We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
16
30
5
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
30
5
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering lovely hotel the main hotel electric blankets one night stay the kitchen village units chalet suffering mountains bedroom radiator breakaway receptionist braai edge
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 56 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2015

We had a wonderful chalet which could have slept six people. It was comfortable, clean and well stocked. We were there in June and it was cold. We used the gas fireplace and space heaters provided. It would have been nice to have electric blankets too.

The meals provided were wonderful - the chefs have been there a long time and offer delicious food, made fresh for the meal. The dining room was lovely - we sat next to the fire when we could.

I highly recommend this wonderful place. We went for short and long walks in the Hogsback, went to The Edge and The Labyrinth. Don't miss those!

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kaye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2015 via mobile

Stayed in a luxury self catering unit, maintenance poor, unit rundown, housekeeping poor, kitchen not well stocked, bedding had holes, only have single beds and the duvet fits exactly on the top of the bed. Also have to pay R100 per day for housekeeping if required. Gardens run down. Reception Staff friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2015

The cottages are very nice and comfortable (a bit cold in winter) and are worth a stay but the restaurant / bar area one can skip completely. The dinner & breakfast were extremely average and the service staff unfriendly. Go and eat in town rather.

Room tip: Cottage up on the hillside are good
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2015

We celebrated Christmas 2014 in one of the self catering chalets at Arminel Hotel and had a feast. The hotel could not accommodate us for the Christmas meal so we did our own thing for which the beautiful luxury chalet, surrounded by a beautiful garden provided the ideal setting and it ended up a memorable family occasion. The hotel staff was more than willing to assist and Mavis was the most caring hostess one could ask for.
I can recommend the self catering facilities anytime and believe there is no better place to enjoy lovely Hogsback with its unique climate and atmosphere.

Date of stay: December 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Tyziena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2014 via mobile

The self catering unit are large and spacious with beautiful views over the gardens. Central to the village its a great stop for any travellers.
However the food is very average and I would rather not eat at the hotel.

Date of stay: November 2014
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank brucev18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews