We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
colin w
Bridgend, United Kingdom

Acceptable

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 22, 2024
We stayed here for 2 nights before setting off on the main part of our hols. The staff were very good and pleasant. The food was basic but tasty and plenty of it. The room was clean and the bed comfortable the shower was very weak, but no big deal. It has a small swimming pool and a small area around the pool. The decor is a little outdated but again not a big deal. We left the hotel early in the morning so the staff organised a packed breakfast for us, which was very much appreciated.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Go to your Happy Price
    0.1 km from Buena Vista Chic Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      0.1 km from Buena Vista Chic Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      • Priceline
      • Agoda.com
      • Vio.com
      0.1 km from Buena Vista Chic Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • eDreams
      • Expedia.com
      1.4 km from Buena Vista Chic Hotel
      C$203
      No prepayment needed
        C$214
        Fully refundable
        • Booking.com
        • Hotels.com
        • Expedia.com
          C$214
        0.0 km from Buena Vista Chic Hotel
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        • Hotels.com
        • Lol.travel
          C$289
        • Expedia.com
          C$325
        1.4 km from Buena Vista Chic Hotel
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        C$205
        Fully refundable
        No prepayment needed
        • Booking.com
        • Hotels.com
        • Expedia.com
          C$205
        2.7 km from Buena Vista Chic Hotel
        Free parking
        C$102
        • Booking.com
        • Hotels.com
        • Expedia.com
          C$102
        4.6 km from Buena Vista Chic Hotel
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        C$91
        Fully refundable
        No prepayment needed
        • Booking.com
        • Hotels.com
        • Expedia.com
          C$91
        4.7 km from Buena Vista Chic Hotel
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        View more hotels in Pilas
        Reviews (962)
        Filter reviews
        962 results
        Traveller rating
        532
        304
        90
        25
        11
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        532
        304
        90
        25
        11
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviews san jose central valley costa rica poas volcano small pool balcony room last night close to the airport beautiful hotel the hotel offers first stop beautiful grounds hotel staff comfortable beds la paz waterfall gardens small hotel osa peninsula
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        2 - 7 of 962 reviews
        Reviewed April 17, 2024

        An amazing hotel with an outstanding view. The hotel was well maintained with very friendly staff and most staff could speak both Spanish and English.
        They have some of the best villas at the hotel sight that I have ever been in.
        If your looking for relaxation and comfort, Buena Vista, San Jose, Costa Rica, this is a must stay place.

        Room tip: Great breakfast too.
        Date of stay: April 2024
        • Trip type: Travelled with family
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        1  Thank George P
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed April 11, 2024

        A lovely hotel to start our trip to Costa Rica a short drive from the airport. We stayed in a villa which was away from the main hotel with a fantastic view across the central valley. We arrived late at night but had a warm welcome from the receptionist and porter. We opted to stay 2 nights so we had a day to acclimatise ourselves to the warmth and recover from our long journey. Breakfast was great with plenty of coffee or tea. We went for a walk within the grounds and then outside. There is not very much to do but we did have a lovely smoothie at the local bar just down the road from the hotel and we used the swimming pool which was very nice. The evening meal was really good and reasonably priced. We had a very very early check out the next morning but the hotel provided a breakfast bag with some nice goodies as it was too early for breakfast.

        Date of stay: February 2024
        • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        1  Thank SarahLGC
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed March 29, 2024

        We were lucky enough to stay at this hotel the night before our flight home and what a lovely treat is was. The hotel is delightful, we had a beautiful spacious room with a balcony overlooking San Jose and the mountains beyond. On arrival our room wasn’t quite ready so we sat outside by the pool and ordered a cocktail. They were enormous but utterly delicious! The Mono Loco was like a dessert in itself but would definitely recommend one! Our room was really nice although we could have used a step ladder to get into bed as they were so high but super comfy. The hotel has a lovely pool area and a beautiful garden with sun beds and chairs which overlook the incredible view. The hotel name really does it justice, a buena vista indeed! The food at the hotel was really nice the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our short stay.
        There is a gift shop at the hotel where I planned to buy some souvenirs but I thought it was a little pricey so decided to wait and get some things at the airport. Big mistake on my part, the airport is very expensive so if you’ve left it until your last night to buy souvenirs, I recommend getting some things at the hotel shop.
        The transfer to the hotel takes about 30-45 minutes depending on traffic so make sure you allow enough time to get to the airport but the hotel staff will confirm your transfer time which should be in plenty of time.
        This hotel was a real treat for our last night and watching the sun set over San Jose was really special and a perfect way to end a perfect holiday. Highly recommended.

        Date of stay: March 2024
        • Trip type: Travelled with family
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        1  Thank Sam_C66
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed March 27, 2024

        The hotel is located within easy drive north-west from the capital, San José. It is quite close to the airport and busy road runs just below. Hence it can be quite noisy.

        The hotel has a little circular trail behind the villas although we didn’t find anything of much interest: banana trees and coffee bushes.

        Accommodation is either in the main hotel building or in one of the villas below. If just passing through, it’s probably better to stay in the main hotel.

        Our villa was located just below the main terrace with an accessible ramp leading to it. The top windows on the hotel side had no blinds which created some privacy issues. Our terrace was right next door to stairs leading to villas below ours.

        The interior was huge although sparsely furnished. There was a large wardrobe, with TV hidden behind one of the doors. TV only offered Spanish-speaking channels. Beds were huge and very comfortable although we needed blankets for the cold night.

        The bathroom at the end of the room was rather severe looking but the shower had a good water pressure.

        WiFi signal was good.

        Dinner was relatively basic but there were a couple of restaurants nearby if you are staying there for longer. Wine selection was not great. Breakfast was quite simple too – single dish choice and some fruit was served by waiters.

        Overall, a solid hotel to start/finish your tour of Costa Rica.

        Room tip: If just passing through rooms in the main building are better
        Date of stay: March 2024
        • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        1  Thank Globetrotter008
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed March 27, 2024

        Only stayed one night after landing at SJO with transfer to hotel around 7pm. (It took an hour with the heavy traffic from airport). Arrived after dark and left again at 05.15 for Tortuguero. The room had a balcony with 2 beds. The room was very clean and all we needed for the night.
        Ourselves and a number of other guests left at 5.15am for our next stop. The hotel was great in providing a packed breakfast with orange juice, coffee and water available as well. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. If we had been staying more than one night a safe would have been helpful

        Date of stay: March 2024
        • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        1  Thank susan m
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        View more reviews