We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sardargarh Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kumbhalmer(Kumbhalgarh)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    Vrinda Hotel(Nathdwara)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Atithi Bhawan(Nathdwara)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Rawla Jojawar(Jojawar)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Shaam-E-Retreat(Kumbhalgarh)
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    Reviews (216)
    Filter reviews
    216 results
    Traveller rating
    172
    30
    5
    1
    8
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    172
    30
    5
    1
    8
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewshis wifelocal trainjeep safaritrain ridehighlight of our tripbeautiful hotelbutter chickenterrace areawow factorhadn tbygone eraeach mealday tourmagnificent forttwo nightsswing seatan oasis
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    5 - 10 of 216 reviews
    Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

    This heritage hotel is sheer bliss... A perfect place to get away from the hustle and bustle of London life whilst having all amenities to keep you connected with the modern world. The build up to and during our stay, the staff went above and beyond the call of duty on all counts. The chef prepared an array of delicious cuisine for all meals catering perfectly for my western palette in search of local delicacies. I have stayed at palaces across India for years, from Jodhpur and Jaipur to various historical places in Gujarat but never have received such a warm welcome from the owners. It is truly humbling to taken on a safari in an open-top jeep by the charming gentleman who calls this beautiful property home. Mahipal Singh and his wife welcomed us into Sardargarh with open arms and made every aspect of our stay special ensuring his staff were on hand around the clock.

    The rooms were decorated in true Rajasthani style with antique armoury and art work. The gardens and roof tops were a great place to indulge in a cup of masala tea and the dining room had the perfect ambience for dinner. The bar consisted of the essentials and I thoroughly enjoyed a cocktail or single malt before dinner.

    Enough about my writing, the pics will show you how stunning Sardargadh truly is... I will most certainly be back!

    Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    3  Thank LdnLuxuryLifestyle
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

    We stayed at Sardargargh Fort for 1 nights on a journey between Udaipur and Jodhpur. The road from Ranakpur Jain temple was long and bumpy, lined by marble quarries and brick kilns. It was near sunset when we approached the fort, laid out in a ridge overlooking the village, and surrounded by well tended farms. Our welcome was very warm, and our suite (formerly the quarters of the owner’s grandmother) was beautiful. On one side, it overlooked the fortification wall and the village, and on the other a beautiful central garden with a pavilion. The restoration—rebuilding, really—has been done with great taste and sensitivity. The staff unobtrusively attends to your every need, and the owners are very gracious. Our meals were served in several different locations on the property, and dinners were accompanied by local music. The food was very good. Don’t miss the guided walk around the property—it’s a visual and historic treat—and the optional trip on a vintage local train. Our stay at Sardargargh was one of the highlights of our three-week trip to India. We’d go back in a heartbeat!

    Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    3  Thank Alaniara
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 March 2018

    We loved it so much we went back for more!
    We were booked to stay for three days at Sardargarh Fort on our tour of Rajasthan and enjoyed every second. From the welcome on our arrival to the view from our suite and from the quality of the food to the hospitality of our delightful hosts it would be difficult to find areas for improvement. And the courteous staff ensured that we had everything we needed. The magnificent Fort is being lovingly and sympathetically restored by the Tarkur and his wife. The 21 rooms currently available are all exquisitely appointed and the owners are planning to restore a further section of the Fort adding more rooms and facilities. And there is space to wander and explore - sometimes with a guide, sometimes on our own.
    The food is all freshly prepared and compared favourably with good restaurants that we tried in Rajasthan’s major cities. Placing your dinner order in the late afternoon and advising when you’d like to eat ensured that the food was fresh and hot (it’s even served on hot plates - I think the only place we found that on the whole of our trip!) The hosts oversee the serving of the food and come round to chat and enquire after your day or discuss any plans you have for the next day. Sometimes they’re able, when invited, to sit and chat after dinner leading to fascinating discussions about hotels, Indian history or the state of the world.
    Sardargarh is the perfect place to relax with quiet and peaceful places to sit and read including around the very attractive pool which, thankfully, is no longer 18 feet deep! But there are also excursions on offer - two of which we tried. On our journey on a medium gauge train - with guide - we met many people using the train in their daily lives to go to weddings, visit relations or just get to school or work. Thanks to our excellent guide, we were able to exchange information with them and, of course, the inevitable photos were taken! We also took the late afternoon drive with the Tarkur through local villages where we met local people including an old man who lived alone and hadn’t spoken for 30 years. After visiting a banyan tree chock full of enormous fruit bats, we arrived at the lake where we took a sundowner which our host and his son had kindly arranged.
    When we left for our next destination there were almost tears all round. Inevitably our next hotel was not a patch on Sardargarh so we turned around and headed back for another couple of days. And we plan to go back again sometime very soon.

    Room Tip: Ask for one with a view.
    • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank nichpat
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 February 2018

    We have just revisited Sadargarh Heritage Hotel and found it even more beautiful than on the previous visit. Thakur Mahipal Singhji and the charming Kumari Dharitri Raol have done a fantastic job with the restoration of the Fort. One of the very few where everything works, i.e bathrooms etc. The property is pristinely clean and obviously well managed. The staff are friendly and well trained and the food outstanding. The pool area and gardens are manicured and stunning. I can highly recommend this Heritage Hotel to anybody planning a tour of Rajasthan. It is a place where one can relax and forget the madness all around you.

    • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    9  Thank Frequenttraveler031
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

    This is a renovated hilltop fort in between Jodhpur and Udaipur, being closer to Udaipur. The setting is a mix of forest , lake and agriculture and the view from the top of the fort is spectacular.
    The renovations have been extremely well done and have managed to retain the authenticity of the era.
    The hotel staff could not have been more helpful. An added bonus was meeting the Maharajah and his gracious wife.
    The food was first class.
    The hotel offers several activities. We did the local train ride which we highly recommend.
    This stop was a unique taste of rural India without the hustle and bustle of the cities.
    We would highly recommend a stop here.

    Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    2  Thank m19582015
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews