We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
26
12
5
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
12
5
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful garden every morning ingrid sherry accommodation cosy fireplace cape
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 46 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2017

We found The Granny Mouse House on Tripadvisor and thought it looked wonderful. We were not disappointed, a beautiful oasis in a very strange little town filled with middle-earthers and alternative therapists. Our lovely room overlooked the beautiful garden and pool; it was lovely walking the paths winding between trees, bushes and tropical plants. The breakfast was wonderful and we enjoyed chatting with Ingrid the owner. We also enjoyed meeting two of the most beautiful Rhodesian Ridgebacks we have ever seen.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank YandMTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2017

We stayed over for two days. Ingrid was an attentive host and has been managing the gorgeously beautiful property and gardens for a long time. One feels completely secluded and away from all noise on these premises above Hogsback. It was really hot when we arrived and being able to dip into the lovely swimming pool was a big bonus. We can really recommend this house for a relaxing stay!

Room Tip: All rooms have doors that give access to the garden and pool and have a small stoep area
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2016 via mobile

Ingrid's welcome was warm and friendly and her two beautiful Ridgebacks were enthusiastic but well behaved. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a spectacular bathroom with a corner bath as well as a shower. The best view of the rambling, enchanting garden was from the bath where we saw the elusive Knysna Turaco from close up. The garden is enormous and includes a swimming pool and a paddock. Roses and Agapantus abounded. A lovely treed garden for exploring.
Delicious, enormous breakfast was an event to enjoy befor exploring Hogsback. Take your camera and hiking boots. The scenery is fantastic.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Freda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2016

Hogsback is a charming little village, about 1500 m up in the Amatola Mountains -
not the easiest place to get to, but you won't regret once you get there.
Ingrid is a first class host; very comortable accommodation but what crowns it all is the
simpy stunning garden: an explosion of colours .
Seeing is Believing !!!

Room Tip: all rooms areexcellent
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ernst83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2016

Had a great stay with Ingrid. She entertained us with her knowledge of Hogsback.
Breakfast was excellent. We left early the next morning, (before a civilised Breakfast time) so she supplied us with a packed breakfast that was equally as good.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Y99AH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews