We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most perfectly perfect dinner”
Review of Brin de Thym

Brin de Thym
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

Today we visited Brin de thym,I can honestly say in 31 years I have never eaten food as amazing 10/10

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 49 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2018

It’s clear the couple who run Brin de Thym Maria & Thomas are are a class act that are operating a resturant that is building a big reputation for its quality of food.
A simple resturant at the bottom of a lane that appears unlike these two, to be going nowhere. Tucked away just a few miles from Cubjac it is actually quite easy to find. Just over a small bridge and the resturant is on the right before the T junction.

From working in established ‘name resturants’ over thier careers they told us that the resturant had now been opening little more than a year and already an early booking for lunch or dinner is a must.

As it should be, the food is the star of the show, quite simply brilliantly cooked fresh vegetables that taste sublime, don’t take my recommendation or that of the many other people go discover for yourselves. I enjoyed the Veal, my wife the fish of the day.

Date of visit: June 2018
2  Thank rkyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 23, 2017

We went here for our annual Christmas lunch, there were 8 of us. The owners created a special menu and sent all the options via e mail. The food was excellent, presented beautifully and the service amazing. It wasn't a lunch but more a gastronomic feast. Well worth stopping by if you are in the region.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2017

It was unfortunate that we did not find out about this restaurant when we were staying in the next Village, St Eulalie , until almost our last night . It was recommended to us by the man from whom we hired a bicycle for the week. We went on a Friday night and were rather early but made to feel very welcome .Service was delightful and friendly and very indulgent of our very poor French . We had by far the best meal we had in all of our 3 weeks in France having had meals out in the evening from the Seine, the Loire and the Dordogne regions. The cooking was very assured but also had an imaginative edge and was beautifully presented using fresh local produce.
The restuarant was light and airy and was informal but stylish. It wa snot busy when we were there but it was out of season. It deserves to do so well and we are sure it will.When we return to the area we will go again and certainly more than once. It clearly does a lunch set, much cheaper menu too .
We loved it and both the owners , the chef and the woman who was front of house were delightful.

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2017

Over the years this restaurant has changed hands a few times but it now has people running it who really know what they are doing. Its good to find it so busy and deserves to do well, as the couple running it put in so much effort to present excellent food at a high standard.

They catered for our group of 20 clients - plus 3 large dogs - and produced the best chicken supreme many of us had ever had. Good wine choice, clean and smart, in fact everything you would want from your local restaurant. The winning reason to go again? The main course was served on hot plates!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Enfrance2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brin de Thym also viewed

Cherveix Cubas, Dordogne
Excideuil, Dordogne
 
Cherveix Cubas, Dordogne
 
Excideuil, Dordogne
Excideuil, Dordogne
 

Been to Brin de Thym? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing