We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but avoid the back row ”
Review of Kalia Beach

Kalia Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Kalia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most northern Dead Sea beach on the western (Israeli) side, Just 25 minutes drive from Jerusalem. Simple and very accommodating beach; an open cafe with special water-cooling fans enables a 360° view over the Judean and the Jordanian desert and the Dead Sea. The shore is large and allows shaded spots alongside sunbathing chairs. Another snack bar is located next to shore. Health treatments are available.
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

The entrance fee is reasonable for all the services provided (lockers, showers, etc). Just avoid the back row under the sun screens - people let their kids do the number one and two there (saw it with my own eyes) while the bathrooms are just a few meters away. Afterwards they use the public outside showers (where people rinse off from the Dead Sea) to wash their kids from the “dirt”.. it’s quite disgusting and unhygienic (to say the least). The guards are quite strict about people only bbqing in designated areas but they should be as vigilant about kids peeing and pooing (again just meters from the bathrooms!!) in the last row - utterly disgusting. Ruined the experience for me and my family.

Thank LisahGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itay-Kalia, Guest Relations Manager at Kalia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2018

Dear Lisah

Thanks for the review. We take to your attention what you have written and deal with accordingly.
We were happy to have you at the beach and hope to have you again at the wonderful Dead Sea.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"changing rooms"
in 14 reviews
"dead sea"
in 105 reviews
"your eyes"
in 15 reviews
"special experience"
in 3 reviews
"great beach"
in 4 reviews
"west bank"
in 3 reviews
"slippery mud"
in 2 reviews
"bathing area"
in 2 reviews
"tel aviv"
in 8 reviews
"tour buses"
in 3 reviews
"min drive"
in 2 reviews
"entry fee"
in 3 reviews
"souvenir shop"
in 3 reviews
"beach chairs and umbrellas"
in 2 reviews
"below sea level"
in 6 reviews
"beach front"
in 2 reviews
"short visit"
in 2 reviews
Filter

40 - 44 of 290 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2018

We wanted to experience the Dead Sea. This beach has a small shopping area as well as some eating places. There are changing rooms with lockers available. It is a long walk from the changing rooms to get to the water itself. I recommend aqua shoes of some kind. There are outside showers to rinse the salt off.

Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itay-Kalia, Guest Relations Manager at Kalia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Dear Sharon.
Thank you for your review. It is important to note that the long walk to the water is due to the dehydration of the Dead Sea - a theme that we wish to raise at every opportunity in order to preserve it in the public consciousness in Israel and around the world.
Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018

I did my Dead Sea experience at Kalia beach. We were on a group tour by Bein Harim doing both Dead Sea & Masada. We arrived around 3:30 pm, the place was crowded. Our entry was free on the tour. The beach area is well developed, having lockers for rental, showers both in the locker room as well as beach, cafes & souvenirs shops. While all these development seemed good, it still seemed the infrastructure was under pressure as you had to wait in line to get a turn at showers. The rates on the other hand seemed high, a rental for the locker is 15 nis, the rental for a towel is 16 nis whereas you can buy one at 20 nis.

As for my experience with the Dead Sea itself was a mixed bag. The water was clean but as I said the place was overcrowded. I went down the middle area in the beach as it seemed less crowded, turns out it’s the place for loose mud and as soon as I stepped into the water I ended up with half my legs inside mud, scrapping them in process. For a paid beach they should have proper signage.

The feeling of floating itself was great, but trying to get a picture without people in background meant swimming further away from the shore.

It would have been a wonderful experience if only it was better managed.

Thank Mayank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itay-Kalia, Guest Relations Manager at Kalia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Dear Mayank,
Thanks for the review. You heard that you arrived on one of the busiest days. Our beach is among the most popular tourist sites in the area and we do our utmost to provide a pleasant experience for all guests.
We were happy to read that you still enjoyed the unique experience of visiting the Dead Sea and hope to see you again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018

One of the many expensive beaches - the entry fee is 59NIS, the beach is not so big and quite hilly - get ready to climb a step hill. It's not very big, but since there are various shades and sitting places its easy to find a place. If you are traveling on budget make sure to bring some food and water - everything is 3 times more expensive than in Jerusalem.

Thank leuveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itay-Kalia, Guest Relations Manager at Kalia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Dear Leuveen,
Thanks for the tips and review. It is important to note that the long decline to the water is due to the dehydration of the Dead Sea - a regrettable issue that we are trying to maintain on the public agenda in Israel and abroad in order to prevent the disappearance of the Dead Sea.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2018 via mobile

If you are in Tel Aviv , get a taxi to kalia beach to float in the Dead Sea . It s a Full equipped beach with shower , restaurant ,umbrella , long chair . Go best early during the day so it won’t be packed .
Special experience as the salt is around 30% .

Thank Amara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itay-Kalia, Guest Relations Manager at Kalia Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Dear Amara,
Thank you very much for your review and tips!
We were happy to have you at the beach and hear that you had a good experience at the wonderful Dead Sea.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kalia Beach also viewed

Dead Sea Region, Israel
Dead Sea Region, Israel
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Ein Gedi, Dead Sea Region
 

Been to Kalia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing