We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Globetrotter008
London, United Kingdom

Good for a stopover

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 27, 2024
The hotel is located within easy drive north-west from the capital, San José. It is quite close to the airport and busy road runs just below. Hence it can be quite noisy.

The hotel has a little circular trail behind the villas although we didn’t find anything of much interest: banana trees and coffee bushes.

Accommodation is either in the main hotel building or in one of the villas below. If just passing through, it’s probably better to stay in the main hotel.

Our villa was located just below the main terrace with an accessible ramp leading to it. The top windows on the hotel side had no blinds which created some privacy issues. Our terrace was right next door to stairs leading to villas below ours.

The interior was huge although sparsely furnished. There was a large wardrobe, with TV hidden behind one of the doors. TV only offered Spanish-speaking channels. Beds were huge and very comfortable although we needed blankets for the cold night.

The bathroom at the end of the room was rather severe looking but the shower had a good water pressure.

WiFi signal was good.

Dinner was relatively basic but there were a couple of restaurants nearby if you are staying there for longer. Wine selection was not great. Breakfast was quite simple too – single dish choice and some fruit was served by waiters.

Overall, a solid hotel to start/finish your tour of Costa Rica.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: If just passing through rooms in the main building are better
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Go to your Happy Price
    0.1 km from Buena Vista Chic Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      0.1 km from Buena Vista Chic Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Go to your Happy Price
      • Booking.com
      • Agoda.com
      • Vio.com
      0.1 km from Buena Vista Chic Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • eDreams
      • Expedia.com
      1.4 km from Buena Vista Chic Hotel
      C$214
      Fully refundable
      No prepayment needed
      • Expedia.com
        C$213
      • Agoda.com
        C$210
      • Priceline
      0.0 km from Buena Vista Chic Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      C$204
      C$174
      No prepayment needed
      • Priceline
      • Agoda.com
        C$204
      • eDreams
        C$174
      1.0 km from Buena Vista Chic Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      C$325
      No prepayment needed
      • Priceline
      • Lol.travel
        C$288
      • Expedia.com
        C$325
      1.4 km from Buena Vista Chic Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      C$205
      Fully refundable
      No prepayment needed
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
      • Priceline
      2.7 km from Buena Vista Chic Hotel
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Pilas
      Reviews (962)
      Filter reviews
      962 results
      Traveller rating
      532
      304
      90
      25
      11
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      532
      304
      90
      25
      11
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews san jose central valley costa rica poas volcano small pool balcony room last night close to the airport beautiful hotel the hotel offers first stop beautiful grounds hotel staff comfortable beds la paz waterfall gardens small hotel osa peninsula
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      6 - 11 of 962 reviews
      Reviewed March 27, 2024

      Only stayed one night after landing at SJO with transfer to hotel around 7pm. (It took an hour with the heavy traffic from airport). Arrived after dark and left again at 05.15 for Tortuguero. The room had a balcony with 2 beds. The room was very clean and all we needed for the night.
      Ourselves and a number of other guests left at 5.15am for our next stop. The hotel was great in providing a packed breakfast with orange juice, coffee and water available as well. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. If we had been staying more than one night a safe would have been helpful

      Date of stay: March 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank susan m
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed March 24, 2024 via mobile

      Spotless place . We stayed in a villa. Comfortable bed and pillows. Great service throughout property. Beautiful views. The gardens are immaculate. The rd noise from the large trucks breaking on the hill was a little noisy but it was infrequent.

      Date of stay: March 2024
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank Carrie A
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed March 21, 2024

      Wrong side of town. Once you leave the airport you quickly realize this isnt the safe way, im used to staying in Escazu a much safer & vibrant area. This isnt Escazu. Once you drive thru the slums you go up a hill to the hotel. Theres nothing there but the hotel, nothing to do, food is not good, Spanish TV, kids wading pool, over priced. Never again for me. Boring

      Date of stay: February 2024
      Trip type: Travelled on business
      Thank michael d
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Lee Pratt, Dueño at Buena Vista Chic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2024

      This is a fake and vindictive review. The reviewer wanted to buy a property from the hotel owner but when negotiations failed he wrote this review in anger. The reviewer has written 2 reviews since he opened his account. The first review was 5 stars because he stayed at the hotel on February 26, 2024. When he got angry he deleted his 5 star review and replaced it with a one star review.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed March 15, 2024

      Five night stay and enjoyed my time here. Stayed in hotel part ( not the villas) and slept comfortably and ate well. Most meals I ate at the restaurant and all were very good. Beds very comfortable and even tho no AC, the breeze was wonderful ( prefer to have windows open over ac anyway). Perfect for families or older couples. Definitely not a party hotel. Even tho 6 miles from airport, be prepared for at least 30 minute ride ( sometimes 45-60) from airport or downtown San Jose.Reason I did not give 5 star: rugs in room need to be pulled up and replaced with tile as there is a definite musty smell( luckily I always take spray). Also a safe in room would be great and better and more loungers at pool. Bottom line: I would not hesitate to stay here again.

      Room tip: Room upstairs away from restaurant is the best
      Date of stay: March 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Exploration816143
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed March 13, 2024

      Only stayed one night as a transit to the airport but the hotel is very nice with lovely gardens. We had a few hours to spare the following morning which was pleasant to spend and the view over San Jose from the garden is amazing especially at night. Had lunch at a little pizza place just across the road which was good and very reasonably priced. Overall a very pleasant experience.

      Date of stay: February 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Gail H
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews