plunge pools are great fun: the warm jacuzzi style pool is in a cave with an open ceiling. The cool plunge pool is in an open courtyard where you can stretch out on a sun bed and sunbathe. Open all day, you do have to time your visit to coincide with the sun being able to get to you.There is an honesty bar in reception, so if you want to take a drink poolside you can do so but you must use plastic glasses provided. About 10 minutes by bus is the beach at Port Alcudia which is OK if you want the aroma of bacon butty and chips. Better, in my opinion, is the beach next to the pine walk at Port Pollenca where the water is warm, full of fish, and there are pontoons with decent cafes. A cool beer or Sangria goes down well there! Don't worry about restaurants. The choice is overwhelming with Mallorca/Balearic, Italian and general Mediterranean cuisine offerings around most corners off the main street in Alcudia. Venture to the 2 ports or to Pollenca old town, add their restaurants to the list and you're spoilt for choice! Would we stay at Can Mostatxins again? Yes we would, but next time probably just for 3 nights then maybe 4 nights in Port Pollenca or somewhere else. Majorca is a lovely island, much bigger than most people think and has a fascinating history. A day trip to Palma is a 'must do'. Finally, don't forget the mosquito repellent..... we did and suffered a bit(e)! The climate is hotter and sunnier than we thought it would be with temperatures reaching 27C mid October.

Room tip: Go for the best you can afford.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrinjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Hotel Can Mostatxins, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Thank you for your wonderful and very detailed review. We loved having you stay with us last week, even if the weather was initially not what anyone would have hoped for. We are really happy that you appreciated the service levels delivered by our fantastic staff. We are also pleased you mention the beautiful space we have across the two houses with the plunge pools and terraces which are very different and unique. Finally we love that you recognised the quality of the breakfast we deliver which is varied and locally sourced, prepared fresh every morning by our brilliant F&B team. We are the only officially graded 4 star hotel inside the castle walls of Alcudia and we are proud of this achievement. Thank you for choosing Mostatxins and for saying you would be pleased to return. A two centre holiday in Alcudia (Old Town) and Pollenca sounds perfect. Maybe we should open a Mostatxins on Pine Walk, which I am happy to confirm is truly beautiful and one of my favourite places on the island. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you & kind regards Mark & The Mostatxins Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

I spent two nights here with girlfriends and was amazed by not only how stunning the hotel itself is, but by the incredible staff, for whom nothing was too big an ask. The food was divine- breakfast rules! Dying to come back to this fabulous, pampering place!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank andyrocker666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Hotel Can Mostatxins, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We know your trip was short and sweet, but you packed a lot in to the two days and it was amazing for us to have you at the hotel. Thank you for choosing Mostatxins and we are really happy to hear you will return. Thank you and kind regards, Mark & The Mostatxins Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Can Mostatxins in early October and can only echo the other reviews regarding the extremely helpful and welcoming attitude of all the staff, which enhanced our stay in this charming city.
Tucked away, yet moments from the main street, it is ideally located.
The bedroom in the “new” part of the hotel was a good size, with every amenity supplied.
The staff helped us to arrange a hire car, which is recommended in this part of Mallorca.
We were present during the first couple of days of the annual Alcúdia festival which added to our enjoyment of this region.
All in all we enjoyed a great stay and hope to return.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ant14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Hotel Can Mostatxins, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2018

Thank you for the fantastic review. It was lovely to have you visiting us an we are really pleased you enjoyed what we do and how we do it. It is also nice to hear that you liked our new rooms and guest offer. Thank you for choosing Mostatxins, we know you have a choice and we are really happy you chose us. We hope to see you again. Regards Mark & The Mostatxins Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay at Hotel Can Mostatxins! The staff were so friendly, the accommodation was clean, and the breakfast was delicious. The location is also super great. The hotel is situated in a charming town and is a short walk to the beach. We can't wait to stay here again!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LaPinkflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Hotel Can Mostatxins, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2018

Thank you so much Katrina & Jason. We loved having you both stay with us and we are truly grateful to you for choosing Mostatxins. Thank you for being such fantastic guests during your 7 night stay and we hope you will return to visit the new house in Selva when it opens. Regards Mark & The Mostatxins Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2018

We can’t begin to say how much we enjoyed our stay at this hotel! The hotel itself is designed beautifully, expertly combining the original old city structure with modern amenities. We opted for a deluxe room, which provided us with a little more room, as it included a separate sitting room. The bathroom was modern and roomy.
Breakfast was so good! The staff at this hotel is the nicest ever. They are so helpful and their suggestions for restaurants and beaches were always spot on.
The location is great... right in the center of the charming town of Alcúdia. You can easily drive to nearby towns and beaches.
If we ever return to Mallorca we would surely stay here!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seekinsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Owner at Hotel Can Mostatxins, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2018

Thank you so much for this review. You were simply amazing guests. The staff all said you filled the house with fun, smiles and love. Thank you for choosing to visit Mostatxins and for taking the time to sit down and write this. It really does make a difference for us to know that what we do is enjoyed by our house guests. We look forward to you returning to Mallorca and to Mostatxins. Regards Mark & The Mostatxins Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews