We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
48
13
3
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
13
3
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pocinho bay small hotel pico island large pool small beach breakfast room hill top villa vineyards decoration swimming birds accommodation jose grounds rocks mixing ocean
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 72 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2018

We stayed two nights at pico and one we spent here.
When you arrive you do not know you have arrived in a magical place ...... because the magic is beyond the door that you see from the road .......
It is truly a unique place, renovated while maintaining the architectural features of the place and mixing with design details.
Compliments!
A place to get lost in the day .... in the pool ...... in the garden ....... and in the evening watching the sunset on the most beautiful bay of the island.
Excellent and plentiful breakfast, excellent comfort and cleanliness.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eleonora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018

My wife and I had a wonderful stay here in late June 2018. This hotel is a perfect match for Pico, with its multiple small, comfortable cottages made from the same volcanic rock as the surrounding vineyards; designer touches & decorations; and welcoming proprietor. We loved the accommodations, the pool, the birds & ocean outside, the central location outside but close to Madalena & its restaurants; and the breakfast. Highly recommended if you are looking for a classy, comfortable, quiet place to base yourself in Pico.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thaetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2018

Has a great location, but the price is extremely high for what you get and The owners are not very polite people!!

The Pico island is amazing and we will definitely come back more times, but not for this place.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattRoberts68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocinho B, Owner at PocinhoBay, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2018

Sorry but we were closed in the date that you “stayed” at Pocinhobay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2017

Last Summer we had a very unpleasant experience in this accommodation. We had a reservation confirmed by e-mail 4 months before for two bedrooms in the first week of July. We just arrived there in the check-in day and the lady that welcomed us just told " sorry we just have one bedroom confirmed ". Very very unpleasant experience. We had to move to another hotel in Pico in the middle of high season, what is not easy.

We love Pico Island, to which we return every year.

( this review is just for the bad experience we had, not for the hotel services and accommodations which we didn´t experienced )

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Lourenço T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2017

This is an interesting, small scale B & B operation. The owners (Luisa & Jose) live on site & there are 6 rooms scattered around the grounds as black stone outbuildings as well as a separate, 2 bedroom villa they also rent out.

There's a nicely maintained pool & lawned area & you can walk up the hill to an area of vines which are protected by the rocks.

Pochino bay lies 10 minutes' drive south of Madalena town & there is absolutely nothing there except for a small beach across the road so it's definitely a place for peace & quiet (except for the eerie noise of shearwaters at night!)

We liked our room, the bed was comfortable & everything spotless. Simple but tasteful furniture, a few colourful touches & clearly put together by someone with a certain flair for decoration though it reminded me of the far east.

The breakfast area off the owners' accommodation was a large room with a covered deck, adorned with photos of characters encountered on their worldwide travels.
Breakfast was a very neatly presented table & sufficient for us though not really too exciting & no hot food.

On the whole, there's a calm ambience about this place & that's the attraction.

It's not a luxury experience though it's listed as a 4 star hotel here rather than a b & b, & promoted as a "classy boutique hotel" & "World Luxury Hotel award winner". This naturally leads you to have certain expectations.

This shouldn't detract from the owners' efforts to create something which is no doubt unique to Pico (& if you suss out the competition this is probably up there as one of the better places to stay) but I think there are a few things they could do to up their game to please the discerning international traveller, especially in view of the nightly price tag.

The room could do with a long dressing mirror which is an easy addition, a room safe (advertised but not provided) & individual bath products. A kettle for tea & coffee making in the room would also be nice.

There's no restaurant, bar or room service but there is a help yourself "honesty bar". It is actually a tiny cupboard in a common lounge room which has sofas & a couple of hammocks. There's a very small selection of spirits & liqueurs but no ice or lemon, no mixers or cold drinks & no savoury snacks. Teabags & coffee but no milk (no fridge).

I hope this helps other travellers.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank capdellatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews