We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Parador Villas Sotomayor(Adjuntas)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$140
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$157
US$120
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$156
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$120
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Belgica(Ponce)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$115
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$181
US$166
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveller rating
256
156
55
25
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
156
55
25
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorning yoga classceiling fanyoga roompuerto ricosurrounded by mountainsno air conditioningrooms are basicpeace and quietold san juanforestcordilleraaccommodationsmountainsideprlizardslodging
Filter
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 505 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Paradise Found
Writer, traveler, back road aficionado and nature worshiper that I am, it takes a great deal to impress me in the way of an overnight escape. Ditto for my Puerto Rican-born wife whose taste for the exotic, unexpected and unspoiled is second to none.
Finding Shangri-La in Puerto Rico takes a little luck, time, and skilled driving (on some of the world’s narrowest but most breathtakingly beautiful view-revealing roads). And then you have to possess the ability to somehow tear yourself away at the end of your stay from this, the Casa Grande Mountain Retreat— a discovery which has to rank as one of the world’s truly unknown vacation treasures.
Private, rustic, exotic and comfortable, this former coffee plantation a short drive outside the mountain town of Utuado is comprised of a restored main house nestled amongst gorgeous gardens, native trees and a handful of simple yet pristine and welcoming cottages. Complete with gourmet chef, gracious staff, erudite owner, and the sounds of birds by day and the coqui frogs and rushing river by night, this to me is Paradise Found.
Don’t come if you came to Puerto Rico searching for a getaway that’s mere minutes from San Juan and conveniently accessed by roads with a passing lane. Those seeking a locale rich in clubs and bright lights and the sounds of man—not the distant rush of a jungle river lulling them to sleep—should seek their brand of getaway perfection elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms facing valley have best "hammock" appeal
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Casa Grande Mountain Retreat as part of a yoga and meditation retreat held in November of 2011. It was one of the most remarkably peaceful and delightful experiences I have ever had. Being cradled in the valley of a mountain rain forest was beyond compare. Waking up every morning to a view of the clouds rolling over the mountains like a magnificent waterfall was one of the most sublime experiences I have ever had, and I have traveled the world.

The gorgeously landscaped grounds are stunning and, at the time we were there, the orange trees around the property were dripping with fruit. The salt water pool is such a wonderful change from over-chlorinated pools at other resorts which I have visited and it was a refreshing treat in the hot afternoons.

Chef Mike created truly delicious meals that were saturated with flavour, made with the freshest of ingredients, and are very healthy to boot. It was a wonderful culinary experience that enhanced the surroundings even more.

The accommodations are simple and basic, so if you are used to high-end, five star spots and are not comfortable with anything less, this is not the place for you. But if you are fine with a plain, clean and comfortable room with ample hot water, this resort is worth it for the setting alone.

I would go back in a heartbeat and i do hope to come back for a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces closest towards the mountains at the front of the resort for the best view.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luba L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Casa grande is a wonderfully peaceful retreat. Mike is a fantastic chef. He's creative with his menu, but will modify according to your preferences. The rooms have nice little balconies, but they are a bit dark inside. Be sure to drive to Casa Grande while there is still daylight.

Room Tip: Rooms farther from the road are quiter, but try to get one facing the valley.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CYLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This hotel seemed like its hey day was 10 yrs ago. It seemed a little run down and when I say it is in the middle of nowhere, I mean it. You have to take these winding mountain roads 30 minutes from the nearest town. The rooms were very clean and good sized. The pool was nice also. There was some traffic noise near the road, mostly big trucks downshifting.
The main issue was that their was a party of 20, that had many small children. In their website, they stated there were no children allowed under 12, as this was a mountain retreat with very little for children to do. These kids were so loud and boisterous that we left a day early to avoid putting up with them. We also were made to wait to eat because there is only one cook and 2 servers/ bartender and with that many people in one party, things just take time.
There was also no early morning coffee, so all you coffee drinkers beware. The cook does not arrive until 800am and the main lodge is locked until they arrive.
Overall, just not what was expected.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpllrgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
proprietor44, Owner at Casa Grande Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

For fifteen years our staff and I have worked diligently not only to mainitain Casa Grande but to upgrade it in every way possible. From this review I know that our work is not done and there is always room for improvement. Our website does not contain any age restrictions nor limitations. All ages are welcome. I can well understand that the guest experience would have been more favorable without the large family group in attendance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Pros: Comfy hammock, clean, really good food and lively conversation with Chef Michael, beautiful mountains surrounding, pleasing landscaping, nice pool, met really interesting folks we dined with.
Cons: We arrived at night after a harrowing drive through largely unmarked roads to be taken to our room POOL SIDE! I remember selecting what looked like a room nestled high in the mts with a view of mts. Pros: I said I couldn't stay there and was given a room vacated by a someone who had canceled. More Cons: A yoga retreat was in session the days we were there so there was no yoga (as advertised) offered to us non-retreatants; the group dominated the eating area with 10-12 at a long table and one or two tables of 2 nearby. We chose to schedule meals after they had left due to noise level. The privacy and solitude that is advertised is severely tempered by the proximity of neighbors. Thin walls allowed us to hear clear snoring, coughing, velcro opening, and other things we really didn't want to know about. The second day a black suv had parked in the night right in our line of vision (of pristine nature) and right on a path with little wrought iron tables and chairs on either side. It was there when we left around noon amidst the incredible roar of lawn tools that went on for more than an hour. A relief to leave. Not as sweet and restful as some have portrayed. We love to camp and stay in primitive/simple places. ie we don't need luxury, just rest and attention to fulfilling the advertised situation.

Room Tip: Number 4 could be really nice.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Momohat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
proprietor44, Owner at Casa Grande Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2011

We always offer morning yoga class to our guests from 8 - 9:15 am, even when private programs are being held at the retreat. The walls between the guest rooms are thin and noises may be readily heard from one room to those adjacent. Vehicles are not permitted to be parked at the luggage drop off area near the hacienda. All guests and visitors are advised to park in the parking lot down below near the street level. We maintain 3 acres of grass, trees and shrubs and limit the use of motorized equipment to the hours of 11 am - 2 pm. We regret the disturbance this may cause our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews