We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
26
12
5
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
12
5
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful gardenevery morningingridhostsherryaccommodationcosyfacilitiesfireplacecape
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 46 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night after a long drive and found the room very comfortable. Unfortunately we didn't have a shower - but there are rooms with showers. The room is comfortable and nicely decorated but don't expect mod cons like TV or WiFi - this suited us as we were passing through. The garden must be lovely in summer. There was inadequate hot water in the morning as the additional geyser had not been switched on.The breakfast table was beautifully set but the actual breakfast was badly cooked.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GH-Info, Owner at Granny Mouse House, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Dear Anne and Francis Blitz
Some prefer not to make advance bookings, preferring as you did, the element of same-day surprise to your hosts and “freedom” for yourselves. Under such circumstances when you are advised the only available room overnight is one with a bath and accept that, it appears disingenuous after the fact to complain there was no shower.

Similarly, if the presence of a TV is important to you, why select an establishment that goes to great lengths to explain the conscious decision not to have them? We do offer Wi-fi as stated on every website that represents us.

If there is one thing all Guesthouse owners abhor, it is a guest who smiles and assures one that all was well, even volunteering a gratuity, having eaten every morsel of an apparently “badly cooked breakfast” and then goes out of their way to make snide commentary by means of “review”.
The 5 star trained Chef, is not amused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2017

Poorly provisioned property, the heating tripped the power circuit, the kitchen equipment was chipped and no coffee machine. Generally did not feel cared for as a guest. The staff were lovely and hard working.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank peterrathborne62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHinfo, Owner at Granny Mouse House, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Dear ‘peterrathborne62’ thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review and sharing your views with us.

During your recent stay at Granny Mouse House, you elected to stay in the self-catering Orchard Unit which is separate to the main Guesthouse in the huge Garden. The Orchard Unit has only recently undergone refurbishments and to our knowledge, none of the kitchen utensils or equipment was chipped. If however, you found anything to be amiss we would have been happy if you had told us during your stay and allowed us the opportunity to replace any that did not function properly.
We have never, in our 17 years of operation had a complaint regarding a missing coffee machine. We do in fact provide free instant coffee of high quality, not usually expected. We would have been happy to provide a plunger had you let us know you had brought your own special ground blend.
In response to your claim of a “poorly provisioned” property, we would like to know what exactly you are referring to, this is an amorphous, unhelpful comment. Our self-catering Orchard Unit contains all the amenities needed for self-catering either on a short-term or longer-term basis. The kitchen contains a proper stove, fridge, wash basin and even a microwave. The Unit is equipped with two separate heaters which is somewhat of an overkill for the size of the Apartment. In addition to this, there is also a dual-control electric blanket on the bed. After your first night’s stay, you complained about being cold and we obliged by providing you with a bigger heater. So, we think your claim of inadequate heating is rather unfounded.
Any electrical circuit would trip if an overload of electricity (both heating elements turned on to full blast) occurs, which did in fact occur within an hour of your occupying the unit.
The owner lives on site and is available to guests 24/7 so should you have had any questions or special requests she would have been and indeed was more than happy to assist were necessary. Our policy on self-catering (also mentioned on our website) explains it well.

Guests who book into the self-catering units are considered desiring of being left alone. Apart from servicing of units, which is always done in a discreet manner and at a convenient time, this wish is respected at all times.

Thank you for your compliment regarding the staff, we appreciate when others can see the hard work that is being done to keep the guesthouse operations running smoothly.

Kind regards,
Ingrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2017

What an amazing way to end our December holiday. Ingrid the owner of Granny Mouse House made our stay super special with her hospitality and intimate knowledge of Hogsback. The gardens are beautiful and the breakfast really special. I cannot wait for our next visit.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank IvoneTheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2017

Granny Mouse has that rare combination of old world charm and modern convenience. The room we stayed in had the charm and grace of a bygone era but the facilities, including fridge, TV, wifi, kettle with tea and coffee and stunning rusks were as up-to-date as can be. The room has a large "reception area" which has a separate toilet and shower and a fridge. The unit opens to a lovely secluded patio area with seating and table and overlooks the lovely stone pool and garden which is beautifully designed, with lovely little walkways into a birch grove, a hydrangea garden and some stunning day lillies, rose and azalea beds and other garden delights. I would love to visit in Spring when the Hogsback is ablaze with colourful azaleas and rhododendrons amongst other beauties. For nature lovers, Granny Mouse is a must and the hostess is friendly and accommodating with a great knowledge of gardening in Hogsback. She has amusing anecdotes of local shenanigans and the colourful characters that make up this quaint and interesting community.

Stayed: November 2016
Thank VivK42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2017

Granny Mouse House is in an excellent location, close to the town. We were greeted by a smiling Ingrid (the owner) and her two wonderful ridgebacks. Her cottages are in a beautiful garden in a forest. Once inside the property, there is a sense of tranquility. The best thing about Ingrid is that she is an excellent hostess and was extremely flexible. Lizzy, the housekeeper was a treat and looked after our needs very well (as did Ingrid). We had English breakfasts for a week before moving into the self-catering unit which were scrumptious! We spent many hours chatting and laughing with Ingrid and other guests. It truly felt like a home from home and my wife and I cannot recommended it highly enough. We spent 9 days there and we weren't ready to go home yet.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house are very quaint and cooler
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sputnik5711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews