We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveller rating
324
150
72
47
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
324
150
72
47
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner bar area the pub scallops high standard both nights refurbished room lamb lovely food evening meal yorkshire dales short break his team lovely village tea and coffee ingleborough cave cooked to perfection
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 623 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2018 via mobile

I was charged £10.60 for two pints of lager. In a village this is totally unreasonable. I asked why it was so much and was told 'because it's a hotel'. I think this is just exploiting a lot of passing trade and lack of repeat business. I live in central London and typically pay £4.50 a pint of premium larger. Only regret paying.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
6  Thank pjc252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2018 via mobile

We had a mixed stay at the New Inn.
Clapham is beautiful and the walks nearby are fabulous. The rooms were well decorated and modern.
The hotel is in a great location in the centre of the village.
We stayed on a quiet Thursday night.
The landlord is friendly but rather outspoken . He had a good selection of different gins but he was very insistent in how it should be served. I would have prefeŕed some lemon.. but he wasn't keen to give me any!!
The standard of food was varied . The starters were good and unusual , the mains were traditional pub fare and the burger was high quality but the veggie curry was very dispointing , both as the portion size was more like a starter and the rice was wet and sloppy.
Breakfast was again a mixed bag... veggie breakfast was very nice but muffin with scrambled egg was dry and not toasted well.
So in summary a nice hotel but there could be more focus in the food.
The Aussie landlord could be more accommodating- and adapt to the subtleties of English ways of doing things!!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Gipsyandbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2018

We did a 2 night stay at this hotel and really enjoyed it. The hotel itself is very well decorated throughout, the staff are friendly and informative and the food is excellent. We had a small issue with the room when we first arrived but this was sorted out immediately and without fuss. The room itself was very nice, bigger than expected with a nice view over the back courtyard and the hills beyond, the bathroom was big enough with a fantastic power shower that put ours at home to shame! We got our room on a Wowcher deal and this made it fantastic value, would definitely recommend. One thing I would say and I meant to mention it to the owner, use reusable glass bottles not plastic imported Evian, then you can really say you are environmentally friendly ;-)

Room Tip: Only saw our room (4) but pleasant enough, got full sun in the afternoon so can be a little warm.
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2018

We did a 2 night stay here (Friday/Saturday) staying in an executive room. The room itself (no.15) was lovely with exposed beams throughout and a bath which was perfect after our walk! Although we were a little disappointed we did not get a river view (we overlooked the car park) and the bed was only a double (should be kingsize according to website). The room is also adjacent to the main staircase which can a little noisy especially early morning and late night so if you prefer it to be quieter i'd recommend asking for a room away from the staircase. All the staff were very welcoming and we even managed to borrow a rucksack to do our walk as ours broke in the morning!
We had dinner on our first night which was good and lots of choice. Breakfast was also good with fresh coffee on tap! Overall a lovely stay and we would definitely return for another trip into the yorkshire peaks.

Room Tip: Rooms 15 adjacent to staircase can be noisy early morning and late at night.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 230amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from a perfect 3day break at the New inn. The hotel has been refurbished to a high standard, with everything you need for a comfortable relaxing stay. It’s location is perfect for walkers and tourists to explore this scenic part of Britain.
We cannot praise the excellent staff enough, they were always friendly and helpful .
The restaurant provided a wide variety of well cooked excellent food to suit all tastes. We hope to go back again soon.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank strawberrypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews