We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Granny Mouse House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Granny Mouse House
Ranked #5 of 6 Hogsback B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 February 2017

What an amazing way to end our December holiday. Ingrid the owner of Granny Mouse House made our stay super special with her hospitality and intimate knowledge of Hogsback. The gardens are beautiful and the breakfast really special. I cannot wait for our next visit.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank IvoneTheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2017

Granny Mouse has that rare combination of old world charm and modern convenience. The room we stayed in had the charm and grace of a bygone era but the facilities, including fridge, TV, wifi, kettle with tea and coffee and stunning rusks were as up-to-date as can be. The room has a large "reception area" which has a separate toilet and shower and a fridge. The unit opens to a lovely secluded patio area with seating and table and overlooks the lovely stone pool and garden which is beautifully designed, with lovely little walkways into a birch grove, a hydrangea garden and some stunning day lillies, rose and azalea beds and other garden delights. I would love to visit in Spring when the Hogsback is ablaze with colourful azaleas and rhododendrons amongst other beauties. For nature lovers, Granny Mouse is a must and the hostess is friendly and accommodating with a great knowledge of gardening in Hogsback. She has amusing anecdotes of local shenanigans and the colourful characters that make up this quaint and interesting community.

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Viv K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Granny Mouse House is in an excellent location, close to the town. We were greeted by a smiling Ingrid (the owner) and her two wonderful ridgebacks. Her cottages are in a beautiful garden in a forest. Once inside the property, there is a sense of tranquility. The best thing about Ingrid is that she is an excellent hostess and was extremely flexible. Lizzy, the housekeeper was a treat and looked after our needs very well (as did Ingrid). We had English breakfasts for a week before moving into the self-catering unit which were scrumptious! We spent many hours chatting and laughing with Ingrid and other guests. It truly felt like a home from home and my wife and I cannot recommended it highly enough. We spent 9 days there and we weren't ready to go home yet.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house are very quaint and cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sputnik5711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We found The Granny Mouse House on Tripadvisor and thought it looked wonderful. We were not disappointed, a beautiful oasis in a very strange little town filled with middle-earthers and alternative therapists. Our lovely room overlooked the beautiful garden and pool; it was lovely walking the paths winding between trees, bushes and tropical plants. The breakfast was wonderful and we enjoyed chatting with Ingrid the owner. We also enjoyed meeting two of the most beautiful Rhodesian Ridgebacks we have ever seen.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank YandMTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed over for two days. Ingrid was an attentive host and has been managing the gorgeously beautiful property and gardens for a long time. One feels completely secluded and away from all noise on these premises above Hogsback. It was really hot when we arrived and being able to dip into the lovely swimming pool was a big bonus. We can really recommend this house for a relaxing stay!

Room Tip: All rooms have doors that give access to the garden and pool and have a small stoep area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Ingrid's welcome was warm and friendly and her two beautiful Ridgebacks were enthusiastic but well behaved. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a spectacular bathroom with a corner bath as well as a shower. The best view of the rambling, enchanting garden was from the bath where we saw the elusive Knysna Turaco from close up. The garden is enormous and includes a swimming pool and a paddock. Roses and Agapantus abounded. A lovely treed garden for exploring.
Delicious, enormous breakfast was an event to enjoy befor exploring Hogsback. Take your camera and hiking boots. The scenery is fantastic.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Freda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Hogsback is a charming little village, about 1500 m up in the Amatola Mountains -
not the easiest place to get to, but you won't regret once you get there.
Ingrid is a first class host; very comortable accommodation but what crowns it all is the
simpy stunning garden: an explosion of colours .
Seeing is Believing !!!

Room Tip: all rooms areexcellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ernst83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hogsback hotels
0 km away
Arminel Hogsback Village
Arminel Hogsback Village
#2 of 2 in Hogsback
50 reviews
0.6 km away
Nutwoods Park
Nutwoods Park
#3 of 6 in Hogsback
62 reviews
1.2 km away
Maple Grove
Maple Grove
#1 of 6 in Hogsback
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The King's Lodge Hotel
The King's Lodge Hotel
#4 of 6 in Hogsback
106 reviews
1.7 km away
The Hogsback Inn
The Hogsback Inn
#6 of 6 in Hogsback
107 reviews
0.7 km away
Laragh-on-Hogsback Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granny Mouse House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granny Mouse House

Address: Nutwoods Drive, Hogsback 5721, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Hogsback
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hogsback
Price Range: $70 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Granny Mouse House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Granny Mouse House is an intimate Settler-period Guesthouse providing upmarket accommodation options to the discerning traveler. A maximum of 6 adult Guests are personally catered for by the Owner/ Manager in a sophisticated yet relaxed country atmosphere. Complimentary sherry is provided as well as tea and coffee/ own bar-fridge etc facilities in each room. This is a crystal, bone china and silver sort of place. We also have 2 separate fully equipped self-catering units available, each sleeping a couple, which allow for complete privacy if that is preferred. We do not accommodate children under 12 years. All units are en-suite and have private pool and garden-facing patios. Our swimming pool has a waterfall rock feature which attracts wonderful birdlife which may be viewed from your patio while sipping your tea. Most of the 8 acre property is given over to show gardens with views of all the surrounding mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Granny Mouse House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing