We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year in the sun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“New Year in the sun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We traveled to the island for the New Year and we had a wonderful time.The resort is beautiful and hospitable. The staff is friendly and always willing to help without interfering.
The rooms are large and welcoming, with a warm touch and a French feeling. Big bathrooms and a nice size balcony. The carribean at it's best.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlorinaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for writting a review on Trip Advisor. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed a lot our Resort! We hope to see you soon !
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    774
    296
    115
    78
See reviews for
642
1,078
39
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

My husband and I traveled here for a long weekend at the end of March to celebrate my birthday and to have a little Babymoon! I am extremely picky and could not have been happier. The resort is beautiful, with very friendly staff and a laid back, open air, French, tropical feel. Every staff member was kind and helpful, and had great recommendations! The beds were very comfy and everything felt new. I loved the breakfast, the restaurant was indoor/outdoor and the selection was wonderful. The beach is secluded, calm, and has stunning views and the pool is clean and large. I feel like this place is a hidden gem and I would recommend it to anybody. Definitely rent a car, especially if you want to explore the island and visit other beaches. This hotel is in a remote location, but that's part of what I loved about it. My husband and I kept saying, "we can't wait to tell people about this place!".

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolannWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
We are delighted that you had a great time with us. Please don't wait to tell everybody how wonderful was your experience at the Resort !
See you soon !
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

A last minute mistake led us to switching hotels to the Radisson in St. Marteen and WOW- I couldn't have asked for a luckier mistake.

The renovated rooms have all the modern luxuries yet still had that warm, island charm to them. They had sleep number beds, free internet (didn't work too well for Macs, but they let me borrow a chord to fix the problem), USB capable DVD players, etc. The lobby is gorgeous and inviting, huge and open, Southern Plantation style with high ceilings and little sitting areas. Like the rooms, this area seemed modern and updated, yet open and inviting. The overlook a huge, excellently maintained garden-ish center walkway that divides the two sections of rooms, lit up with foutains and all that. Perfectly Carribean-esque. I seriously believe whoever was in charge of this hotel's renovation should win an award.

The hotel was also fun and lively. They have one of the biggest pools in Saint Martin so that no matter how many people there are, there's always room to sun bathe/ swim without feeling crowded. The beach is beautiful, white soft sand and calm, clear, warm water. On the beach you can rent kayaks for free- I suggest you do! The guide told us about a secluded beach which was a short ride away, fun little free outing. They also have croquet and volley ball set up, I saw some people playing during the afternoons. When the sun went down, there were always people just chilling in the lobby, having drinks from the bar. It was a fun to see this because the Caribbean is all too often dead at night. One night we were there they held a special buffet dinner with music, which was cute and easy (no traveling involved). The Spa and work out area are both very nice as well. Overall, this hotel makes those stay-in days fun for all.

The only downside was the food. Though breakfast was great (big buffet), the rest of the food was expensive and not so great. The choices also weren't that wide, if I could make a change it would be to have more American-styled food or greater salad options. However, the hotel does have two restaurants and two additional restaurants neighboring it. Room service was really cool- they set up a little table in your room, with a small centerpiece and candle, etc. This was a neat surprise.

Other things to note are the amazing employees, they were all so friendly and nice. Bring bug spray, I got a few mosquito bites on the trip. And also, the location is somewhat hidden, which didn't seem to be a problem for us because we didn't rent a car and didn't travel out of the hotel much, however if you do rent a car it's difficult driving and if you taxi it's expensive/call ahead or you'll have to wait. American's watch out because the prices are in Euros so you often don't realize how much you're spending till you get the bill.

I could (and already have) babbled on forever about this amazing hidden gem, I would recommend it without hesitation to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesthecarribeansun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
We thank you very much for this really nice review. It is also a kind of mistake that we like ! It gave you the opportunity to discover our beautiful Resort. We are very happy that you liked our room, pool, beach etc... and of course our wonderful staff !
We look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skokie, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

so I tend to be rather fussy than most. HUGE rooms. Huge bathrooms. 2 connecting rooms that actually fit 2 teens in a diffrent room. food is ok very remote.amazing service! sleep number beds. they also have marina suites that can be connected in advance. would make a 3 or 4 bedroom condo layout. I came from the westin so I was expecting westin service. They have a lot of activitiys to make up for the fact that they are remote. offers a water taxi from the airport. kyacks are free and also the beach is calm. they were the le meridian before except totally redone. breakfast is included and so is the internet.(works well too). both of my kids had massages and the cost was somewhat reasonable. definlty go back to this one.
Susan-Travel Priorities skokie IL

Room Tip: if you don't like the first one ask for another. Huge rooms.actually connect. dvd player. they d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank susan-travelpriories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Susane,
Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor and for your positive comments about our hotel. We do hope to see you back again to the Resort.
Best regards,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perce, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed at the hotel with our 2 children, we liked the fact that the hotel is small enough so the children could go back to the room by themselves when they kept forgetting toys...the beach is great, the restaurants are good (the regular menu at le C is awesome, the special nights, not so much though still ok) There are a lot of choices for breakfast at le Marché from real french pastries to american style bacon and eggs. The restaurants are all outdoors, so there are flies but when you decide to eat outdoors , you should expect some minor inconveniences) The room was really good, we had a 2 queen double room on the ground floor. I keep reading about insects in the rooms but all I found were 3 minute ants over a 7 nights stay It is after all a tropical island so there are bound to be some insects. All non motorized activities are included at the beach club. The kids club was ok. As for getting around, do rent a car, Hertz has a counter at the hotel and the rates were ok. Food at nearby Grand Case is diverse and really good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for your great comments about our Resort and staff. We are delighted that you had a really good experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again !
Cordialement
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed 5 nights here in March 2012 and enjoyed this beautiful setting. Our family of 4 (2 teens ages 15 and 16) loved relaxing at this wonderfully uncrowded resort. The room was clean, comfortable, and had plenty of space for a roll away. The pool and beach were spectacular- there were always plenty of chairs any time of day. We spent a day on the Scoobi Too which sails out of the attached Marina, and had a blast visiting and snorkeling on the beaches of Anguilla. My husband and 16 yr old rented a jet ski and had lots of fun. Just remember to bring cash to the Jet Ski shack...they don't take credit and won't charge to your room. The included breakfast had everything we could think of. Every day we enjoyed a big breakfast, light lunch, and then a delicious dinner. We ate dinner one night at the main resort restaurant C, one night in Grand Case, one night at the pizza place across the parking lot from the hotel, and 2 nights at the Italian place just outside the entrance. All of our meals were wonderful. We went to Grand Case on "festival night"...and it was a little crazy trying to find our cab at the end of the night since the streets were all closed off, but dinner at TasteVin was delicious. My husband and son dove once with the dive shop from the Marina at the hotel, and dove the second time with a fantastic group out of Marigot called Aquatic Adventure Diving.
All in all, this was a breathtakingly beautiful place to spend our spring break!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you spent a great Spring Break with us and that you had the opportunity to try many different activities available at the hotel. We hope to see you back again very soon !
Cordialement,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Very relaxing and calm if thats what your looking for. Shops and bars are about a 20-30 minute cab ride away. Great place for R and R. Take the boat trip from the airport to the resort well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schrej04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you liked our Resort, we hope you will come back soon.
Jean-marc Jalbert, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Marcel
7.6 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.6 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
3.6 km away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
10.1 km away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
12.1 km away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace St Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Property: Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Address: BP 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace St Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hotel The Hotel Riu Palace St. Martin, situated at the beachfront on the Caribbean island of St. Martin, is the perfect place for a dream vacation and it's ready for you to enjoy all the amenities and services RIU offers to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, West Indies and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace St Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin Hotel Anse Marcel
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina And Spa St. Martin
Radisson Anse Marcel
Anse Marcel Radisson
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin St. Maarten-St. Martin/Anse Marcel, Saint-Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing