We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Will be back”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Limetree House

New Abbey village and Criffel
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
New Abbey village and Criffel
Corn Mill and Duck pond garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
New Abbey village and Criffel
Corn Mill and Duck pond
garden
Limetree House
Lounge with log fire
double bedroom
Sweetheart Abbey
The Lime tree
New abbey tearooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
New Abbey, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
a_nic_11
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will be back ”
Reviewed May 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just back from a long weekend at Limetree house with two children and dog. Had a great time, MTBing right on the doorstep, plenty of places to wear the children out and lots of space to let the dog run free. House has everything you need and lots of room for everyone. Will come back for longer time. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great weekend!”
Reviewed October 23, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We arrived for the September weekend to a warm and friendly welcome from Mhairi, the owner. The house was warm, spotless and has everything you need( there was even some milk and biscuits).The garden was great for the 4 kids and they loved the space upstairs (so did we!) New Abbey is a lovely location and we hope to return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josephine...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic stay. The house was fully equipped with everything we could have needed and more. We were near plenty of amenities and the grandchildren had a wonderful time. The garden was great for them to let of a bit of steam. They mountain biked and forest walked and made chocolate rabbits. My son even ran up the Waterloo Monument and back. There is so much to do whatever the weather in the area. Lime tree House provided a comfortable base for all of us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of room
Liked least: Wi fi usually fine but did disappear now and then.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michellea...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Limetree House should be re-named Limetree Home !! What a lovely home it is. My family of 8 went for my daughters 21st birthday and had such a fantastic time. We were made so welcome and told to enjoy and celebrate our daughters 21st by the lovely owner Mhairi, who presented a bottle of Cava for her. Thank you so much Mhairi.
Limetree House is also very spacious with large rooms for all to be seated in the lounge and a lovely big table in the kitchen for us all to eat from. Bedrooms are large and comfortable with two spacious bathrooms. The garden is beautifully well kept and just goes on and on over looking the stream at the bottom, where we spent a super night having a bbq party.
Limetree House is also in a lovely central location, great walks, cycling trails and a bus if you don't want to take the car. There is even a pub across the road, with friendly locals, who will take the time to have a chat.
We all would like to say a huge Thank You Mhairi for making our stay so special and welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The clean spacious rooms, friendly welcome and the location.
Liked least: no internet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gio9040
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
“Welcoming cottage in the heart of the village”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Good facilities and a welcoming host. Two Historic Scotland properties within very easy walking distance. Opposite the pub and beside the store. What more could you ask for?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being close to the friendly community
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID B
Keighley
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Homely, clean, spacious and ideally located”
Reviewed June 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A group of 5 'mature' fellers on a motorbike trip stopped for 3 nights (Friday to Monday).
Really good facilities in the house, (we shopped and cooked for ourselves each day rather than eat out ) Very quiet location but ideally situated for some great scenery, riding, cycling or walking. Many thanks

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian C
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal, friendly in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed May 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 4 nights with 3 children aged 8-13 and 2 dogs.
Accommodation was plentiful and spacious with all the commodities you might need.
Place was clean and had sky HD not that we had a lot of time to watch TV.
The spacious garden was handy for the dogs but again we spent so much time out they didn't use it much.

We visited Rocky Hills- nice walks by the beach,
Sandy Hills- a sandy beach
Portling where you parked close to the coast guard and walked down a hill to the beach where there were lots of caves to explore.
We visited Cream O Galloway where there was a dedicated dog walk but they were not allowed into the main bit. We did ice cream tasting zip wire and a giant Boing thing (great fun). Also great walks in Dalbeattie Forest and Maebie Forest with dedicated mountain bike circuits.
All this was reasonably close by.
New Abbey itself was beautiful and clean with a Burn to investigate and a lovely Abbey. We didn't get chance to visit the Mill which was right on the doorstep.
We ate in the pub opposite which served lovely food. We ordered a chinese which delivered and the menu is at the house. We also drove to The Steam Boat Inn in Kirkbean but there was a bus that we could have used.

All in all a great stay only downside was there was zero phone signal on O2 and the WiFi was very in and out but this was down to a local fault, usually it is very good. Signal strength was excellent. Looked like Openreach were working nearby to fix it.

Would highly recommend this place to stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2015
Thank you for your kind comments.
It was a pleasure to have you all here and I hope that you will return, by which time Openreach will have hopefully sorted out the intermittent internet!
Mhairi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing