We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Relaxing Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Is Benas Country Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Vero Milis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We spent a week here on half board with a car included and it was booked just a week beforehand on a late deal. We just wanted a relaxing break.

The hotel is a small charming place with a lovely pool & very friendly staff. On arriving we were given a tour of the place and discovered that they are very proud of their kitchen garden the produce was exclusively used for the meals. The food and waiter service turned out to be the best part of the break .

Breakfast was a standard continental affair, but the evenings were the gem. The set menu was available to view in the morning and you are encouraged to scan it and advise them if there is anything you don't like.

The evening meals are served from 7.30-9.30. You tend to keep to the same table in the evening (you can sit anywhere in the morning). The food was varied and exquisitely presented. It was cooked perfectly and although the courses are not huge you are satisfied at the end rather than being too full. The chef (a young guy in his late 20's) is a real asset to this place. I feel that they could make the most of his skills and offer a cookery session to those interested.

The wines are varied and the staff will recommend particular wines with different dishes and are happy to keep any wine for another night if it's not finished during the course of the meal.

There is a lovely relaxing seating area at the front which was a very sociable area to have a coffee or something stronger (take the barmans recommendation) or simply choose to retire to your room.The only downside is there is nowhere specific to wander to in the evening.

The rooms were bright and fresh and perfectly adequate. The TV is small (but hopefully if the holiday is a success you would not need to watch it other than catching up on world news). The bathrooms felt a little cramped but there was a lot of sanitary ware including a bidet.

There are some nice varied beaches in the area and we spent a couple of days exploring in the car, visiting the capital in the south and the coast road going north to old town and port of Alghero. Only criticism of Sardina is lack of signage especially in the capital.

WiFi would be a really great facility and being petty some of the lougers by the pool could do with replacing.

If you want a lovely relaxing holiday away from the glitz of the tourist hotspots this could be the place to go. The staff are very friendly and accomodating (just need to ask if you would prefer anything any different), they speak English and are happy to make your stay one to remember.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Fiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

Rather than have comments such as ‘I do not agree’ from a subjective point of view I want to review this hotel objectively as a seasoned traveller, from a 4 Star hotel viewpoint.
1) The taster menu is a set menu and is made up of five courses, eg one course would be a tablespoon of risotto and a tablespoon of pasta. The soup course was delicious but after the third / fourth spoonful the plate was empty and so on
2) We found it awkward (and embarrassing) to change our isolated seating position allocated on the first night. I presume we could have made a fuss but we didn’t !
3) If you get fed up of the taster menu and want to try normal portions of real Sardinian food try Cocco and Dessi in Oristano. (Menu in Italian, waiters with limited English so take your phrase book).
4) No PUBLIC Internet
5) 12” screen TV in bedroom with only one English channel - The World News
6) No chairs / table in room - you have to sit on the edge of the bed to watch the TV
7) A knees under chin size bath
8) The air conditioning was rationed. It turned off at twelve midnight and the room became rather hot and we were worried about mosquitoes during this time. Did not really notice during the day as we were out
9) The Staff were extremely polite and helpful
10) Swimming pool great, never too busy, no hassle with ‘towels on recliners’ at dawn. (The hotel charge €2 per towel per day)
11) The hotel is quite isolated, very quiet and peaceful
12) If you are a golfer there is a golf course within a few kilometres which many of the guests frequented.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mon0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The team at Is Benas - reception and restaurant in particular were simply wonderful. We stayed here for a week enjoyed every moment. The intimate nature of the hotel meant staff and other guests were all very friendly. The pool and gardens are lovely and the hotel is a short drive to a number of beautiful, unspoilt beaches when we wanted to explore further than the gates of the hotel.
As vegetarians, the evening meals at Is Benas were brilliant. We both travel alot in Europe and it is often difficult to have variety and quality food on the Continent as a vegetarian, but the Chef at Is Benas was amazing. Each night, the chef adapted the meals for our requirements and we ate incredibly well all week. The food was organic, locally sourced, much of it produced in the hotel's vegetable garden. The wine list is also brilliant - the bar/restaursant staff (Stefano, Natalia and Giovanni) are extremely knowledgable on Sardinian wines.
We'll definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelAddict411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Do not agree with the previous reviewer. Just returned from a week at this hotel and the chef is a star the tasting menu is amazing. Only one dud night when the chef had his day off (well deserved). The reception staff and restaurant staff are all a great team. The facilities are 5 star swimming pool and grounds all very beautiful. The only criticism is lack of wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank richmou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Relaxing hotel in the country. Friendly staff. Would recomend for piece & quite to re-charge your batteries in an area of Sardinia that is well worth a visit.

For dinner, you could not choose what you wanted to eat. Every night there was a four course tasting menu which you had to go with. Some of the dishes were prepared and were not up to standard, e.g. risotto that had been sitting around for 1hr so it was stodgy, fish on a number of occasions was over-cooked. Some dishes were good, these tended to be the ones they had to cook to order. A couple at the hotel had problems as they didn't eat fish so ended up eating three courses of salads one night!

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
5  Thank hjj51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

This was our second stay at Is Benas and the Lodge was as comfortable and peaceful as two years ago in a quiet unspoilt part of Sardinia, away from the developed tourist spots. A great place to relax, explore and sample delicious food and wine.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manapools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We should have read the TripAdvisor reports more carefully before choosing this strange holiday resort. It is now clear to us that the glowing reports are written by British tourists who have been very pleased with their new Sardinian colony, where one almost would expect to find the Union Jack flying over the hotel entrance.

This "country lodge" is packed with loads of elderly British couples sent there by a UK tour operator, and the whole set-up is in conformity with British eating and drinking habits. Naturally, this should not surprise anybody.

Personally I am fond of the British and their culture, although I try to avoid them when they are vacationing on islands in the Mediterranean. They are far nicer to meet on their own islands.

To be reasonably objective about the hotel one has to admit that the place is fairly well maintained, and that the location is definitely rural. However, take the rest of the flowering prose on the web-site with a grain of salt.

The rooms are adequately sized and furnished although completely lacking in charm and atmosphere. Many of the superior room terraces are literally one yard away from the tennis court fence, which is OK if you are a player, otherwise it's a nuisance.The vegetation surrounding the building had grown wild in September, making the superior rooms quite dark, which may be pleasant in July, but not so later in the year.

We found the restaurant to do little justice to Italian cooking compared to what other food we were served during our visit to this lovely island. The staff tries hard to be friendly, the waiters even jovial.

When we decided to shorten our stay at the lodge with some days, we were met with total disbelief by the manager, who apparently never heard such a request before, and more importantly, he flatly refused to let us leave without having paid the reserved superior room for the full period.

Unable to convince him that dissatisfied customers are bad ambassadors, we later decided to issue this warning: If you want to spend your holidays in a foreign country, and to meet the local culture, then stay away from hotels which like this "lodge" depend on tour operators' clientele whether British, German or otherwise.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank Denmark46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Vero Milis
5.6 km away
Hotel Raffael
Hotel Raffael
#2 of 4 in San Vero Milis
137 reviews
3.8 km away
Is Arenas Resort
Is Arenas Resort
#1 of 1 in Narbolia
432 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Gran Torre
Hotel Gran Torre
#2 of 5 in Cabras
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Aquae Sinis Albergo Diffuso
15.8 km away
Hotel Sa Pedrera
Hotel Sa Pedrera
#3 of 5 in Cabras
148 reviews
9 km away
Hotel la Baja
Hotel la Baja
#1 of 1 in Santa Caterina di Pittinuri
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Is Benas Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Is Benas Country Lodge

Address: S.P. 10 strada mare Putzu Idu | Loc. Benetudi, 09070, San Vero Milis, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Oristano > San Vero Milis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Vero Milis
Price Range: $218 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Is Benas Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Is Benas Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Is Benas Country Hotel San Vero Milis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing