We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, pristine Yorkshire Dales retreat!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Clapham, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ohnosoph
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect, pristine Yorkshire Dales retreat!”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you're looking for a break in the Yorkshire Dales, look no further. Wenning Bank is a stunning period cottage with all the modern conveniences you will ever need. We came for a quiet break, and we sure got it. On arrival we were welcomed from the train station, and at the cottage with a basket of freshly baked scones, bread, local butter and cheese. We couldn't have asked for more - thank you!

The cottage is so clean, we felt like we'd walked into a brand new home. The Smart TV is great - after walking around the dales and local village it was lovely to stick Netflix on and open a bottle of fizz. We recommend the Clapham village store, just a mile away through fields of baby lambs (yes, don't wait for summer to enjoy this place!) for all your grocery needs. If you love organic veg, visit Growing With Grace, a local co-op supplying the local area with delicious veggies and fresh produce. We also did a Sainsbury's online shop for other bits and bobs and that was super easy too. WiFi is fast and reliable, and included in the price.

The charm of the place is just fab - the views are idyllic and we felt like we were in a fairytale for the whole stay. The period features, original wooden doors, a wardrobe from the 1800's, log burner - everything you'd want from a country cottage. With this, a kitchen that looks brand new, pristine plates, cutlery, HD telly, huge comfy leather sofas and a massive comfy bed.

We had a wonderful time, birdspotting, walking, lovely scenery for running or biking if you're into that! Close to Ingleton, and Clapham village has a pub, two cafés, vintage shop and grocery shop. Everyone is so friendly, as were the kind owners at Wenning Bank. Thank you, we'll be back!

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarnabyDa...
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dr”
Reviewed January 22, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

A delightful cosy cottage with exceptionally friendly and helpful hosts.

We visited in January. The cottage was perfect for us, being right next to the train station (infrequent trains, so still very peaceful) and with good views and nearby walks. The woodburning stove was excellent for keeping us warm in the snowy days, and Smart TV and good WiFi connection were great too. Hosts made us feel very welcome, with fresh scones and cheese! Lovely and clean. Would visit again and recommend to family and friends.

Date of stay: January 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday! It is great to hear that you enjoyed the peace and quiet, as well as getting out and about to explore the local area and take in those views. We certainly hope you make a return visit very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart_1...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Year's Get-away”
Reviewed January 3, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We rented this cottage to get away from the crowds in Manchester on New Year's Eve. It has all the charm of an old cottage but with modern appliances and is very cosy. The wood burner kept us warm throughout the evenings too. The place was spotless when we arrived and it felt like we were the first people to ever use the place. The hosts were very friendly and recommended some good walking spots in the local area. This place is situated within easy access of highlights like Malham Cove and Ingleborough. Couldn't really ask for more!

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
It is wonderful to hear that you had a lovely holiday at Wenning Bank, and thank you ever so much for taking the time to share this feedback with us. It certainly sounds like you couldn't have got much further from the busy city vibe than this traditional property - we are so pleased you enjoyed it! We hope that you will come back and visit again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryHayn...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 714 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
14
people found this review helpful

An exceptional self-catering property in an historic house which has been completely yet tastefully modernised and refurbished, accommodating historic features. Wonderfully atmospheric house and great layout with all mod cons. Immaculately clean. Faultless and perfect for a self-catering, relaxing holiday. And especially handy for walking Ingleborough, Pen Y Ghent, Whernside, Malham and Gordale and very near to the Settle-Carlisle railway. Perfect location.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing