We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with friends”

The Butcher's Block Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Burham
Price range: US$7 - US$59
Description: The Butchers Block is a laid back country style pub and restaurant which caters for all the family, including our four legged friends. The pub is nestled in the village of Burham, amidst glorious Kent countryside. Situated only 5 miles from both Maidstone and Rochester. With newly built garden patio areas at both the front and rear of the pub, you can soak up the sun throughout the whole day
Restaurant details
Description: The Butchers Block is a laid back country style pub and restaurant which caters for all the family, including our four legged friends. The pub is nestled in the village of Burham, amidst glorious Kent countryside. Situated only 5 miles from both Maidstone and Rochester. With newly built garden patio areas at both the front and rear of the pub, you can soak up the sun throughout the whole day
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Very welcoming staff & atmosphere with excellent selection of gins & beers, then there’s the food, a great choice from the lunchtime menu through to the al a carte menu.
The four of us all had something different & all raved about it !
Will return again soon to sample some of the steak on show in the aging cabinet.
This place is a hidden gem.

Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLRickwood, Owner at The Butcher's Block Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review. It’s great to hear you all enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to sample our steaks. Joanna & Simon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 190 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018

Quality food and excellent service. The wine list is extensive. The portions are large. In all a very good restaurant

Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLRickwood, Owner at The Butcher's Block Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Joanna & Simon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

This was our first visit for Sunday lunch and we were really impressed. The staff are friendly and attentive and the food was excellent. The best Sunday lunch we've ever had anywhere. The portions are generous and as well as potatoes we had five different vegetables served. The meat is of superior quality, well cooked and very tender. We also liked that they use a lot of local suppliers. The place is well decorated in a modern style, but has a welcoming and homely atmosphere and is very clean. Family friendly too. Impressed, too, that they had real flowers around the place. We will definitely be going back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 365Travelbug365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLRickwood, Owner at The Butcher's Block Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review. It’s wonderful to read your positive comments regarding your Sunday lunch with us along with the decor, atmosphere and cleaniness of our pub. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Joanna & Simon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Had our first meal here yesterday, made to feel very welcome in the bar as we had arrived early. Genuine bar staff having a conversation not just serving. Taken to our table on time, waitress lovely and engaged. Great choices on the menu, 3 different starters, all amazing. Friend had duck egg said was the best starter they had ever had. 4 mains, 2 fillet steaks, 1 burger and 1 rack of lamb. All cooked to perfection. Highly recommend, great atmosphere, superb service and excellent high quality food.

1  Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLRickwood, Owner at The Butcher's Block Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review. It’s lovely to read your positive comments regarding our staff and that you all enjoyed your meals with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Joanna & Simon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018

We ate here last night for the first time having booked for our wedding anniversary. Lovely restaurant with a great atmosphere and amazing food. We started with appetisers of artisan bread and a delicious aubergine dish served with pitta bread (sorry can't remember the name of it) then the Côte De Boeuf to share which was absolutely amazing. The staff were extremely helpful and attentive and recommended a fantastic wine to have with our meal. Can't thank you enough, will be recommending to friends and family and will definitely be back for more.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JandLtravels2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLRickwood, Owner at The Butcher's Block Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review. Its great to hear your positive comments regarding your food, wine and service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Joanna & Simon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Butcher's Block Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Butcher's Block Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing